Ratings based on 271 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan, USA

Hotel surrounded by gorgeous Swiss Alps.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Cons: More electrical outlets.
Location: We were walking distance from the train station, restaurants, shops, bakery, and wonderful sights. The cable cars to First Mountain is very close.
The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and welcoming. The hotel has retro decor from possibly the 1970s. Few available electrical outlets for electronics. We had to move a nightstand away from the wall to have access to an additional outlet. The location is downtown and is surrounded by the breathtakingly beautiful Swiss Alps. Most of our time was spent out of doors, so the room was sufficient. The bed was comfortable. A delicious buffet breakfast was included. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by ailee

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Mar 16, 2017
I enjoyed my time very much. The staff were great! The bed was very clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Isle of Wight

Hotel in prime position

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Lovely hotel close to station and Ski buses. Very comfortable and warm hotel .Staff are very helpfull
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and very close to railway station

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Orbitz
Nearby train Coop supermarket. Nice breakfast with variety of options. Great management by a young couple.Nice view of mountains from balcony. Free coffee available in lobby most hours.
4 out of 5
by Phillip

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over rated expensive and charmless 3 stars hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: N/A.
Cons: 4 stars hotel price with 2 or 3 stars hotel facilities! It is not justifiable.
Location: hiking
We have just visited Switzerland from 6-15 August from Geneva, Gstaad, Zermatt, Grindelwald and Zurich. This 3 stars hotel was the most expensive of all with the smallest bathroom, basic facilities opposite to the busy and noisy market center and on the top of the tourists' souvenir shops! We had to pay near £250 for a family room (with two small children) per night with really nothing special about this hotel comparing with any other hotels we stayed during our trip (we stayed all 4 stars hotels in Gstaad, Zermatt and Zurich!), it was really unimpressive. I will not recommend it at all for sure and regretted my choice. Despite it was very convenient within a walking distance to the station, but most of the hotels in Grindelwald are nearby anyway, so I wouldn't consider it was a plus point.
4 out of 5
by Yu Sun

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by lakhani from mumbai

good bed and breakfast kind of hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
nice hotel jsut bang opposite the station with helpful receptionist who I think is a little more in favour towards south Asian tourists.. breakfast si good . but loads of rules to be followed in the hotel