Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PARIS

Posted Jun 5, 2016
HOTEL DE CHARME PROCHE DES RESTAURANTS ET AU CENTRE DE L'ILE : BON POINT DE DEPART POUR L'EXPLORATION DE L'ILE PAPILLON
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from French in Haiti

Wonderful welcome and amazing view

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: The view ! and the excellent level of service and friendliness.
Cons: The hairdryers in the rooms could be better; the end part has a tendancy to go off.
I stayed at Auberge de la Vieille Tour 2 different nights in a week, and I almost felt like home ! The staff at reception is adorable, warm and professional. The view is breathtaking, the food really good - lunch, diner or the very complete and nice morning buffet. Anselme the barman makes up special cocktails, every day a different one, and is very friendly. Oh ! and the view... The rooms also are great, with enough space, very comfortable beds, tea/ coffee and a minibar. Hard to leave them, but there is a nice little beach waiting for us ! At the beauty salon, they were already fully booked butnicely arranged for a massage in my room with an external, very professional masseur, whose service was well appreciated. What more can I say... I loved this place and cannot wait to come back !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great Hotel and wonderful staff

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: The view from the terrace of the restaurant/breakfast area. The room quality was a plus and the wonderful staff. The great hygiene of the room.
Cons: bathroom of the room could be refreshed
Location: Le Gosier is a nice place, safe, and with some restaurants (le Tamarin, l'Affirmatif, entre terre et mer...). There is a night market there on Friday
We had a wonderful 10 days stay in this hotel. The hotel was well located in 'Le Gosier'. The breakfast terrace is simply wonderful, with bougainvillier, a view on the sea and Gosier Island. The staff was more than helpful and willing to go beyond their way to help. The only slight negative was the bathroom which was a bit dated and the private beach had quite big waves (i.e. no snorkelling possible and quite a bit of algae). You do need a car there, like everywhere in Guadeloupe as the bus service is quite rare. There is plenty of parking available. I would rebook there anytime, loved it! Super hôtel au Gosier, les employés sont très sympa et professionnels, toujours attentionnés et prêts à aider. La terrasse pour le petit déjeuner était tout simplement superber avec fleurs et vue sur l'île du Gosier, je recommande sans réserve! (petit moins la plage privée avec pas mal de vagues et des algues dues au courant/ vagues)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PARIS

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Hôtel très agréable, petite plage tranquille et piscine desquelles on peut observer les pélicans. Accueil de qualité.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

Excellent staff- friendly and helpful

Posted Apr 2, 2016
Pros: European atmosphere and wonderful staff. Water views. Food is excellent -breakfast, beach snacks, and dinner.
Cons: Rooms could use updating. The extensive stairs to and from the beach are daunting for elderly or disabled.
Location: Limited nearby. Although the driving can be "white knuckle" and a lot of traffic, advise visitors that a car is a must to get to island locations.
The hotel accomodated our desire for a better room. The "superior room" did not have a great water view, was close to a parking area, and the bathroom was small. Upon our request for a change we were placed ina "Privilege" room which had a great view, was quiet, and a much improved bathroom. Wonderful european breakfasts served in the morning. Excellent restaurant and beach snack bar. Very comfortable small private beach with lounge chairs. A car is a must and the hotel staff will contact Hertz for guests and Hertz personnel will pick you up at the hotel and allow you to return the car by simply leaving it in the hotel parking lot (a taxi can be taken to the airport which is much easier and quicker). It would be helpful to visitors if they can speak and read some French although Guadeloupians are friendly and make an effort to understand English and some menus have a brief English explanation and some restaurants have an English menu.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent hideaway close to Pointe-à-Pitre

Posted Mar 26, 2016
Pros: A very warm welcome at the characterful entrance - with ice cold towels and a complementary drink. Our "privilege" room was large and comfortable.
Cons: Bathrooms just a little "tired" - may need refurbishment soon.
Location: Very quick on to the main highway and then both "wings" of Guadeloupe are in easy reach. (Try to avoid the rush hour though!)
We wanted a good hotel, with pool and beach, well located as a sight seeing base from which to range across Guadeloupe by car. This ticked all the boxes - and we found the food to be excellent as well - above expectations, even for a French resort. And that included the breakfasts!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

not a four star resort. grumpy staff, unclean.

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Pros: lobster dinner
Cons: staff attitude. room cleaning.
Location: small beach.
front-end staff was nice and helpful. restaurant and bar staff grumpy and inattentive. food was decent. room was fairly comfortable, but NOT CLEAN to the point of my bare feet putting black dirt on my white sheets. we decided not to stay the next day and enjoy the pool, because it seemed unfriendly. the beach was tiny. it worked for one night after the airport, but it was too expensive for such uncleanliness and rudeness for an overnighter. would have taken something half the price with the same poor review instead. the REST of out trip away from this joint was great. We loved Guadeloupe.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Clean, comfortable rooms with small beach area. Nice pool and beach restaurant. Hotel restaurant nice breakfast buffet (ask for included crepes!) lots of stairs though to beach/pool and some rooms.