Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dacono CO

Mountain Hotel with free parking and breakfast

Posted Mar 26, 2018
Pros: location, breakfast, free parking, good rate
Location: First Cliffwalk by Tissot
This is a cute little mountain hotel with free parking and breakfast included. The rooms are basic and it is a quiet hotel that includes bed, and a small bathroom but that is all that is needed really. Within walking distance to First Cliffwalk by Tissot lift. Would stay here again if in Grindelwald. Staff was friendly as well Brittany Travel Agent TravelSmiths(dot)com
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2018 by Monika Ganzoni-Bernet, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review. We’re happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Tschuggen. We wish you all the best for the future and hope to see you again sometime in the future! Kind regards from sunny Grindelwald
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, but small

Posted Feb 25, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: They should have a dayroom
Location: You ski in the winter and hike in the summer
Hotel is in a good location, 5 min from station. It is clean and efficiently run, but there are some significant drawbacks: The rooms are tiny and the bathroom/shower are even tinier! Bathroom towels are not changed. There is no day room where you could read a book or work on the internet, although they have a beautiful breakfast room, which they lock at 10 AM! The lobby is also tiny with the staff only really visible in the AM. It reminds you more of a high level youth hostel rather than a hotel. A highlight is the breakfast which offers good coices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2018 by Monika Ganzoni-Bernet, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoy our breakfast. The room you stayed in is a small one, yes. The price is lower than for the bigger south facing rooms with balcony. In the bathroom you found a note that the towels are changed when you put them in the shower or on the floor. Our hotel is rated with only 2 stars, that's why we don't have a real lobby. Our reception is closed for lunch time, but from 1.30 pm till the evening me or my husband are always in the hotel. Sunny greetings from Grindelwald
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brisbane, australia

Would highly recommend

Posted Jan 20, 2018 on Wotif
This accommodation was more than that, it felt like a home. The owners were accessible and so very accommodating. Overall they were genuinely interested in how we were and what they could do for us. The beds were so very comfortable, warm all the time, views of the valley to die for and the bathroom faciltites amazing. The breakfast was also a welcoming experience. I cannot wait to go back again! Thank you!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overall under rating. unfriendly staffs

Posted Dec 31, 2017 on Hotels
Receptionist was not friendly. I reached hotel at abt 830pm where there was nobody at hotel with the main door locked while during booking it was stated that receptionist closed after 9pm. after waiting, someone came and entertained us. we were pointed at the building next door with staircase indicating that was our room while the receptionist shown no interest to bring us up there and no assistance rendered to us and our children to assist to our luggages. even though I asked him to bring us up to the hotel room as it was dark and with outdoor stairs yet surprisingly he said "no need". that's the way he rejected his customers.... Room was indeed spacious and clean yet the hot water did not worked well in the winter. we have 4 people, after 2 people bath the hot water failed. we found there wasn't phone in the room and we have no means to contact the hotel keeper and no more receptionist...... Hotel location was good and along the main street. I could find lots of hotel along the main street and I seriously felt that there must be lots of better choices nearly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Nice cozy place to stay!

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Orbitz
Nice cozy place to stay, very quiet, friendly & helpful stuff, close to train station & grocery store. Great breakfast! No refrigerator but you can leave your drinks on the terrace and it stayed cold. overall it was a great stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay At Tschuggen

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at the Tschuggen 4 nights on a recent trip to Grindelwald. We stayed in Room 9 with a Eiger View. And what a view it was. It was great sitting out on the deck just looking at the mountain views. Very friendly place. Nice breakfast in the morning.I would definitely recommend this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Monika, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We’re happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Tschuggen. We wish you all the best for the future and hope to see you again sometime in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceptional Owners, Wonderful Hotel

Posted May 27, 2017
We stayed four nights and cannot give enough positive reviews for this hotel. In a tourist centric town the Tschuggen feels like home. Our mountain view room was quiet, comfortable and very clean. The generous breakfast was delicious and our hosts went out of their way to assist. Thank you Tschuggen owners and staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Monika Ganzoni-Bernet, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We’re happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Tschuggen. We wish you a nice summer and hope to welcome you again sometime in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
We got a lovely stay in the hotel and local is great but you need to climb up steps to floor ... Don't forget to have a visit or look behind of the hotel, it's nice view about the hilly scenic!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Monika, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We’re happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Tschuggen. We wish you all the best and hope to see you again sometime in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Good view to the mountain. Near to train station and the cable car station.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to train station but not friendly staff

Posted Mar 17, 2017
It was only 5min walk from the station. However, the staff in front desk ( a guy) and breakfast area lady was not friendly. Fake smile and only friendly to people who speak their language. We asked local interest, the front desk didnt answer our questions clearly so we ended up going to tourist center instead. Great view from the room but not worth of 140 CHF per night.