Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Our upgraded rooms were fabulous, lovely grounds, good location if you want to stay on Grand Terre. Nice helpful friendly staff. Clean hotel
Cons: Access from the pool to the bar, having to walk over wobbly stepping-stones is not very clever.
Location: Quite a touristy side of the island but lots of places to explore. Beaches with waves, good for surfing.
Lovely clean hotel, friendly, helpful staff, good location, nice pool, nice food, good rooms. I would totally recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

A quiet retreat nestled in a hillside

Posted Apr 1, 2016
This hotel was exactly what I needed, a place to relax and unwind. The accommodations are all separate and secluded and each has its own kitchen and private outdoor deck. The French-Creole hotel restaurant Is above average. The hotel staff are responsive, happy and eager to please. Spa services are exceptional and the gym is well-equipped. If you're looking for nightlife and a clubby atmosphere, you'll need to go away from La Toubana. I like that the hotel doesn't in any way cater to English speaking tourists. Most guests seem to come from France or other francophone countries. There is no gift shop. If you're not in good shape physically, one drawback could be the need to walk up and down very steep inclines in order to get around the property. Also, aside from the beach and the pool, there are no real activities for children - so leave them at home.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ocean views

Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
This is a wonderful hotel with terrific ocean views. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the morning's breakfast presented a nice variety of foods. A delightful stay!
4 out of 5
by Elide from Rio de Janeiro

La Toubana

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
Staff was great. Restaurant was quite delicious. Hotel was under some repair since it was at the end of the low season, otherwise well maintained. Recommend
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi, UAE

It has the potential but did not deliver

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Lack of management and coordination. The lady at the reception was awful, unhelpful and could not be bordered. I would not recommend... Killed about 20 Mosquitos on the first night and had over 100 cars park on the lawn opposition the room due to a beach party. No previous warning of the party and it meant we could not use the beach on that day. Beach is really nice, but beach lounges are reserved for hotel members not guests!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Great hotel, out of the way place.

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Fantastic stay, great service friendly staff. Our reservation was a little mixed up and our room wasn't ready for us so we had to move after the first night, then we had a double instead of a twin. But when we told them, they did sort it out. For me the beds were not very comfy - but that may be just me! You will need a car as this hotel is high on a hill and a good distance from anything. But this island is worth exploring so that shouldn't be a problem! La Toubana has great views, a fab restaurant and as I have said the staff are fantastic! So generally a great Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Casalan

Nice experience

Posted Jul 28, 2010 on Orbitz
We actually rented a car and discovered the Island on our own. We were back to the hotel at night and did not use all the aminities offered. I wish the bathroom would have a closed shower cabin. The view on the bay from our bungalow was terrific, and the moon reflecting on the water, magic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington

Gorgeous setting with privacy.

Posted Apr 16, 2010
We had a fabulous private bungalow with a huge deck overlooking the sea. The hotel property was gorgeous with an infinity pool a lovely private beach. The bungalow had a little kitchen allowing us to make meals and eat on the deck watching moonlight and stars. Breakfasts were excellent. The restaurant setting was beautiful, but the food was average at dinner. We would definitely recommend this place for it's privacy, boutique-style accommodations, beautiful surroundings and friendly, helpful staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amersfoort

Mooi hotel op perfecte locatie

Posted Jun 11, 2008 on Hotels
Zeer mooi gelegen hotel met vrij uitzivht op de zee. Vrijstaande bungalows onderling met licht hoogte verschil, de meeste met zeezicht. Mooi zwembad, vriendelijke bediening, 3 minuten lopen van eigen strand. Eiland ook zeer de moeite waard. Hebben een uitstekende vakantie gehad. Een auto is aan te bevelen. Vanwege ligging hotel, eiland bezoek en 's avonds een hapje eten. Kortom een echte aanrader, zowel hotel als eiland. Voor ons een 11.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels