Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
great experiencePosted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
by A verified traveler from New York, NY
Location and staff are its best attributes.Posted May 22, 2017
My sister and I stayed here for St Lucia JazzFestival. The location was superb! Right on the beach, lots of restaurants and bars nearby and only a 10 min water taxi ride away from Pigeon Island. The hotel staff is also excellent. Kendall stands out in my mind, as he greeted us by name every day, and just an overall pleasant and upbeat demeanor. Breakfast offerings were a nice balance of local cuisine and your standard breakfast options (bacon,eggs, pancakes, etc). The hotel itself needs a major refresher. It felt old and dated. The patio furniture's paint was chipping and couldn't really be used unless you wanted paint all over you. And the pool loungers also need an update. Our room was clean, spacious and nicely located near the pool. However, I didn't particularly like the flowers that were placed everywhere upon check-in. They were on the bed, on all of the towels, on the tables- just overkill. Had to basically clear all of those away before we could get comfortable. Also I had an allergic reaction. My pillow smelled of mildew and had to be replaced. Overall an OK experience. However despite the great location on the beach I don't think I will stay here again.
Perfection in paradise!Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
We absolutely loved our stay at the Royal for our honeymoon. Everyone there was so friendly, and the property is gorgeous. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. Delicious breakfast, and the hotel was located on the best beach in St. Lucia, but walking distance to many great restaurants and shops too. Couldn't have been happier with our choice to spend our honeymoon here!
for Everyoneby A verified traveler from Philadelphia
Checks all the boxesPosted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Everything. Seriously though, from breakfast to the beach to the pool to the room- I couldn't expect much better.
Cons: The bathrooms, while nicely appointed sacrificed function for aesthetics. The curbless shower stall leaked and the vessel sinks were too big.
Location: Rodney Bay location is perfectly situated close to many great restaurants and walking distance from town should you need to go to the grocery store.
My wife and 11yo were extremely happy with our choice to stay at the Royal. We had a clean and spacious ground floor suite that opened to the nicely manicured courtyard about 100 feet from Reduit beach. The pool has a swim up bar and covered cushioned cabanas seen at those $$$$ high end luxury resorts.The staff was very friendly and accommodating (thank you Franklin & MacLauren) and the complimentary buffet breakfast had more to offer than you could sample all week. Situated within walking distance to many very nice restaurants in Rodney bay you won't feel isolated if you prefer to tour but is also buffered enough so that you may enjoy some secluded quiet if you wish. The beach is beautiful, the water is clear and there are many activities so you won't ever be bored. In speaking with a more seasoned St. Lucia vacationing couple the gentlemen affirmed our feelings that the Royal "checks all the boxes". I don't know why you would spend any more and If you did would you still receive all the same great amenities? I probably wouldn't even bother looking for another resort if we were to ever visit St. Lucia again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by sales manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We do try to set ourselves apart by providing consistent, friendly customer service. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we are pleased that we can be your destination of choice for future stays in St.Lucia. We really appreciate all feedbacks, and we can assure you that we will be looking into the comment you have made about with reference to bathrooms and vessel sinks and you can rest assured that we are currently addressing this to ensure that we improve on this. Your comments will certainly be passed on to our team members especially to Franklin and MacLauren who you have personally mentioned. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for the recommendation on the Royal and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Not worth the price per nightPosted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
It was ok
DisappointedPosted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
Check in was very poor. Not particularly welcoming staff except the bell boy. Were told that they do not accept AMEX, despite the in-room guide advising they accept all major credit cards. This did cause a lot of problems as was the only credit card we held. Arrived at 14:30 and room not ready at 15:30 despite the hotel being, in their words, under occupied. We were advised about the many restaurants on site later finding out that some were closed as they were in the sister hotel next door that was mysteriously closed down. First evening meal we were herded rather than directed to our table with general table service being somewhat unfriendly. After the first day the service levels improved a lot so maybe a staff rota change helped. on the 3rd 4th day the water in the room stopped working, on one occasion mid shower. Reception did not answer when we called so got no resolve. On the last day we asked for a later check out by a couple of hours as we had a night flight. They very kindly obliged but when we returned to the room from the beach to shower and pack we, again, found there was no water supply. We called to reception and were advised someone would call back, they didn't! This happened 2 more times. It took over an hour to get showered leaving us no time to have lunch before our cab arrived. Overall, great location, junior staff very pleasant and helpful, room lovely, great potential but to put it in St Lucias top 10 hotels is bonkers. We would give 3.5 stars at best.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017
I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests in maintaining our high standards and exceptional customer service, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail. We will look into each issue that you have noted and all areas of concerns in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel policies and will take all steps to ensure that this will not happen again to our valued guests. We thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and would like you to know that we appreciate your business. We hope that you will give us another chance to prove that we can provide a better experience.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler
Great location and friendly staffPosted Mar 26, 2017 on Orbitz
Tons to do and a great breakfast buffet to get your day going.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler
Great room.Posted Mar 25, 2017
Very friendly welcoming staff. Nice clean room.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler from toronro
Very nice hotel and nice staffPosted Mar 10, 2017
Was an amazing experience loved the staff. Clean hotel and very close to the beach
by A verified traveler
Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels