Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Lisa from Vancouver

"Never judge a book by its cover."

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
As often is the case with haciendas in Mexico, curb appeal can be counterproductive Behind these quotidian walls exists a beautiful 19th century hacienda with excellent and very personal service. With an outstanding chef and hotel staff, one could not be better accommodated in this lovely little lakeside pueblo. Book ahead as there are very few rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Probably nicest hotel in town

Posted Jan 4, 2016
This is a beautiful and unique property and they treat you extremely well. The gardens and the pool provide a very relaxing atmosphere. Umberto was especially welcoming and gracious. Would stay again when next visiting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2015
great hotel. reminds me of Bel Air hotel in LA.
5 out of 5
by HUGO from El Paso, TX

One of the greatest places to stay

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
Simply great, everything, the place is awesome, the service more than expected.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2015 by Tony, Hotel Management
Hi Hugo, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon.
5 out of 5
by Melvin from Hoboken, NJ

Ajijic Stay

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
The place is genuinely beautiful as is the town itself. The owner is gracious and helpful. Perfect for a romantic getaway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2015 by Tony, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to hosting you again very soon.
2 out of 5
by Pamela from Oro Valley, AZ

Not what their website claims

Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels
The Place itself was lovely, altho its not really a hotel ,almost like a large hacienda. Clean and comfortable, but no services whatsoever. No restaurant, no bar, not even a cup of coffee was available, unless you like Nescafe in your room. The courtyard was so dark I couldn't see to get my key in the lock. Our host was rarely around, and all of the common areas were kept locked and dark when he was not present. Being I was a solo traveler the first few days, it was unnerving. We left on day 4 of our 7 day reservation once my husband joined me. Would not return. Its a shame as its quite a lovely property in the village.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2015 by Tony, Hotel Management
We want to sincerely apologise for your less than perfect experience. Unfortunately at the time of your stay we (the owners) had to be away for a family emergency and our former manager didn't hold up our extremely high standards. Since your visit our restaurant has re-opened with full bar service and we have installed timers and light sensors on all of our outdoor lighting so as avoid staff not turning on outdoor and landscape lighting at the appropriate times. We have also installed speakers throughout the gardens and common areas for continual ambient music to add to relaxing Hacienda garden setting. Please do visit us again. We are confident that you will be extremely pleased with the numerous upgrades to the installations as well as service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelly from Victoria BC Canada

Tranquil setting, top-notch ambiance

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Cons: The wifi was a bit unpredictable - sometimes it worked and other times was very slow.
Location: The location was quite convenient - a few blocks to the beach, and many shops and restaurants nearby.
I loved this hotel! It is very small, with I believe only 3 rooms, so be sure to book well in advance. We stayed in the "Casita" which I would highly recommend. It was beautifully decorated and had a large living room/bedroom area, plus a very well-organized kitchen and eating bar. The shower was great, with lots of hot water and beautiful tiles. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever experienced in a Mexican hotel! Also, they have Apple TV so I was able to watch the Canadian men's and women's hockey finals which was awesome. The grounds are meticulously maintained, with beautiful statutes, fountains, foliage and a small pool. When you step through the gate into the hotel courtyard it is like entering an oasis!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from New Castle, DE 19720, USA

Hacienda del Lago

Posted Jun 5, 2013
Pros: Good staff and great room.
Cons: Somewhat noisy from the restaurant at night.
Location: The hotel is located in the village of Ajijic. About 3 blocks from the lake.
This hotel is in a great location close to everything in Ajijic. The grounds were very lush in a hacienda style. The room was very spacious. There was a stove and a refrigerator. We were served a great breakfast I could categorize as gourmet. The breakfast was not served on Monday, as the kitchen was closed. The one knock on the place was that there was a restaurant on the premises and sometimes it was noisy. All in all it was a great stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Personal excelente!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extraordinaria experiencia

Posted Mar 22, 2016
En general estupendo, atención de primera así como las instalaciones, sería genial que manejan el servicio de spa.