Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Good place to stay close to Grand Anse.

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Reasonable rates, quiet, and close enough to Grand Anse to walk there.
Cons: Change the electrical applicances to 220 V and get rid of all the (heat-producing energy-wasting) transformers.
Location: Candle Glow is in a commercial/industrial sector and doesn't have nice views. Walk to Grand Anse to swim or take the #1 bus into St. George's.
The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful. This hotel is basically a place to sleep and maybe make some meals. There is nothing to do at the hotel. I had intermittent hot water (it is a showerhead heater that has to be switched off after use so as not to blow the element, but it is easy to forget to do it). The boards supporting the mattress are too far apart and don't provide proper support, and the mattress is low in the middle. The kitchen (separate room at the end of each 5-room building) is just adequately equipped. The rooms are barely big enough. Lighting is minimal. The A/C works fine. The shower and toilet are just screened off with a see-through curtain. The hotel is on the side of a hill that has the office right at the top. It can be a bit of a trek up and down, and there is minimal turn-around space for vehicles. Some of the residents are students at St. George's University. There are plenty of food establishments within a five minute walk.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2015
It was very good for the price. Room was clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. I'll stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hyderabad

good location to get sgu buses easily

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: well connected to sgu buses routes
Cons: air conditioning and bathroom could be improved
Location: sugarmill is very near and it is a junction for 3 different bus routes of sgu and therefore frequency of sgu buses is excellent.
it is little bit pricy for the money we pay. The AC in the room took long time to cool the room. Bathroom does not have a door. But access to sgu buses is very good .
3 out of 5
by Roger from Manitoba, Canada

A very laid back place

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: The staff are helpful and friendly .
Cons: The showers could use a bit more pressure and some hot water.
Location: You will be the only tourist in the nearby fish and chick bar/ restaurant which serves great fried fish and chips and local beer at local prices.
At only $55 U.S. a day you cannot expect a lot. There was no staff during the day on Saturday. You have to pay in cash; there was no hot water but then who needs it in the tropics; it is located away from the main tourist areas but only 15 minutes from the airport; everybody was really pleasant and accommodating when there; the air conditioning worked really well and was very quiet; the flowers around the place were beautiful and the tropical mocking bird melodious; the nearby kitchen was very handy as on Sundays you will not find an open restaurant in the neighbourhood. We stayed a couple of days awaiting a tall ship cruise and it was good for a short stay. This is not a holiday destination but a good place to stop over.
3 out of 5
by sandra from PA

Economical place to stay

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Good place for conscious SGU parents visiting their daughter or son studying at SGU. Bus access to SGU is very good, short walk to bus stop. Taxis are reasonable to go anywhere else. Owner is a nice lady, smart business women. Security guard Trevor is an asset to this place. He is very helpful. Shower/bathroom is separated from sleeping area by a thin curtain, no doors! Not a fancy place but clean and good for the price $55 plus 16% for tax and service charge. No credit cards.
5 out of 5
by Gordon from London, Ontario

Ideal for relaxing

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Pros: Location is great if you plan to relax. Low traffic area.
Cons: Nothing
Very convenient comfortable and clean. If being on the beach is your thing, then this is not for you. However, if you are looking for privacy, and convenience, you have chosen the ideal place. Bus and taxi service close by. Well stocked community coffee room. Love it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Todo saliô muy bien a pesar de nuestros temores

Posted Dec 25, 2013
Nos gusto la zona donde esta situado, tranquila, segura y conveniente para caminar hasta muy bonitas playas. La propietaria, Rita, nos recomendô in taxista que nos llego a conocer parte de la isla y vino a recogernos a las 5 de la mañana para llevarnos al aeropuerto, que esta cercano. Claro que recomendaremos Candle glow, pues por el precio no se puede pedir mas
5 out of 5
by louise from Cornwall, UK

Fantastic, clean, accommodation on a budget. We stayed two weeks for the price of one in a hotel.

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Pros: The beautiful flowers in the garden that we enjoyed from our balcony each morning whilst having breakfast.
Cons: 20mins walk from the beach but mini buses run every few minutes.
Location: Surrounding area not pretty, but you don't see it when you get to the apartments as there are beautiful gardens surrounding the property.
The apartments are about 20 minutes walk from the beach and are in quite an industrial area, but don't let this put you off. Once you reach the apartments themselves they are set in beautiful gardens and are very peaceful. At first we were worried that we would be spending a fortune on taxis if we did not fancy the walk to the beach/restaurants, but then we found the local buses! Travel anywhere on each particular bus route, no matter how far, for literally pence. We went to and from the beach and explored various places on the island using the buses and it was a great way to immerse ourselves in the local culture and meet some real characters along the way. The rooms are kept immaculately and although the facilities are basic, the bed was comfortable and there was always hot water. Having the communal kitchen was very useful, as we could make breakfast each morning and cook evening meals if we didn't fancy venturing out. We also struck up a great relationship with Trevor the security guard, who opend the gates for us when we returned late at night! My only issue with the apartments was not really with Candle Glow, but with Expedia, as they give you a total price and then when you go to pay you get a shock as government tax and a service charge is added! I am going to seek remuneration as I feel I was misled. If accommodation is subject to these additional charges it should be included in the FINAL price, or at the very least say 'subject to tax and service charge'
4 out of 5
by Simon from London

Good value friendly hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2013
The hotel is good value compared to others around. If you don't mind a walk to the beach it saves you money. Rooms are clean and the owner friendly. Only drawback was that the WiFi didn't work all the time. Overall though a very good hotel at the price.
3 out of 5
by JAW from Trinidad

It was a good location. Close to the beach.

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: The hotel staff was very nice and courteous and it was near the beach and transport to get to the town.
Cons: The rooms could be upgraded and the bathrooms.
Location: The location was great but there isn't any thing to do near by except go to the Spiceland and Excel Mall to get something to eat.
Grenada needs more nightlife. And other activities for children. They need to upgrade their malls and the stores in the town. The people are very nice and friendly.