Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Standard, not what you would expect.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Cons: Attention to requests.
Location: Not near the map they have, confusing.
Cheap prices, cheap hotel. You woud expect it to be at the quality of the other Camino REal, it is not.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Good spot to start your day

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Breakfast buffet, room size, open areas for kids to play, staff
We were in Guadalajara for some appointments for our family. The environment was great for the kids to hang out with the pools, the grassy areas to play, all secured in a walled compound. The breakfast buffet is a definite hit! Some nights there was street noise, but nothing more than you would experience in any city hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC USA

Very nice two story series of complexes with pools

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Beautiful courtyards, pools, great breakfast and friendly staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Wonderful hotel, but bring a good set of earplugs.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
The hotel is immaculate, the staff is great but unfortunately there must be some kind of railroad crossing near by. The trains kept blowing their horns constantly and waking me up. Couldn't rest at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An insult to the Camino Real brand.

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Terrible facilities, outdated hotel feels like a cheap motel. Rooms smell bad, stained carpets, terrible beds with poly sheets. 1980's bathrooms. Loud noises from heavilly trafficked road. No free wifi. Bad experience overall, this property is an insult to the Camino Real brand, which once was highly regarded. Not even worth the excellent deal expedia offers. I've been staying at the Camino Reals for 25 years and never before have I been this dissapointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Very nice place great food Service was very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Salvador

Great location, old hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: beds
amazing breakfast buffet, personal very helpful, well located, clean, but the rooms smell funky and my bed was horrible! i had pain in my back all the mornings
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice Hotel.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The gardens, the food, clean, staff is nice. Attractions are not far.
Location: It is around 30 minutes from downtown and around 20 minutes from expo Guadalajara. La Gran Plaza shopping center is about a 10 minute walk away.
Very nice hotel. Downtown is around 30 minutes away and Expo Guadalajara is around 20 minutes away. The food is good, the staff is very nice. It has very nice gardens that make your stay more pleasant. Also, there is a shopping center very close.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Europe

Visually beautiful hacienda type hotel. That could

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: - its style and friendly staff - food was ok - wi-fi access is in some cases needed to purchase separately, but the wi-fi is good in this hotel.
Cons: - the doors could seal better so the mosquitos couldn't get in. - the thermostats in some rooms are locked to 18,5°C - why?
Location: In the vincinity there is a big mall. For sightseeing one has to go to the Guadalajara center, which is quite beautiful.
Visually impressive but you can't go to sleep until you kill all the mosquitos in the room. I don't know how a hotel for USD $100 per night can afford that. Lots of splattered bugs on the walls. So I reserved super saver room. And had to pay extra for wi-fi?! But not all was bad. Food was good and personell was friendly and helpful. Lots of taxis near hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel does not deserve the Camino Real brand

Posted Sep 14, 2016
The receptionist did not geeet us at our arrival. One of them was on the phone and the other did not acknowledge our presence when she came towards the front desk and she answered the phone instead. As soon as we arrived to the room , a smell of humidity hit us in the face. The toilet did not flush properly and a disgusting smell was coming out of the bathroom at all times. At 7 am we were awake as the staff was yelling to each other or talking on their radios with loud voices , it happened that one of the rooms was flooded and all the water from the hallway came inside our room , no one could explain to us what happened and when we called to the front desk the lady at room service answered our call. She just kept telling she was sorry and she couldn't explain to us what was going on. We never heard from a manager or supervisor and no one was able to give us an apology for disturbing our sleep and getting our luggage wet for the flood . We decided to leave the hotel immediately. At our check out the front desk cleck wanted us to charge us again for parking even though we paid when we registered. Again no explanation or a proper apology from the staff. This hotel is old , the rooms need to be updated and the front desk staff needs to learn how to deal with situations like this. A terrible and disappointing experience.