Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better options are out there.

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
The inn is quaint from the outside but on the main road so there is some noise. We noticed a mildew issue in the bathroom which is small and utilitarian. Everything about the room felt like minimal care and quality - from the rough sheets and towels to the mini soaps and things. We were surprised to find no fresh towels each day nor the bed made. The breakfast was very basic. Overall feeling of a boarding house more than a romantic bed and breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

True country inn.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Scenic location, good food.
Cons: Early morning noise from the trucks going to work.
Location: Very little choice for dining without driving a ways. Closest restaurant was excellent.
The Van Winkle Inn is definitely out in the country. Greenville is very small. The closest restaurant was 3 or 4 miles away, but it was excellent, The Mountain View Brassiere. The scallops were perfect, who knew you could get perfect scallops the Catskills! The only complaint is that the Inn is on the corner of two roads which have a lot of early morning truck traffic. Our room, Hannah's Suite, faced the side with the most traffic so it may be worse than the other rooms. We had a shower in the room with a private comode room across the hall. Breakfast was 8:30 to 9:30 and cooked and served by the owners. It was very good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family owned and operated.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
This is a family owned and operated B&B. The room was well kept and the bed very comfortable. The service was excellent. I would highly recommend it for a quiet weekend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by Noelle, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review! We work hard to make sure every guest has a comfortable and pleasant stay! We also appreciate you taking the time to provide a review. Cheers!
5 out of 5
by Vinita from New York City

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
The owners were very friendly. Breakfasr was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Arrived late left early.

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Place was very nice we arrived late and had to leave early, never saw anyone. We had the whole house to ourselves and we got along with the cat so all was good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2016 on Hotels
A wonderful overnight for our family, would absolutely stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ballston Lake, NY

Nice for a weekend getaway

Posted Sep 30, 2015
The VanWinkle Inn provided my husband and I a quiet retreat close to home and the mountains. Our hostess readily shared the history of her lovely historic home and breakfast was delicious. A most enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woolwich, Maine

Beautiful place

Posted Jun 21, 2015
I stayed here with my friend on a "moms getaway". I spoke to the owners on the phone prior to our arrival. They even hand wrote directions to the event we were going to! We both felt so comfortable and relaxed! I can't wait to go back! The house cat, Mr Hobbs, was adorable. I wanted to take him home with me. And the food... Oh the food! Delicious!! It was the perfect weekend!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Comfortable and Cozy for Reasonable Price

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: The living room fireplace, temperature controls in our room, and friendly/helpful owner. The help-yourself bottle of brandy was a nice touch too!
Cons: Soap, shampoo, and conditioner in shower would have been nice. They were provided upon request, but we had to delay showering until the morning.
Location: Went skiing at Windham Mountain and dined at Vince Anna's Italian restaurant.
Beautiful historic building and decor. The price was right, and we were very happy with our stay. Would certainly return the next time we're in the area.