Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from High Wycombe

Good hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Refurbished and modern rooms, staff very helpful and friendly
Cons: WiFi is awful, very thin walls, can hear a lot of noise from outside the room
Location: Located on the east side of the island, very close to the Zoo and attractions of Gorey. Only 15 minutes by car into St Helier
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from YORK

Dont pay for the food at this hotel,it is awful...

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: The room attendants and reception staff were lovely And there is a very handy co-op just up the road!
Cons: The waitreses need training and the food needs to be drasticly inproved
Location: a little bit out on a limb ,but on a good bus route
we paid for breakfast the first morning as the "deal" we had did not include meals, it wasnt bad but the toasters were SO slow that our food was cold by the time our toast was done.Dinner was dreadful,im not sure what happened to my minit steak, it had a most pungent smell,i sent it back, another one arrived ,although i hadnt asked for it, and i refused that one also THEN the "chef" sent the waitress out with the meat on a board to prove his point that the food was fine i have never been so shown up in my life . Needless to say that was the last time we ate there,we joined fellow guests of the Beachcomber hotel at the local pub/restaraunt and the bistro up the road,who were both well used to beachcomber guests seekig refuge in their hostelries,all with tales similar to mine.We tried to sit by the pool a couple of times but couldnt relax for the constant lawn mowing,leaf blowing, and the TWICE DAILY pool inspections THANKFULLY THE BUS SERVICE WAS SPOT ON THOUGH,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great little hotel in a beautiful parish in Jersey

Posted Sep 15, 2016
We visited this hotel at the end of August 2016 and it was very busy. The staff were very helpful and pleasant and nothing seemed like too much bother for them. The room we stayed in although small was clean and nicely furnished, the bathroom was modern. The week we visited was a very warm and the room wouldn't have missed some air conditioning as some of the nights were uncomfortable due to the heat. Soundproofing in the rooms wasn't great and on many occasions the sounds of "general living" could be heard from other rooms. There was a small bar which compared to other prices we paid in Jersey was reasonably priced. we ate a meal there which was nice although the menu felt a little limited considering the location of the hotel and lack of other options in the surrounding area. Beachcombers Hotel is set in a beautiful location and swimming in their outdoor pool was a pleasure, the pool was warm and well maintained. The hotel provided you with clean towels each day to take into the pool area. Drinks were also put into plastic cups if you were drinking poolside. Within a mile you can walk into the beautiful harbour town of Gorey where you'll find several seafood restaurants and an ancient castle. Also a short walk away uphill is Queen's Valley reservoir where you'll see plenty of wildlife. Buses run regular into St Helier, hotel staff were happy to help us with bus stop and bus times. There was plenty of parking available for hotel guests. https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

A great family holiday

Posted Aug 27, 2016
A great stay at this 3 star hotel. Daughter enjoyed the outdoor pool while son played in the tennis court. The stay was very comfortable. Extremely child friendly hotel and the staff went out of their way to help. Could do with a swing/slide for little kids. Meals in the hotel were very good, but come in smaller portions and are expensive. The toasters during breakfast need replacing!! Overall a good value for money and comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice stay

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Out of the melee on a quiet road. Excellent value for money given the exorbitant price of some Jersey hotels.
Cons: It's a bit tired in places, the bedroom doors slam if you let them, but it's fine as you don't pay top-notch prices.
Location: 3 bus stops close by (2 are almost outside and the other is 5ish minutes walk away), the beach is 10-15 mins walk and a golf course is the same.
Nice, comfortable 5 day stay. Been at this hotel before and nothing had really changed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire, England

In need of some tlc.

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was good and the bus stopped nearby so you could get out and about, but still needed a car to get around this beautiful island.
Cons: Attention to detail! It felt more like an old-fashioned guest house than a modern hotel. I think the pictures on the website need to be more honest.
Location: Hotel on a busy road, so road noise may be a problem for some guests. You could get a bus to St Helier from near the hotel.
Booked a premium room based on room description and photographs. We were very disappointed to be given a room that was basic, functional and quite gloomy with a small window and only 1 chair. The hotel needs some tlc - the carpet in our room was stained, there was a hole in the wall, the painting / decoration seemed half finished. There was only 7 coathangers for two of us. We needed to remove the ironing board from the wardrobe to make space to hang our clothes. The window would only stay open by inserting an alum key through a hole drilled in the window frame. The room smelt very musty when the window was closed. The bath had been patched up where the enamel had come off - I could go on but I hope you get the gist that the room was anything but premium! The hotel in general needed sprucing up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west sussex uk

nice hotel very good staff

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: waiting staff, location quite
Cons: showers, and more plugs in room, menu better pricing as only states 2 4 £18.50 or 3 4 £22.50, need single price on menu for just a main, confusing
Location: quite, co-op, beach, bus stops near by 20 mins to St Hellier
nice hotel near to bus stops, which you need if no car but very cheap bus fares, get 1,2 or 3 day pass as cheaper if getting on and off, breakfast nice selection, evening meal nice but not much variety, also times bit restrictive 6 till 8.30, but found a lot of places were the same, room triple shower not brilliant, plug sockets 3, 1 near the tv which was on the dressing table so if someone wanted to watch tv and other do hair makeup you couldn't, so would suggest double plug,also room was quite noisy someone had there music on till 3 on 2 nights but overall would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South West UK

very comfortable hotel not far from lovely beach

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Friendliness of all staff, cleanliness, attractive dining room and bar area with an excellent choice of good, fresh food for breakfast and dinner.
Cons: The only thing we felt should be improved, by replacement, was the carpet in the hallway leading to the bedrooms that looked drab and tired.
Location: Gorey nearby has an excellent beach, good walks, golf course, a few interesting shops, good choice of eating places, loads of things to see everywhere
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Beachcombers which is quietly and conveniently situated on a main route to everywhere on the island but especially to the lovely little town of Gorey with its charming facilities and beach. It is easy to walk to local shops from the hotel, catch buses or take your car and be anywhere on the island within a short space of time! There are plenty of places to eat in Gorey or local pubs en route but the Beachcomber Hotel dinners were excellent and the bar and lounge a very comfortable and friendly place to spend the evening. We enjoyed a totally relaxing and interesting three days and left feeling very pleased we had chosen Jersey for a mini break and that we'd stayed at the Beachcombers Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warwickshire UK

Nice hotel well situated

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: pleasant hotel well up to three star standard. Staff were always friendly & extremely helpful. will happily return.
Cons: Vehicle access is slightly restricted but we believe planning permission has been applied for to remedy this.
Location: Country location SE of the island close to Gorey Harbour, an ideal spot for a drink or a meal out.
Flights were delayed but hotel were very helpful in these circumstances.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nothing too much trouble

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: Staff and cleanliness
Cons: Old part of the building needs modernising
Location: On the east side of the island, very near to Gory and Mont Orgeil castle. Not too far from the Durrell Wildlife Conservation Trust.
A lovely stay in a hotel where the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. It clearly has been recently modernised and the decor is clean and neutral. However the 'old' part of the building is easy to discern and needs a bit more tlc to match the rest of the decor. A corner of the car park was also full of rubbish and old cars. I would like to award the hotel a 4.5 The bar manager, restaurant staff and receptionists went out of their way to ensure we had a great time.