Ratings based on 376 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Great

Posted Sep 7, 2017
My stay at Bay Gardens Beach Resorts was a Great experience. My sons and I really enjoyed ourselves. We are already planing on our returns. The staffs were very pleasant and helpful. My thanks goes out in particular to Ms Samantha, Kenneth, Rita, Frany. Also to the guards Timothy, Trenton, and Claudius. You guys in my eyes are the forefront of BGBR thanks again for making my experience greater than expected keep up the good work. "(We can't always please everyone)"
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Dinesh Daswani - Guest Manager, Hotel Management
It is great to hear that your family had a wonderful experience and we will be sure to pass on all your compliments to the team members. We truly hope that you took away some great memories and visit us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Posted Sep 5, 2017
I loved the hotel, I stayed there twice before. Actually got married there a few years ago.The staff were wonderful and very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Dinesh Daswani - Guest Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to experience Bay Gardens Resorts several times. We are glad to once again provide you with the comforts and relaxation of a true Saint Lucian vacation. Hope you welcome you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Lovely hotel by the beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Cons: We found the prices at the restuarant to be a bit inflated.
My family (husband and 3year old) and I absolutely loved this hotel. It was just perfect for us. Upon arrival the staff were very welcoming and check-in was fast, we even got an upgrade without requesting. The hotel grounds were meticulous and the room was quite large, clean and had comfortable beds. The view from our room (#509) was absolutely breathtaking. We loved how close the beach was and especially loved the water park - that was so much fun. The hotel was conveniently located to restaurants, a mall and grocery store, all within a 15 minute walk. Another feature that was impressive was the gym. The gym was fully equipped, even more equipped than most hotels we have stayed in in Canada. So this was a really nice bonus. Overall, this hotel was ideal for my family and we would definitely stay there again if we ever go back to St. Lucia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Guest Services Agent, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving us this review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our facilities especially the gym and water park. We pride ourselves on creating the most comfortable environment for our valued guest and happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from trinidad

Bay Gardens Beach resort and spa

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: view, pool, breakfast, happy hour, manager's party etc
Cons: needs an elevator, microwave in rooms, a/ c a bit noisy.
beautiful beach front resort with great view, pool, bars, entertainment etc most staff well trained and pleasant. however, as is often the case, one staff member can sour the experience .perfect place for families, as pool is very kiddy friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Dinesh Daswani, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words on our beach, views and team members. We hope that you had a wonderful stay and visit us again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too many peddlers and people begging on the beach.

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff was friendly and helpful
Cons: Get rid of the "Authorized Peddlers" as well as the unauthorized peddlers. Room maintenance could be done quicker. More reasonable price on the food
Location: Great tours and water activities all over the island, although even on our snorkeling trip we had kayakers peddle items and try to offer tow at a cost
the room itself was okay at best. We had a stopped up sink in the bathroom that didn't get fixed until the last day of our stay. Never could adjust the a/c to under 77 degrees and it leaked water on the floor. Restaurant staff were not very friendly and was a bit overpriced for the quality of the food. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. I think being harassed by peddlers and beggars at every turn even on the resort beach is unacceptable. Whether we were eating dinner, swimming, snorkeling, or resting on the beach every activity was met with a barrage of peddlers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Dinesh Daswani, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on your recent stay. We will look into the issues you have mentioned immediately in an effort to provide the best for all our guests. Glad you got to tour our island and hope you took away some great memories.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Clean oceanfront hotel close to shopping

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: It is very close to many restaurants, grocery store and some shopping.
Cons: Small items in the room could be replaced (cracked lamp shades for example), better insulation around the door
Location: beachfront restaurants, Pigeon Island which has beautiful views of the bay, Baywalk shopping mall
Overall I would rate this hotel as 3.5 stars. The grounds and facilities were well maintained and the pool area was very nice. My husband and I booked a room for 1 week and upon arrival noticed that the AC wall unit had frozen up (literally ice and water falling onto the floor) and the room wasn't cooling. We asked 3 separate times for either a repair or to change rooms. Finally, they agreed to move us to another room after attempting to repair the AC. Our new room had a great AC unit so we were satisfied. The room description said that we would have a coffee maker. The rooms only had a kettle to heat water with instant coffee. I am a huge coffee drinker and an early riser so I was quite disappointed to learn that I had to wait until 7:15-7:30 each morning to walk to the hotel bar/restaurant to order and pay for brewed coffee. The 12 oz cup was about $3.50 US which is fine I suppose but then you felt obligated to tip the server for pouring a cup of coffee. Overall I found the morning coffee experience very annoying and they were not in a hurry to serve me unless I was eating a full breakfast and wanted a table. The beach area at Bay Gardens Beach Hotel is extremely nice and the hotel is very close to many restaurants and some shopping. Overall a good value but just not 4 star in my opinion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Dinesh Daswani, Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest feedback on your recent stay. I am glad that we found a solution for the AC issues but we will certainly look into what you mentioned about the coffee maker and service in a continued effort to provide the best for all our guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Carnival stay

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Will be returning for another carnival experience. I did not try the hotel food but was recommended to a local spot not far from the hotel by a hotel staff member and was pleased. Hotel distance to where all the carnival parties were was about 20 mins away. Rooms and bathroom were spacious wish they had a bathtub but i enjoyed my stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Reah Lord, Marketing Officer, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving this valuable review. We are glad you were pleased our overall carnival vacation experience. It is great to hear you were treated with utmost hospitality. We are glad you enjoyed the overall facilities provided and complimentary services. We do look forward to welcoming you again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel located in Gros islet.

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Overall staff and hotel were good for a family on vacation. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were pretty clean. Main issue was the adjoining restaurant. Very expensive for poor or adequate food. Also, it appeared they catered to people on the inclusive plan with more speed them my family choosing to pay as we go. Pool and beach were very nice. Limited use and poor service with non-motorized equipment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by Reah Lord, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving this valuable review. We are glad you were pleased our overall vacation and your room's maintenance. It is great to hear you were treated with utmost hospitality. Your feedback regarding the meal deficiency and waiting service have been forwarded to our management team for review as this is not our quality of service. We are glad you enjoyed the overall facilities provided and complimentary services. We look forward to welcoming you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston, London

weekend break from Trinidad

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: proximity to beach is spot-on; less than a stone's throw away; sunset in front of the window on my balcony is fabulous
Cons: cheaper local taxis, but that's not their issue
perfect island-hop break from Trinidad where I was working in the Caribbean for 2months; St Lucia is great to visit, & the Bay Gardens was simply excellent during my short weekend stay; if you get the chance, stay there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Reah Lord, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving this valuable review. We are glad you were pleased with our convenient location and our veranda's spectacular view. We have not authority over taxi charges. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Bay Gardens Resorts and Saint Lucia on the whole. We are looking forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great family vacation spot.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The staff at BGBR really make the experience. Melisha in particular went above and beyond. Beatrice arranged great tours for us. Hotel food was very good and the location wasn't crowded at all. Water park was great for the kids and there was always something to do. Rooms weren't fancy but more than adequate and very clean. Highly recommend this hotel on the strength of the superb concierge staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Reah Lord, Marketing Officer , Hotel Management
Our management and staff wish to thank you for staying with us. Melisha will be informed of your kind words. Beatrice is well known for delivering outstanding results and will be informed of your admirations. It is great to know you had a great time with us and that your kids enjoyed our water park. We are happy you were pleased with our rooms’ maintenance. Creating a friendly environment is essential; therefore we are glad you enjoyed our hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you again!