Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Very modern, clean, spacious rooms with great facilities. Restaurant and bar also have delicious food! Very friendly hosts. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.
Cons: Nothing to improve. It was all great! Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New zealand

Excellent motel... Recommended

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: beach, shantytown, greymouth city
Very friendly owners. This is a family owned motel and they took care of us so well. nice views and we could walk to a beach in under 5minutes. Close to everywhere and nice comfy beds. Nice food too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Excellent

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: All of the above
Well located off the main road and backing on to the beach reserve. Very good restaurant with excellent food at good prices. Room was quiet and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Personal Service & Great Meals in Restaurant

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Friendly personal service, made to feel we were the only ones at the Hotel. Found out this hotel has been run in the family for several decades.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Pancake rocks nature reserve was excellent. :Shantytown very interesting & took us back to early 1900's. Monteiths brewery tour & tasting also great.
Upon arrival was made to feel very welcome plus given a "what to do list" of Greymouth's attractions including travel times and things to see along the way. When attending the restaurant for an evening meal, and despite there being several diners, the proprietor noticed us and immediately came over to ask about our day trip, seated us and ensured we were given prompt service. The meals were excellent value and more like home cooking than usual restaurant food. Steak and vegetables was just that, big T-bone and plenty of veges and was excellent. When advising the proprietor that we would be attending breakfast the next morning, was surprised to find a table already set personally for us and once again made to feel as though we were special. Family friendly and great to interact with the staff about where we come from, our trip and casual chatter. Best stay on our NZ trip .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice local hotel close to the beach

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Staff were very helpful and friendly. We were in the front room close to road and rail line so was a bit noisy. Room was nice and clean just dated. The single beds weren't the greatest. Value for money compared to other hotels in Greymouth.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch NZ

Exceeded expectations

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Pros: Modern fittings and appliances and a friendly 'mine host'
Cons: A tricky little step just inside the door could be marked or even ramped.
Location: Not applicable because we were just passing through, but handy to Shanty Town for those looking for something to see.
Final night at the end of a six day 'circuit' of the upper South Island with a couple of Canadian visitors. A little nervously I had aimed for a 'country pub' experience to round off the trip, and was agreeably surprised to find a clean well appointed version of what I remember from years past as being often a bit rough around the edges. Lovely people and a very comfortable stay, and still the best of a 'country pub'.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Great Folks

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: The owners are fantastic, very helpful and obliging
Cons: The room was dark and uninviting , vey sorry to have to make these comments!!
Location: Good location, but we arrived late after a long drive, so had little time to explore
Very nice people, only problem motel facilities very very very dated and tired
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Reasonable rates. Clean, comfortable, quiet accommodations. Lots of hot water and good beds. What more could you ask for? You could ask for a good location. Well the Paroa Hotel has a great location. By car, you are about 10 minutes to the Greymouth train station and about 25 minutes to the Hokitika town clock. If you walk about 200 meters from the hotel, you'll be on the stone beach where you can look for green stone. There is a small convenience store next to the hotel. The Paroa also has a restaurant and pub in the same complex. We would definitely stay at the Paroa Hotel again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Old place but good for the price you get what u paid for my advice as we did whenever possible book with big hotel chains they are usually good but in small towns the small motels and hotels chrge the same money for less comfort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ashburton, NZ

Lovely staff and good facilities

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Close to beach but isn't a swimming beach. Access to great wee school pool though. Lovely restaurant on site. Great staff and excellent wee spot. Close to greymouth.