Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel is trying just misses the boat.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The staff and the cleanliness of the beach.
Cons: Fans in the pool side bars. Ice machines. A clean gym/spa.
Location: Close t shopping and restaurants.
First night had to put up with noisy broken AC unit which sounded like a phone receiver off the hook. Second night, new room, had a leaking toilet all night. No water sports offered. No beach food and drink service. Gym was gross with old rusty equipment. Whirlpool and sauna unusable due to construction and paint fumes. No ice machines, we had to go down t the restaurant for ice. The positive... All the regular staff was amazing, friendly, repsonsive and very helpful. Water and beach were very clean. Location is good for restaurants and shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad and Tobago

Excellent beach location for a holiday.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: On the beach. Efficient, friendly room service. Comfortable room and lots of space in suite. Did not feel locked in.
Cons: More 110v outlets needed in the suite. There was just one set in the living room area. An ice machine on the floor needed. Earlier breakfast start.
Location: Ideal location on Rodney bay. Restaurants close by. Quiet streets for jogging.
Efficient and warm welcome. Friendly reception and room service staff. Sought to make stay comfortable. I was on business so I did not have the time to fully enjoy the facilities. Breakfast was tasty, especially the local fare. Could hav started earlier but staff were attentive. Remembered that I drank tea after the first day, and got that for me on the second day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Location and staff are its best attributes.

Posted May 22, 2017
My sister and I stayed here for St Lucia JazzFestival. The location was superb! Right on the beach, lots of restaurants and bars nearby and only a 10 min water taxi ride away from Pigeon Island. The hotel staff is also excellent. Kendall stands out in my mind, as he greeted us by name every day, and just an overall pleasant and upbeat demeanor. Breakfast offerings were a nice balance of local cuisine and your standard breakfast options (bacon,eggs, pancakes, etc). The hotel itself needs a major refresher. It felt old and dated. The patio furniture's paint was chipping and couldn't really be used unless you wanted paint all over you. And the pool loungers also need an update. Our room was clean, spacious and nicely located near the pool. However, I didn't particularly like the flowers that were placed everywhere upon check-in. They were on the bed, on all of the towels, on the tables- just overkill. Had to basically clear all of those away before we could get comfortable. Also I had an allergic reaction. My pillow smelled of mildew and had to be replaced. Overall an OK experience. However despite the great location on the beach I don't think I will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Checks all the boxes

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Everything. Seriously though, from breakfast to the beach to the pool to the room- I couldn't expect much better.
Cons: The bathrooms, while nicely appointed sacrificed function for aesthetics. The curbless shower stall leaked and the vessel sinks were too big.
Location: Rodney Bay location is perfectly situated close to many great restaurants and walking distance from town should you need to go to the grocery store.
My wife and 11yo were extremely happy with our choice to stay at the Royal. We had a clean and spacious ground floor suite that opened to the nicely manicured courtyard about 100 feet from Reduit beach. The pool has a swim up bar and covered cushioned cabanas seen at those $$$$ high end luxury resorts.The staff was very friendly and accommodating (thank you Franklin & MacLauren) and the complimentary buffet breakfast had more to offer than you could sample all week. Situated within walking distance to many very nice restaurants in Rodney bay you won't feel isolated if you prefer to tour but is also buffered enough so that you may enjoy some secluded quiet if you wish. The beach is beautiful, the water is clear and there are many activities so you won't ever be bored. In speaking with a more seasoned St. Lucia vacationing couple the gentlemen affirmed our feelings that the Royal "checks all the boxes". I don't know why you would spend any more and If you did would you still receive all the same great amenities? I probably wouldn't even bother looking for another resort if we were to ever visit St. Lucia again.
3 out of 5
by Jennifer

Not worth the price per night

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
It was ok
3 out of 5
by RICHARD

Disappointed

Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
Check in was very poor. Not particularly welcoming staff except the bell boy. Were told that they do not accept AMEX, despite the in-room guide advising they accept all major credit cards. This did cause a lot of problems as was the only credit card we held. Arrived at 14:30 and room not ready at 15:30 despite the hotel being, in their words, under occupied. We were advised about the many restaurants on site later finding out that some were closed as they were in the sister hotel next door that was mysteriously closed down. First evening meal we were herded rather than directed to our table with general table service being somewhat unfriendly. After the first day the service levels improved a lot so maybe a staff rota change helped. on the 3rd 4th day the water in the room stopped working, on one occasion mid shower. Reception did not answer when we called so got no resolve. On the last day we asked for a later check out by a couple of hours as we had a night flight. They very kindly obliged but when we returned to the room from the beach to shower and pack we, again, found there was no water supply. We called to reception and were advised someone would call back, they didn't! This happened 2 more times. It took over an hour to get showered leaving us no time to have lunch before our cab arrived. Overall, great location, junior staff very pleasant and helpful, room lovely, great potential but to put it in St Lucias top 10 hotels is bonkers. We would give 3.5 stars at best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Orbitz
Tons to do and a great breakfast buffet to get your day going.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great room.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Very friendly welcoming staff. Nice clean room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronro

Very nice hotel and nice staff

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Was an amazing experience loved the staff. Clean hotel and very close to the beach
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels