Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SEOUL, KOREA

Suite room was so nice!

Posted Oct 11, 2017
1. Room: The room has a really fantastic Eiger view! 2. Staff: When we first asked how turn on the fireplace, the staffs answered that it is just a model. After we noticed it is not a model, however, they finally turned on it within a second. Their attitude was so terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by AundO, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for your recent stay with us and your feedback. First of all it is great that you have enjoyed your vacation here in Grindelwald and with us so much. Regarding the fireplace: that really astonishes us since all our staff are aquainted with the function of these. It is highly unusual that they would react the way you described. Please accept our sincere apologies, we will have a look into the matter and make sure that this will never happen. Thank you very much for your stay and your feedback. It would be our very pleasure to welcome you once again with us soon. Kindest regards, Anneliese & Otto Hauser-Seger your hosts
5 out of 5
by Johan from South Africa

Beyond expectations

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Genuinely friendly people with amazing service, warm ambience, great meals. Going the extra mile
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017
Dear guests, thank you very much for your stay with us here at the Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof in Grindelwald. It was our pleasure to host you as our guests and friends. We are very glad that you have enjoyed your vacation in Grindelwald and with us so very much. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you once again here @ The Schweizerhof! Kind regards, Anneliese & Otto Hauser-Seger, your hosts, and our whole Schweizerhof team!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Colorado, USA

Schweizerhof

Posted Feb 26, 2012
Pros: Very quiet. Peaceful. They kept a heated ski room in the basement for your skis. The staff were all very friendly and helpful
Cons: not having an actual shower stall
Location: great location. 3 min from the train station. You do not hear any traffic. Walk outside the hotel and feel like you become 'one' with the Alps.
I cannot say enough good things about the staff at the hotel. Traveling single, I had a lot of questions, and the staff at the desk fielded them all and were very helpful. The hotel is conveniently located about 3 minutes from the train station, so you do not have to walk far. The morning breakfast offered was a great way to start your day. I did eat at the hotel restaraunt one evening during my stay. The food was delicious. (I am more of a simple fare kind of person, so Iate in bars for dinner in town) However, I would return in the evening and have an after dinner coffee in the lounge. The only 'negative' is the bath. I am used totaking showers. You are offered a nice, deep tub. (great if you want to take a bath) There is a hand held shower attatchment, but manuevering and changing hands while cleaning made for a mess. Other than that, I was very satisfied with my stay. If I come back to Grindlewald, I would stay at the Schweizerhof again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Perfect place to enjoy variety of Swiss Alps

Posted Oct 27, 2010
We like to hike and did three including the long hike at the Jungfraujoch(mandatory). Lauternbrunnen Valley leisurely stroll back to town from the waterfall(take the bus to the waterfall) but the best was gondola from Grindelwald to First and then hike to Grosse Scheidegg. have a nice meal at the restaurant and then hike down to Oberer Hotel or just catch the bus. Great way to end our trip to Switzerland. Trains are the way to go for sure. no rental car needed for our 10 days around Switzerland.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Never return again!

Posted Oct 7, 2010
The assign seating for breakfast and will not change it, regardless! The rooms are not worth the price we paid and should not be given a 4 star. THe lobby was updated, along with a few rooms, but the rest is aged and outdated! Would not return. Staff was not flexible nor were they helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2010 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from waco, tx

nice place in a nice town

Posted Sep 27, 2010 on Hotels
hotel is close to train station and is well kept with large rooms, some with a fantastic view on the south. Pool is spectacular, indoor with a great outdoor view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

beautiful spa hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2010 on Hotels
Outstanding space, wonderful location -- I called a taxi from the train station and was told it was just a few steps away...it was. The spa services were great and were easy to book last-minute. The breakfast buffet, which was included in my excellent rate, was amazing -- a wide array of cheeses, freshly baked bread that was still warm, cold cuts, eggs, bacon, many different teas to choose from, lovely fruits etc. etc..The chef's meals were pricey but exquisite. Overall, probably the best hotel I've stayed at in Europe for a very reasonable price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Would go back

Posted Aug 30, 2010
Ideally located. Surrundings magical.