Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2016
The hotel location is really good with beautiful beaches around. All the staff members were very nice. The swimming pool is lovely as the breakfast area from where you have a wonderful view on the sea. The room was a bit disapointing though: the bed was not comfortable with some stains on the bed sheet and cover, and the kitchen utensils were out of age. We also had to pay cleaning fees which was not mentioned when we booked.
3 out of 5
by ramey

Posted Dec 11, 2015 on Hotels
If you do not speak French you won't be able to communicate with staff very well. The front desk closed early and left our room open with the key in it. The rooms are far from one another they are bungalows with two floors so another group/individual will be above or below you. The property is not gated. There is no wifi. As two young girls arriving late we had difficulty finding our room and even though the island is probably very safe we didn't feel particularly comfortable so removed and on a ground floor on a property with no hate and no 24/7 staff.
1 out of 5
by ARY from Boston

AVOID - Not a hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
Would never stay again. Highly advise American tourists against going. - Room dirty (toilet not clean, random sock on floor, cigarette holes in sheets, mold in shower) - Staff can barely speak English. Communication was very difficult - No bottled water in room, or available for purchase on premises - They do not clean room or make beds -- this is your responsibility - To change towels you had to bring to front desk (not always open) - They do not provide beach towels - Lots of bugs - Broken glass and empty bottles around patio - Have to pay a local tax in cash and cash deposit on arrival - Requested two twins and was provided with one queen. When asked if they could correct they said no problem and never did it. - Left at 5am for early flight and all of the lights on the property were off -- pitch black. Had to use phone flashlight to navigate path to car. - Not really near anything This place is more like a poorly run hostel with a nice pool. Worth $40/night at most.
1 out of 5
by Derrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Øyvind from oslo

Stay away from this hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
Very unpleasant experience at this hotel. 1 star for this place seems to be correct. 30 hours without water in the room, extremely bad wifi, staff lazy and not willing to fix problems, worst hotel I have stayed at Rooms ( 2 bedrooms were OK ) and the beds were OK.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from London

Fantastic location and view minutes from the beach

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: The staff, the location, the kitchen outdoor.
Cons: The road is a bit steep to get to the hotel.
Location: Lots of gorgeous beaches, cute restaurants in Deshaies (village nearby), easy access to the beautiful southern side of the island and the mountain.
I went to this hotel with my girlfriend for a week of holidays in Guadeloupe and it was fantastic. First and foremost, the staff is very friendly, caring and helpful. We were arriving very late at night and they made sure that everything was very well setup for us. The location is great. There are quite a lot of beaches within 10 minutes drive, a couple are less than five minutes. Beware, all these beaches have some great waves. If you don't like that it may be something to think about. But the beaches feel very exclusive and are stunning. The view from the hotel is absolutely gorgeous. We had no mosquito issues in the room which was very nice. They didn't manage to sneak in. The rooms are spacious and they all have a terrace with a kitchen. This is great in the evenings when you want to try your culinary skills with local ingredients.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by zetor

really great hotel !!!

Posted Jan 27, 2013
Pros: clean, nicely furnished, helpful staff
Location: Location is just brilliant !. Just few kilometers to our favorite beach on Gwada - Grande Anse.
We stayed in this hotel for 8 days and all stay was lovely !. Please be aware that rooms are "studio" type. So they have fully equipped outdoor kitchen where you can prepare your meals. There is a swimming pool but of course we were not using it as there are so many lovely beaches there. Lady at the reception is really nice as she speaks English which is extraordinary on Guadeloupe :) Honestly i can not say any bad word about this hotel. I put some photos of the room we had so you can have a look how it looks like. Of course if sea view is a must for you, you should tell them upfront so they can organize this for you. One thing regarding location. Hotel is situated on the hill not close to a beach that you can just walk to on foot. You have to have a car but i suppose everybody has a car as it is a must being on Gwada.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Relaxing

Posted Jun 12, 2012
Relaxing, quiet and well maintained, avoid room 4.1 as it gets the fridge contents eaten by cat!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Caraibes Bonheur near Deshaies - Recommended

Posted Apr 15, 2012 on Hotels
Very good experience at Hotel Caraibes Bonheur. Recommended. The hotel is located on top of a little hill in the middle of tropical plants and trees, so the environment is very pleasant (although you can sometimes hear the noise from the road and not all rooms have a sea view, but these are minor drawbacks). There is a swimming poll and the closest beach is a 10-15 min walk. The rooms are also clean and new, and staff is very friendly.