Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, but room in need of updating.

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Location and quietness of the room
Cons: Needs updating
Location: Great selection of restaurants and plaza shopping.
Due to softball and golf tournaments, as well as a car show, it was very difficult to find a hotel in our price range for the dates we needed. We were thankful to find this room and making the reservation was pleasant. The location of the hotel is great - shopping, food and proximity to the freeway were all good. However, the room itself needed updating. The carpet was stained and worn and the bedding (around the edge of the bed) was very stained. There was an ant trap beside the bed. The check-in was pleasant, although our room had to be changed due to the assigned room not being cleaned yet (we checked in around 3:15-3:30 pm). The front desk was not usually manned - and when it was, it was usually someone from the laundry department next door. The hotel was clean but outdated - I did not have a good "feeling" about our room. It was very quiet, though.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harrisburg, PA.

Needs makeover

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: The breakfast was not bad. Normally eggs are very dry because they are powdered but theirs were not bad. Sausage Gravy was pretty good also.
Cons: Everything about the interior needs an overhaul and an update. The staff could use some courses in Customer Service.
Location: Traffic is very heavy. Allow an extra 15-30 minutes to avoid being late or tardy. Close to everything
I stayed in the presidential suite basically for the Jacuzzi tub, which had only one working jet that had no pressure. The rooms were so dated they felt dirty. The light in the kitchen did not work. Internet was slow. The staff were more interested in each other than welcoming guests. The pool looked like it was crumbling on inside as loose cement pieces were all over the edges of the semi clean pool. I have never left a bad review but this was a horrible experience. I left a day early and was not even asked about my visit as I passed front desk with my bags and printer, clearly checking out. The pictures must be of several other very nice Holiday Inns that are out there. You would think a chain like that would hold ALL of their Hotels to the same standards. I travel for work and will never choose Holiday Inn again!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Adequate at best

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Walked into the lobby - chlorine smell was horrible. Most of the building smelled of it - more so than other hotels I have stayed in. Got a 6 am wake up call that we did not request.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Marvin from Kentucky

Clean, comfortable hotel in a nice area!

Posted May 21, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel was clean and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The adjacent interstate traffic noise was rather pronounced, but the individually-controlled fan/cooling/heating system could be used to mask the sound. The breakfast buffet was incredible and included everything imaginable (mini omelettes, pancakes, rolls/muffins, sausage gravy & biscuits, etc.). Other than the traffic noise, no complaints at all about the hotel. I will definitely stay at this location again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by john from Springfield

Bugs in the room

Posted May 21, 2015 on Hotels
I have stayed at this hotel several time before in the past few years. On my last visit the room was full of ants crawling around and little nats flying around too. Shame as this is a great location. However, there are several hotels across the street that are brand new 2014 and 2015.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Katherine from Buffalo

just ok

Posted May 20, 2015 on Hotels
We tried to check in at 4:45pm and the desk lady was busy on her cellphone. Also they told me and another guest that our rooms weren't clean yet. Check in took like 15 minutes. Once we got to the floor we had to move 2 cleaning carts out of the way to get down the hall, they also leave the dirty towels outside all the rooms.The hotels water smells like it has a high level of sulfur in it, a little off putting. The surrounding neighborhood has a lot of restaurants around, a Target and Walmart. It's right off the thru way which is nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A+ except for tidiness.

Posted May 11, 2015 on Hotels
It was one of the quietest hotels that I have stayed in. My only complaint is cleanliness. There was hair on my wife's pillow and the coffee maker had the grounds in it from a previous customer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

An Okay Stay

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: The hotel location was just a 10 minute drive into downtown Columbus, so if you're looking for non-city prices that are close, this may work for you.
Cons: The hotel needs renovations, I have stayed at several Holiday Inns in much better condition. The room cleanliness (especially bathroom) was subpar
Location: There are several fast food restaurants (Chipotle, Chick fil A & others) and shopping very nearby. Columbus Oh is a very short highway drive away
We found Holiday Inn Express Grove City while searching for a hotel in proximity to Downtown Columbus. The rates for other hotels in Columbus were a bit outrageous. This Holiday Inn did have a very reasonable price in a great location! This Grove City area boasts several other hotels with fast food restaurants and shopping within a 2 mile radius. The hotel is very family friendly, and you can't beat the Holiday Inn breakfast which is included in each room rate. The hotel is pretty outdated and the rooms were not very clean. The bathroom in particular had spots of dirt that you wouldn't expect when the rooms are supposedly cleaned each day or each time a guest departs. As we were only in town for one night, it suited our needs in regards to budget and location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
CP, Thank you for taking the time to review our property after your stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the area and our Express Start Hot Breakfast. I am concerned by your comments about our hotel being outdated, as we completed a full renovation last summer. Also, I apologize that the cleanliness of our rooms were not up to your standards, we take these comments very seriously as we expect the best for our guests. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in town and see how great we can be.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
CP, Thank you for taking the time to review our property after your stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the area and our Express Start Hot Breakfast. I am concerned by your comments about our hotel being outdated, as we completed a full renovation last summer. Also, I apologize that the cleanliness of our rooms were not up to your standards, we take these comments very seriously as we expect the best for our guests. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in town and see how great we can be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, Safe, Easily accessible from Interstate.

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Location: Restaurants and shopping nearby.
Stay here frequently. Reasonable rates. Good service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by WILLIAM from Massillon, OH

would stay again

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
Spent one night stay our daughter was at state tournament.........Room was nice and also clean no issues....Would stay again breakfast good especially the coffee