Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Susan

Nice Parador if you can find your way around it!

Posted Sep 28, 2017 on Hotels
This Parador is a beautiful building and the rooms were very spacious. We had a balcony with a view of the mountains which was lovely. We did have difficulty originally finding the Parador because we arrived at the weekend and the roads through the town are blocked off every Saturday and Sunday (would have been nice to know this beforehand). The building itself is huge and it was quite common to find yourself wandering around looking for the way to your room, the swimming pool, or even the way out! (we met other people doing who were also lost in the building!). A little more direction from the staff in this regard might help. Struggled with Wifi in the room.
5 out of 5
by Chrissy

Perfect Homebase for Monastery and/or Extramadura

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is incredible. We could have spent our entire time in Guadalupe just hanging out in the hotel. The grounds are breathtaking, with a swimming pool and outdoor restaurant. The rooms were very spacious and typically Spanish with a balcony that overlooked the monastery. The local people are very courteous and helpful. It is located directly across the street from the monastery. The restaurant is excellent, as is the breakfast buffet. There is also an inner courtyard for parking. None of these things are free, but they are worth the money. Although we were there to see Our Lady of Guadalupe and the monastery, we spoke to other people who were using Guadalupe as a home base to explore the Extramadura region.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

serene and meditative

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Beautiful courtyard with orange trees, tiles, fountains. Staff generously offered to take our luggage to our car.
Cons: The room was a bit overheated, had to climb on a table to open a window. Parking is expensive, so try the street!
Location: The tour of the monastery is very worthwhile.
We stayed only 1 night, but it was very nice. No bar, though...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful parador next to the monastery.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best place in town

Posted Oct 5, 2015
The building itself, an old monastery, is espectacular, I always recommend the Paradores. However, they have aspects to improve. Internet wasn't working, apparently for 2 days, and they didn't mention it during check in. They also forgot some towels the second day People in the staff are friendly, they will do their job, but they will not go the extra mile to help you. Good experience over all.
5 out of 5
by Steven

Lovely hotel in great location

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
This is a really nice Parador with very good rooms (ours with a balcony overlooking the delightful garden) and a nice (decent-sized for swimming) unheated outdoor pool in the summer months. It's location is fantastic right next to the Monastery/church and main square but with easy parking on site. The restaurant (which we did not try) and (reasonably-priced!) bar (which we did) have tables in a beautiful cloister courtyard sheltered by citrus trees. Guadalupe itself is a much nicer place than I had imagined with nice shops full of local produce and a quiet square to eat out in the evening though very I'm sure very busy with pilgrims and tourists during weekend afternoons. The monastery too is well worth a visit. It is quite a way off the main road network but the surrounding hills are very nice and it makes a very nice stopover en route from Madrid or the North of Spain to the Southwest.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

best address in the area

Posted Jun 10, 2015 on Hotels
A very nice XVI building just in front of the Cathedral. Good service. Some rooms have a great view. Small swimmingpool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Nice parador near center of town.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Location, overall ambiance. The bathroom was particularly updated--more than the room.
Cons: Some of the interior room design.
Location: Great little mountain town. Good for a short visit. Probably very good for a honeymoon. Very nice drive to get there (though lots of windy roads)
While the interior design of the room is not the newest, it is comfortable and very well kept. The interior of the hotel and lobby area was very nice. Parking was convenient and staff was very helpful. We were met in the parking lot upon our arrival and guided up to the reception. In particular, our visit was during the week of Semana Santa (very busy), but it went quite well.
5 out of 5
by brian from Lincolnshire

Nice hotel in a nice historic town.

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels
One of the better paradors in one of the better locations.
4 out of 5
by Colin007 from Spain

Only arrive with a small car

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was fine like most Paradores but the roads leaving the hotel were very narrow and steep. Do not drive if you have a large car or a sports car as you will cause damage