Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Very helpful staff, with great recommendations on sites to visits and restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Value for Dollar in downtown

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
John the owner provides a great introduction to the property. It is very comfortable and has a nice breakfast. It would be nice to have orange juice for breakfast and coffee a bit stronger but otherwise a superb value close to downtown. It is a few blocks back from the main areas so be prepared to walk a bit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Natural orange, mango, pineapple or peach juice is served daily and the coffee is my own unique mix.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from USA

Great atmosphere and location

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, environment, secure, very clean, very quiet, very welcoming, breakfast served daily, great WIFI connectivity.
Cons: As noted above, guest fridge & microwave, ice available, etc.
Very welcoming and friendly staff. Owner has done a wonderful job of decorating and creating a warm welcoming environment that is secure and worry free. In my opinion, environment is great and structured around a shorter stay verses a longer stay (like ours) in that, other than breakfast any type of food and/or drink needs to be obtained and pretty much consumed off-site. Having some sort of accommodations for quests whereby they can obtain ice for their water would be helpful. Perhaps consider some sort of a guest designated fridge whereby guests could bring a sandwich, a dessert or leftovers back to have at a later time verses having to go out again later and obtain something. Along these lines perhaps also have a guest designated microwave & coffee/tea station with some disposable silverware and napkins. The hotel has some very welcoming tables & chairs in common areas whereby guests could enjoy having something lite to eat that they provided for themselves but current environment & amenities are not conducive to this.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Your host, John, Hotel Management
Dear guests, I am pleased that you enjoyed the environment, decoration, and common areas of the hotel. I informed you when you arrived that I provide coolers with ice packs and ice buckets with ice for drinks upon request. I also informed you that kitchen privileges are not provided. Your recommendations are more suitable for apartments or hotels that have rooms with kitchenettes. Cleanliness, odors, bugs, and available space are just a few of the considerations why I do not provide refrigerator and microwave privileges to guests.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mark from New York City

Lovely place, excellent service, central location

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed here two nights and was really impressed with the attentive service from the owner, who is on site. He provided me with detailed maps and lists of top tourist sites as well as gay nightlife, all of which was within walking distance of the hotel, which is set in a historic former home with a beautiful courtyard. Rooms have super-high ceilings, and WiFi and continental breakfast are free (breakfast is served until noon, which I loved!). Overall, very reasonable prices for a lovely little hotel that's very central to historic sites in the city center as well as gay nightlife. Thumbs up!
5 out of 5
by matthew from LAS VEGAS, NV

GREAT STAY

Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
3 days to explore GDL. hotel seemed as if is the best place for the area. owner took time to individually meet guest and offer suggestions on what to do and see. would definately stay here again. very quiet, charming, relaxing and breakfast was nice. no guest services as this place is more like renting a room in a personal home. staff has limited english yet you can easily get what you need from the personal attention of the owner who lives on the premises.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Guadalajara

Posted Mar 11, 2016 on Hotels
Guadalajara was a surprise! Pedestrian friendly with art, fountains, monuments museums, cathedral, squares.
5 out of 5
by Allan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Douglas from San Francisco

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
John is a great host. He keeps the building beautiful and functional.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels