Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Western Iowa

Tiny Bathroom, no very accommodating!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Location was great, rates were very competitive.
Cons: The bathrooms have to be enlarged, I do not know how they would do it but I will not go back.
Location: This is located in Grinnell Ia, just off the interstate but far enough so you cannot hear the traffic. There is a great pizza place called Pagliai',
The reservations was handled well, the host was very friendly but the bathroom was so tiny one almost had to straddle the stool to open and close the door. Also, I have a back problem and they would not allow us more than one extra pillow. We had to go to the car and get things to support my sleeping position.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Papillion, NE

Please don't stay here

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: It was in the same town as the swim meet my daughter was participating in and short commute to the pool.
Cons: Staff should wear identifying clothing stating they work there. None of the chambermaids wore uniforms. I had to ask if they worked there.
Location: A swim meet is very time consuming so we really did nothing but go to the pool . We dined at Frontier Cafe, The Pinetree Depot Crossing and Dairy Barn
We checked in Friday night around 9:30 pm, entered the lobby and no one was behind the desk. A man in a lobby chair asked me how I was and then went behind the desk. No uniform, dressed sloppy but was pleasant. Our room smelled like I was punched in the face with an ashtray and it was a non smoking room. The room itself looked nice at first,(looked like online pictures) besides the smell, the carpets were not vacuumed, visible food, popcorn kernels and candy wrappers on the floor. The room had dust(I hope it was dust)on the headboard. The shelf in the bathroom was missing with holes in the wall. The toilet seat had cigarette burns on it. The tub spout leaked. There were visible liquid stains on the walls. I complained and showed the chambermaids in the morning and spoke to the same man who checked us in the next morning. They apologized and cleaned the room and it did a great job, the deodorized it and when we returned that night, it was much better(didn't repair the shelf or replace the toilet seat). I had a room on hold at the Best Western across the street in case it was not clean enough but we chose to stay. By the morning the cigarette smell had returned. I asked for a discount for Friday night but was told no because I booked with Expedia and to take it up with them or call Super 8 Corporate which we intend to do. I will not stay her next year when we return to Grinnell for another swim meet, unfortunately it was the only place when I booked left in Grinnell.
3 out of 5
by Kathy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Joshua

Don't waste your time with super 8 or hotels.com

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
I had a horrible stay at super 8! The owner checked me in and was very rude and confrontational! It was very late when we checked it on our business trip and he was not helpful at all with problems we were having with hotels.com. Some how our room booked on a different day other then the night we needed. It was 1 o'clock in the morning and we were exhausted and he treated us rudely and would not switch our date. So I called hotels.com and they said they would have to check with the hotel to see if we could reschedule they called him and I could hear him in the other room talking to them and he demanded that we pay an extra $10 to switch the date! So after it was all said and done it cost me an extra $20 to book my room through hotels.com and it took over an hour for me to get checked in!!! I was furious!! The rooms were filthy! I spent $90 on a room that should only cost $40 in the middle of Iowa!!! I travel all the time and I've used hotels.com many times and after this I'm deleting the app and I'm never using super 8 again! I travel every week for work and I will not use either ever again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
There were quite a few maintenance issues within the room itself (TV was not working properly, the door wouldn't lock unless you lifted up on the handle, the dead bolt was also not in working condition). The staff were very friendly and apologetic regarding the room conditions. Also, there was not a great choice for breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
We could not stay in this hotel due to the level of smoke. Both Hotels.com and the hotel were unwilling to help remedy this situation. I question using Hotels.com for future bookings and will not stay at this hotel. I could not stay the remainder of the time due to my child's allergies and no refunds would be given. This situation was unsafe and unacceptable!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good pricing but poor housekeeping.

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
First night room was bypassed by housekeeping before 9:00 a.m. Had to ask for new towels & replacement garbage bags. Second night room again was not cleaned. Night manager quickly remedied the situation and apologized for the day shift. Fourth night room was cleaned but the sheets were not changed after the super clean sign was posted on the door. Rooms were nice but housekeeping was minimal at best.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Would not stop there again, the room hadn't been cleaned thoroughly and there was some things that need fixed in the bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: I was pleasantly surprised by their breakfast selection. Both gentlemen I spoke with at the front desk were very polite and helpful.
Cons: Mattress was a bit warn, but we slept fine regardless.