Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Susan

Great Place in Grindelwald

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
We have stayed at the Kirchbuehl on a couple of occasions, and it consistently provides great service from the moment you check in. The rooms are comfortable, all with great views, and the breakfast has high quality options to please anyone.
2 out of 5
by Dylan

Made feel Unwelcome

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel itself is an attractive building typical of the area with stunning views from the terrace. It is up a very steep hill though, which definitely would pose problems for less mobile persons, and this is coming from two people who were there to run an ultra trail race so it really is that steep. Whilst the hotel is modern and clean, we were surprised by the very poor levels of service. While a few of the staff were nice, others were very rude and brusque, and positively surly. It is the least welcome i have ever felt in a hotel and i have stayed in many hundreds over the years. A pity as it was very expensive as well, especially considering it has no leisure amenities. Overall, it soured our whole experience and neither of us would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Dwight

Great time in Grindelwald

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel, great views, attentive staff, great restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida


Posted May 29, 2017
The hotel is so hard to get to. With our luggage we had to walk up very. Very very steep hills. We could see the hotel from the bottom of the hill but its not well marked at all..like a maze to get there!!..view and hotel were nice BUT..not worth the money! Great staff and nice breakfast included, just expensive for the average travler.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Kirchbuehl visit

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is beautiful and has an amazing view! The service was very good.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VIC, Australia

Great service

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Upon arrival we were greeted with maps and plenty of information. The breakfast and afternoon tea (included) were great services that we really appreciated. The staff were really accommodating - even when we arrived at the dining room just before close and requested dessert. Without hesitation they looked after us. We loved our balcony view of the mountains and spent a few hours out there. Wifi worked well, good size bathrooms and comfy beds. The room did get warm though, as there wasn't any ventilation or air conditioning other than opening our door and the blankets were very thick for summer.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: everything, great view
Cons: All good
Location: Excellent location, good parking, lots of activities close by with hotel taxi to take you into town if you need it.
Great experience, even the owners mingle and ask about your stay.
5 out of 5
by Amanda from Cincinnati

Great stay

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel, super friendly start, about 5 min bus drive to downtown. The restaurant food was awesome, breakfast has amazing views!
4 out of 5
by Verena from Hong Kong

Everything is good besides of the location

Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
Overall is good, scenery from the hotel room was amazing, besides of the location it's a bit far. The food of their restaurant was great. Staffs were nice n helpful. If you don't mind the 30mins walk from the train station i think this hotel is definitely a good choice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Grindlwald

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful property with great views a 5 minute walk to town and gondola. Service was somewhat forced and not very helpful. Limited hospitality.