Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Gek Soon

Good stay

Posted Dec 1, 2017 on Hotels
Design of the place is much keeping in line with the characteristic Suzhou garden feel. Breakfast is good.
5 out of 5
by yan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Top hotel in Suzhou but looks and feels tired

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Location and lovely landscape.
Cons: Rooms are rather small, need updating. No place to put suitcases to access. Provide choice of pillows. Have a western style coffee shop.
Location: Nice part of Suzhou a short walk from the Lingering Gardens
I had stayed at the Garden Hotel on my first trip to Suzhou many years ago. On my regular trips over the years, I stayed in another hotel selected by Suzhou locals. As I was unable to book my previous hotel, I was happy to return to The Garden as I was sure my Chinese born wife would enjoy it along with the wonderful city of Suzhou. The hotel was very comfortable with lovely garden surrounds but does show its age. Staff and related service were excellent. I was somewhat disappointed that little effort was made to cater for western tastes despite the fact that many of their clinets were westerners. At best, a western style cafe would have sufficed. I did try to order a coffee from the bar as I noted they had an expresso coffee machine, but the young lady lacked any working knowledge of coffees. Breakfast was adequate but again offered little directed to a western palate. After two weeks in central China, it would have been nice to indulge in some western food. We did enjoy a private banquet in their upstairs dining hall. I would like to suggest that Expedia review its marketing. It was only when I booked for this hotel that I was advised that only one breakfast was included in the charge despite booking for two people. I believe that is deceptive marketing. One would not expect to purchase a car and then find out the price only included the back tyres. The location of The Graden is very pleasant -- just a short stroll from the Lingering Garden. Another Suzhou delight.
4 out of 5
by Rangxian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Sasha

Clean, convenient and practical

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is located in very close proximity to the beautiful Lingering Garden, and its own garden was also very nice. Many amenities nearby (convenience stores, bakery, fruit store, bus stop, bank), although do note that the neighbourhood is old. Taxi ride from the train station won't take you too long. Staff is professional and smiling, always ready to help. The only minor drawback is the room itself, although it is clean and value-for-money given the convenience. You'll have to keep your expectations modest as the room is on the smaller side, and is slightly old. There was a faint musky smell throughout the hotel, although not unbearable (possibly the cleaning liquids they use?) Overall, it's clean and convenient - very practical. Good for a short stay in Suzhou to see the attractions.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice hotel unexpected

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: The food
Location: The location is superb. It is close to Railway Station, Liuyuan Garden and a bus stop.
I tried to book another five star hotel whose English name contains Garden Hotel. However, Expedia does not has the hotel in its list, and I ended up with a wrong booking. However, it turned out to be a nice mistake. Naturally, the room is not as luxury as the five-star hotel I intended, but it is clean and comfortable. In addition, its location is super, closing to Liuyuan Garden, the Station, and a bus stop. What I am most satisfied is the breakfast. Very Suzhou style. I love it! I love the lightly seasoned and a little bit sweet food. I will definitely book this hotel when I visit Suzhou.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Clean and nice ambiance.

Posted Jul 25, 2015
We had a great time staying at the hotel. The garden is very refreshing.
4 out of 5
by Jieyan from Canada


Posted Apr 24, 2015 on Hotels
It is good, hotel services is good as well.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Nice hotel with beautiful garden

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Hotel provides free shuttle services to most of the tourist attractions nearby
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels