Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and reasonably priced

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
The room was good size, very clean. The staff were exceptionally helpful (from the reception to housekeeping). The location is great too - walking distance from cafes, bars, restaurants and centre of Groningen in general. Things I would improve would be double bed, instead of 2 singles pushed together. Full wifi would have been great too. I would stay in this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Convenient city centre location

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Wifi
Location: Conveniently located in the city centre near shops, university buildings, etc.
Overall a pleasing experience. The staff are friendly, very helpful and accommodating. The only only thing that would improve the experience is the WIFI. The normal wifi is terribly slow but even after paying for premium wifi the experience was not much better.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Carol from Manchester

A good night in Groningen

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
We visited to go to the David Bowie exhibition so only a short stay. The hotel was very good and staff were helpful and welcoming.
4 out of 5
by Susan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Mr J from Cambridgeshire

Lovely but disappointed..

Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in a perfect location & had a lovely lounge/bar. The breakfast was very good however we were vey disappointed with the room...it was small & claustrophobic,had only one bedside table(twin beds),a window which wouldn't open though that was unlocked,the water from the shower was luke warm,the tea/coffee sachets were not replenished and also the room wasn't cleaned one of the days. We found the staff not very welcoming & forthcoming with information despite Groningen being a super friendly city. We did ask for another room however one was not available. We have reason to visit Groningen frequently but found the Hotel de Ville though well located was not very comfortable for more than a couple of nights. Was the Bistro part of the hotel & if so when was it open?! The hotel provided umbrellas we noticed on our return after being soaked through & had nowhere in the room to hang our wet coats!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable hotel in centre of Groningen

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Breakfast. Location.
Cons: Decor in bedroom.
Location: Close to the centre. A 10-15 minute walk from the bus and train station.
The hotel is a shortish, but quite expensive, taxi ride from the airport. Alternatively you can get a bus for 5 euros and walk, but it might be hard to find if you are not familiar with the town. I arrived by taxi, but left by bus. Groningen is a small place and easy to walk around. The hotel was pleasant downstairs and decorated for Christmas. My room was a single, but I was pleased to find there was a small double bed. I hate single beds. I never worked out if the decor was retro, or if it hadn't been decorated since the 1970s. I can't says it was decorated to my taste, and I would not have wanted to stay in that room for too many days as I found it a little depressing, but it was fine for one or two nights. It certainly didn't look anything like the pictures on the Web. The bathroom had a shower but no bath, which was fine for me. But I didn't like the gigantic tap over the sink which meant you couldn't get your head over it properly to splash your face. Very annoying. I suggest a refit when funds allow. Breakfast was extra, but was worth it. I wish I had had time to do it proper justice. There was the usual cold meat and cheese, but also bacon, scrambled eggs, what looked like freshly squeezed juice, bread and pastries. Staff were helpful. I travelled by Flybe but found the customer service dreadful. They conned me for 50 euros extra for making me Check in hand luggage that was only half full. What a swizz. Will never travel with them again.
3 out of 5
by Martine from Chichester

Good central place to stay for business in a comfo

Posted Dec 18, 2015 on Hotels
Good central place to stay for business in a comfortable hotel. The actual decor of the room was a little tired, however, the conservatory room near reception was exceptionally comfortable. Definitely enjoyed the open fire.
4 out of 5
by Peter from Poole

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
3 nights at Hotel de Ville. Quiet and convienient. Breakfast expensive €18. Room was dark where tea making facilities and I had to ask for milk and tea on 2 occasions as supplies were not topped up
3 out of 5
by Hai from Singapore

Fairly well

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Door still using key lock