Ratings based on 876 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great overall experience

Posted May 16, 2017
This hotel is a gem. The beds were so comfortable we were extremely happy. We stayed 5 night and housekeeping did an awesome job keeping our room clean. We ordered room service and visited the restaurant and the good was very tasty. Alcohol beverages were tasty. Will return for sure!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cuernavaca

Not Expedia VIP

Posted May 2, 2017
The place is old and noisy, not very well located in a dark neighborhood. There are many better hotels in Guadalajara, even in the same area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tijuana

Nice hotel right at downtown

Posted May 2, 2017
Location: Right at downtown, within a 5-10 minute walk to the Cathedral and other touristic attractions.
Location is great; most of the touristic attractions are walkable from here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monterrey

Not a VIP Expedia Hotel.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The cleanliness of the hotel, the staff was very nice and helpful, and the price I paid it is worth.
Cons: I think is a lie to be considered a VIP hotel
Location: The hotel is located between downtown and Chapultepec street but is not close enough to any touristic place.
The hotel is classified as a VIP Expedia, which I would like to know under what criteria. Small hotel, old fashion, nothing close around unless you walk 10 minutes. An excellent money value rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great value and worth the stay!

Posted Apr 12, 2017
I read numerous reviews online before picking the Hotel Plaza Casino. While a bit more expensive than the other hotels I reviewed, it was worth every penny. The hotel definitely lives up to the reviews it receives, with a very professional staff. The staff were incredibly hospitable and helpful. The buffet breakfast was great and the hotel impeccably clean. There was little noise and I was able to relax. I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again. The Hotel Plaza Casino is also off the subway line (Juarez stop) and is about a 10 minute walk to the plaza de la Universidad-the historic center of the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Clean, modern hotel on edge of historical district

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Rooms were spacious and clean. Hotel staff was friendly. Excellent location for seeing historic district and university area. Cheap taxi everywhere.
Cons: The beds were doubles, too small for my wife and me. Moved rooms to get a single bed added. Loud bar music on north side of hotel, quiet on south side
Location: Walking 10 minutes directly east takes you to the main historic district and shopping area. West 20 minutes takes you to bars and restaurants.
Nice hotel in good location. Our first room had 2 beds for my wife, me and our 18 year old daughter, but the beds were only doubles, much too small for 2 typical Americans. Our first room was on the street side, facing south, and it was quiet. They moved us the next day to a larger room that had 2 doubles and a single. It was a nice room, but it was on the north side of the building. We didn't realize the street behind the hotel has several dance clubs that play VERY LOUD thumping music each night. Fortunately, we had ear plugs, which helped, but didn't block out everything. Then hotel staff was very nice. The hotel was clean and it was nice to have a breakfast restaurant on the 1st floor, though we also liked eating a block away at Chic. A supermarket is 3 blocks away. You'll need to buy drinking water since the hotel only gives a small bottle each day. I'd stay here again for the location and good conditions, but would definitely ask for a quiet room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota, USA

Great hotel located close to the Cathedral.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Nice, large up to date rooms.
Cons: Maybe a few more English speaking TV channels available.
Location: Located minutes from the Cathedral, shopping, restaurants, and the Zoo.
We recently stayed at this hotel for the second year in a row. Some of the staff actually remembered us from last year. The staff is friendly, courteous and trust-worthy. A nice restaurant is located inside the hotel, which was very convenient. Nice, clean facilities and the parking garage was a plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Henderson, Nevada

Far exceeded my expectations!

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness; location; excellent staff!
Cons: It would be nice to have an ice machine!
Location: Walking distance to stores; restaurants; downtown is a must-see; will not disappoint!
With little knowledge of Guadalajara, I was unsure as to where to go; safety and shopping close by was a main priority. The "Hotel Casino Plaza" far exceeded my expectations; this place was a perfect fit! The staff were wonderful and accommodating; language was not a barrier; the hotel was much cleaner that most that I stay in while in the states; the rooms were extremely comfortable; and shopping, subways and buses were nearby. The restaurant inside the hotel was very nice with good food. Also, if you want a late night snack, the outdoor taco stand around the corner had some of the best tacos I've had in a while. If I could give this place a higher rating than five stars I would do so; Above all; I felt very safe staying here and will definitely recommended this place to anyone who plans on visiting Guadalajara!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, Texas

Amazing Quality for the Price

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: I have never encountered such a professional staff from the maids to the receptionists.
Cons: Just one little thing, a refrigerator in the room would be nice. Considering how wonderful the rest of the hotel is, I'm surprised by this omission.
Location: The hotel is exactly seven blocks from the Cathedral Guadalajara. Essentially, it's in a perfect location.
I chose this hotel based on other reviews I'd read on Expedia. If anything, these reviews downplayed the quality of the hotel. The condition of the room was superb especially for the price. But, the professionalism of the staff was the best aspect of staying here. They helped me in so many ways. First of all, I had an illness at the beginning of my stay. Not only did a staff member refer me to a pharmacy but they also wrote down my symptoms in Spanish. Next, I had some difficulty with a tour company but the hotel resolved this immediately and made me whole. Finally, I wanted to travel to a remote location in a neighboring state. The staff found a reliable driver for me at a reasonable price. I can't say enough about the quality of service they provided. Management must really be doing something right. I cannot imagine staying in another hotel in Guadalajara nor even in Mexico! There's no way anyone else could do it better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in central and safe location

Posted Mar 28, 2017
The hotel is located right on the Centro district and easy walk to any point of interests. The staffs were polite and helpful. The room was nice and clean but a little noisy because of the thin walls, but overall this was a pleasant stay. I would definitely stay here again whenever I visit the beautiful city of Guadalajara!