Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 3, 2016
nice old fashioned hotel in the centre of grosseto
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

What a wonderful hotel!

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Pros: I especially liked the location.
Cons: I would have enjoyed having a bar in the hotel itself, although there is one across the street and others nearby.
Location: The location is perfect for exploring Grosseto itself and the train station is nearby for visiting the surrounding areas.
The location is perfect for exploring Grosseto. The staff is courteous, friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast had a variety of options and was delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Staff bends over backwards to make your stay happy

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: Perfect location most things are in walking distance, beach is short drive away.excellent restaurants in walking distance.
From breakfast to sleep this hotel is excellent. The staff does everything to help you during your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel, well-situated.

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Nicely situated within walking distance of train and bus stations, close to bars, restaurants and shops. Can be quite noisy in the evening though. Nice large bathroom + bath! Good air-conditioning and a comfy bed. Electrical plugs were pretty useless though and the wi-fi was shoddy too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Wonderful hotel in Grosseto

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Cons: The small refrigerator in the room pumped too much heat in the corner of the room. The air conditioning couldn't overcome it; had to open window.
We really enjoyed our stay in Grosseto at the Hotel Bastiani. It's in the heart of the old center, a block from the Duomo. We walked from the train/bus station - an easy 10-15 minute walk, and went on a day-trip to the beach at Follonica, using the train, also. The hotel rooms are large, and the bathroom was nicely furnished with a large bathtub/shower combo. The breakfast area was also very nice with a large assortment of items, and excellent cappacino. Each person at the front desk was very personable. We planned to use the bikes available but ended up walking everywhere, instead. While we were there, the old center had a wonderful night event with lots of music options, arts, and museums were open. We know that Grosseto is not the typical location American tourists go in Italy, but we really enjoyed our time there and recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ron from Scotland

Lovely Hotel in a central location

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: Nice rooms, good breakfast and friendly helpful staff
Location: Central location and plenty of quality shopping etc available nearby. Old town was lovely.
Nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff although quiet but I assume that was about time of year as I would imagine that at height of summer it would be very busy. Location was great and everything was easily walk-able with a fair selection of bars and eating places although again these were fairly quiet. Hotel had bicycles available and reception helped by providing directions to a cycle way that ran all the way to the coast/beach, excellent way to work off a nice lunch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ectl London

Grosseto and hotel Bastiani....a real surprise

Posted Aug 25, 2013
I have spent only one night in Grosseto , I was there for a business meeting, this small town is very nice and this classic hotel.... a wonderful experience ! Perfect for a week end
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gabor from miramar florida

Gorges town great hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Nice rooms and good breakfast The bed is a bit hard for American standards. At the reception they were very helpful and cordial.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carolann from Moses Lake, WA

historic hotel in heart of old city

Posted Jul 19, 2013
Pros: The old world feel to it. It was like staying at a private club.
Location: in the heart of the old city. lots of restaurants and shops and things to see
wonderful breakfast, great service. We felt very well taken care of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Karie from UK

Superb stay!

Posted Mar 5, 2012
Pros: Friendly & helpful staff
Cons: Paying for wireless internet
Location: Great location
We experienced very friendly, helpful and competent staff. All the reception staff spoke excellent English. Rooms were also very good, both comfortable and clean. Breakfast was excellent - lots of choice and also featured some local produce. The location is great, a very short walk to the town centre. The only criticism would be the fact you have to pay for wireless internet.