Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Well-kept gardens - short walk to beach

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: It was lovely.
Cons: There should be beach towels available and laundry facilities for guests to use. There should be electric kettles.
Location: Grande Anse is a lovely beach
This suited us but take into consideration this is not really a hotel. We were a family group and so could have individual rooms/cottages but still eat together on the terrace. On the plus-side, the gardens were beautiful, the rooms worked for us and there was a lovely view from the terrace over the mountains and rain forest. There is a fridge, a filter coffee machine and a tea pot.There is free parking on site. On the negative side, the room was only cleaned once in 7 days so be prepared. Also, the kitchen was supposed to have a microwave (it didn't) and there was no kettle (we had a travelling kettle) but otherwise, it was extremely well-equipped and there was no problem cooking a meal for my family on the two gas burners. There are NO beach towels. Breakfast was very expensive and there was much better value in town if you have a car to get there, or you can buy bread from the garage at the end of the drive. Do not forget that this hotel is in the rain forest and so it rains A LOT - everyday and several times a day - but that is why the scenery is so green and lush.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in a great spot

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: The grounds are gorgeous, with buildings and gardens done in very good taste. The pool area is wonderful, surrounded by beautiful and mature trees
Cons: Hot water often ran out after 8 pm. Not sure why, maybe they have a solar heating system.
Location: It was the perfect place from which to explore Basse-Terre, in our opinion the best of the two large islands.
We spent a wonderful week there at the end of December. The staff members spoke English and were very friendly and helpful. There are beautiful beaches nearby. The village of Deshais is lovely, very charming with good restaurants by a beautiful small harbor. The hotel's restaurant is also excellent. Shopping for groceries is very easy at Deshais, and the outdoor kitchens in each of the hotel units are great, well equipped with everything needed. Ours had a beautiful view of the lush vegetation and the ocean (which made it well worth the steep climb!).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from O

Relaxing hotel close to beach

Posted Dec 14, 2016
We stayed in an apartment style room at this hotel. It was quite the hike up a big hill to get to the room, but once we arrived it was breathtaking. Our balcony looked over endless trees, mountains, and the ocean down below. The beach was a 5 minute walk from the hotel and there are plenty of lunch spots nearby, all which are good. My only complaints are: 1) there is no bar at the hotel during the day, only after 6pm 2) there is no nightlife nearby, this is the tranquil side of the island 3) you really need to rent a car! This isn't a complaint, just a strong suggestion. It'll save you taxi fare and will allow you to venture to the more lively parts of the island if that's your thing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Great Caribbean getaway

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Wonderful place to stay. Minutes from beaches and restaurants. The grounds and pool are very well maintained and the staff are nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 22, 2016
The staff was very welcoming, considerate helpful.I was assigned a large family room so I would not have to move from a little room the first night to a studio standard,as I had booked. This was extremely kind and generous
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from huntingdon cambs

One for a quiet life

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Peace and quiet no larger louts very friendly staff who spoke mainly French but could speak some English and went to great lengths to make us welcome.
Cons: Bed very hard, if you're not fit the steep paths to rooms is tough, our room very basic but only there to eat and sleep.
Location: As we were out of season most restaurants in Deshaies were closed and not to many shops except local ones open, not a place if you want nightlife.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant 17 days

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Location: some good restaurants in Deahaies
itink the best part of the stay was Claudio the Owner who several times went out of his way to be hrlpful. A real sweet guy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

paradise

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Cons: Staff were polite but not over friendly
never been to heaven but when I get there if I get there this would be my expectation . Food, location and view just leave you speacheless
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: It's location. The 3 bedroom option is passable but the family "studios" should be avoided at all costs.
Cons: Cleanliness, food, Internet, staff ... Just start over!
Location: Lovely beaches nearby. Try the beach at Fort Royal. Better yet, stay there.
Beware that the hotel will immediately charge a 30% deposit and then will ignore your emails. Upon arrival, you will find desk staff that have no idea how long you are staying for, inedible breakfasts foisted upon you, dingy rooms with no water pressure, dodgy toilets and anemic air conditioning. Night staff try to make up for the day staff's unresponsiveness but this run down establishment needs a complete retrofit to be habitable. A shrug of the shoulders is the only response you will get to the cramped, poorly lit rooms where you will hear everything your neighbors are doing. It is simply ridiculous to be told that wifi is unavailable in the rooms - where you will desperately try to book elsewhere as soon as you arrive. You will need to double check your bill before leaving and make sure they actually remember to deduct that deposit - our first bill didn't reflect it at all and it was only several hours after my initial request that I finally received a proper bill. And don't get me started on the food. Overpriced and largely inedible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Everything we could have hoped for!

Posted Jan 2, 2016
The perfect balance between self catering and having the option to dine in their restaurant for breakfast and dinner (although you need to ask in advance, with good reason!) The nearest town just 2 minute drive to pick up pastries in the morning and the nearest beach about 5 minutes walk. An incredible feeling of being in the south of France and the Caribbean. Something very nostalgic and very new for us! We drove all over the island and concluded it was the perfect location for quiet and beautiful beaches. And definitely one of the best hotels. Hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful, reception staff spoke both French and English, which was a relief as the heat was slowing down my translating faculties somewhat! The pool was secluded by palm trees giving a very relaxed feel and the local wildlife was completely relaxed too. Couldn't have asked for more!