Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice stay

Posted Oct 3, 2016
The hotel was generally good but I cannot think of anything to make it stand out of the routine. I stayed there for only one night. The only think I observed in my room was the leaking shower head in the bathroom. I reported this at the check-out and they took note of it. The lack of parking and the price for local parking could be an issue for people thinking of driving to Groningen. I parked my car at the hospital's car park, which literally is a minute away from the hotel, and paid €36 for 17 hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Helpful friendly staff. Good breakfast. Quite location. Close to old town.
Cons: Comfort of beds- 2 single beds together to make a double isn't comfortable.
Location: Close to the beautiful old town. Go see the David Bowie exhibition before it's gone!
Basic but clean hotel with nice staff and great breakfast. Location is convenient- close to the old town and within walking distance from the train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, Texas

NH Groningen

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Pros: Easy access to Groningen centrum.
Cons: Friendlier staff.
Location: Just a short walk to the market and all the shops and eateries in central Groningen by the university.
Quiet and safe room. Easy check in and check out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Curacao

GREAT!!

Posted Jul 12, 2015
NH Hotel groningen is a great place to stay. We had a room with city view on the 8th floor, excellent. Rooms are clean and comfortable without any noise of other rooms. Breakfast is very nice, lot of choices and friendly staff. Overall a great stay for a very good price. 3 minutes away from the centre and stores. I would recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

NH Groningen

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Perfectly situated a short walk from the town centre and directly opposite the UCMG. The hotel is very clean and comfortable , and the staff are very helpful whatever your need. I would highly recommend this hotel to any traveller.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice hotel near city centre.

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Good clean hotel close to city centre had all you would need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Guest from North America

Across the street from medical center.

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Closeness to medical centre and downtown activities.
Cons: The basic wifi was not too unreliable in the evenings. However, morning connectivity was problem free.
Location: The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the train station. The university was celebrating its 400th anniversary so lots of activities downtown.
A hotel with good value. Similar hotel in Amsterdam would be 50 Euros more/night. Nice breakfast buffet with lots of choices. Automatic coffee machine in breakfast area gave lots of options too. I thought the hotel staff could have been more helpful for a guest who was unable to extend his stay, but could not because the hotel was fully booked. Should have offered to phone other hotels in the area to be helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

close to the hospital

Posted May 25, 2014
Cons: the Internet
Location: the closest one to the hospital
The hotel is ok. The Internet is extremely slow and not simple to connect to
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted May 18, 2014
This hotel seems to be a bit out of downtown, which is kind of, but it is only a 5-minute walk to cross the canal to get over to the main part. Despite appearances, having a hotel in front of a big hospital, it is actually quite handy. Inside the hospital, there is an Albert Hein supermarket chain and a restaurant that serves restaurant. Also, there is a bus stop right in front of the hospital. If one is driving, easy to find the hotel, just follow the hospital sign on the highway boards! A note to say that I have not heard many ambulances passing by, so there was not much noise relating to having the hospital close by. The restaurant in the hotel is wonderful. Very good food and the staff is very helpful. I got a problem with my room and was changed room right away. The room is very convenient and large, but don't expect heavy decor though. Overall, very good hotel and very well located.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Glen from Sydney, Australia

Convenient Hotel to Medical Centre - Poor Internet

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: I had very few other complaints and issues - most other services were above par
Cons: Internet Service Provider
In most respects the NH Groningen was fine for my stay. Except for one glaring inadequacy - very poor and inconsistent internet service (Swisscom). Slow, inconsistent connection, frequent dropped connections, etc. To be fair, when I spoke to front desk staff upon my checkout, they stated that they were aware of the problem, since numerous other guests had complained about it, but there was little else to be offered because the contract was with the internet agency that NH Hotels had hired.