Ratings based on 360 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017
The room was terribly hot, the air conditioner did not work, the staff was not as friendly as I had hoped, and the location was horrible.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was not in a safe part of town.

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Experience was overall ok. I was initially given a room that wreaked of cigarette smoke and I had to go back down to the lobby to let them know. They were very quick and accommodating but I feel that the cleaning person should have informed someone about the room and all rooms are suppose to be smoke free.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Border of historic and construction zone

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Good location if you like to walk in historic centers. Lots of shops and Resteraunt. Subway system in Begining stage of construction so couple blocks surrounding will probably be in a construction zone for another decade. Mine was an inside room so quite. Safe, quiet, clean and very well maintained. Staff was very friendly but spoke no English, therefore not at all helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago Il

Cheap, clean and friendly

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Friendly and Clean
Cons: mattress more softer maybe ?
Location: Close to San Juan market (Mercado San Juan) .. La Chata restaurant . and many more Historic downtown, Cabañas Hospice gdl cathedral
I spent a week there. is very close to historic downtown just a few blocks away.. restaurants close by too. the staff is very friendly . Hotel is simple but clean. big king size bed, tv its ok..the restaurant is good enough the mattress it was a little too hard but good. the bathroom too small do ! (for 2 people) Many restaurants and taco stands close by a little noise sometimes, but what the heck ! god enough I will visit again and spend time there next year for sure thanks !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Too much noise by people who are allowed in thw hotel without beibg guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C.

Affordable but Sketchy Location

Posted Dec 10, 2016
The hotel was a 8-9 minute walk to the Liberation Plaza and that's a cool thing. The food and service in the small hotel restaurant was quite average. There's construction and renovation in neighborhood creating dust and blocked access in places. The hotel neighborhood was crawling with suspicious characters after dark and my taxi driver warned me not to walk around the area after dark. nobody carried my bags to my room- but that's ok- I'm a big boy. However, there seemed to be little sense of service or overt friendliness. Everybody was straight faced and neutral in their attitude. Smiles are free Hotel Alcazar- employ them a little.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff, nice hotel.

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel and the people that worked there were nice. The women who worked in the restaurant were very friendly. The housekeeping staff kept the room very clean. One issue I had was that Hotels.com advertised this property as having an in-room safe, and this wasn't the case. This is the second hotel that I've booked that advertises an in-room safe and the second time this was not available. As I've indicated before, this is a deal-breaking issue for me when I book. I pass over any property that doesn't have an in-room safe. So when it's advertised and I get to the property and they don't have one, this makes me lose faith in what Hotels.com advertises for these hotels. Please correct the listing for this hotel as having this amenity. I didn't have any issues with theft, however having an in-room safe alleviates anxiety I have for my passport and money while in another country. In the particular room I was in, the Wi-Fi was spotty, I had to go to the common area where the signal was very strong in order to get a good signal. Again, the staff was very friendly and the hotel was in very good condition.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A great find in downtown Guadalajara!

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Alcazar was a great find and my stay was wonderful. The staff was all friendly and helpful!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
Was so good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cayey, Puerto Rico

Excellent Hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2016
This hotel is an excellent place when visiting Guadalajara. My wife and I estate for 11 days during the 2006 Mariachi Festival. The staff was excellent, very corteous and friendly. The Romo was kept impecably clean. Only a short walking distance from tve Cathedral, Wax Museum adn other places ofrece interest. We are planning to return next year adn would highly recommend it to our family adn friends. Miguel Bey Palmer Carey, Puerto Rico