Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great setting for a relaxing vacation

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Clean, Friendly, Comfortable
Cons: The stairs are a little tough to maneuver but the view is worth the climb
Location: Close to the State park/beach although the beach is a good hike. Lots of restaurants and little shops.
We enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean and comfortable. the Inn staff was very friendly and efficient. The view from the room of the ocean was perfect. The breakfast was good and the Inn is close to a variety of restaurants. Although the cost was a little more than we usually spend, we will go back again sometime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Cozy and quaint

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Location was great; service good; room cute; hostess friendly
Cons: Nothing substantial; cute place; looked alittle old but still fine. Parking lot small.aaaa
Location: Excellent location to the event we were going to
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Morgan Hill, CA

Would be better with some updating and maintenance

Posted Oct 11, 2016
This hotel was chosen by our group due to being pet-friendly, but since I don't bring my pets with me when travelling, I would not likely stay here again. The carpet was stained, the bath tub seriously needed re-caulking and the mattress was only okay, comfort-wise. Overall, the room was adequate, although for the price, I would have expected better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from central California

Needs "more!"

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: It was clean, and the hosts were friendly.
Cons: See above.
Location: The location was perfect and easy to find as you drove into town from the south. We were there to attend a wedding at Sea Ranch Chapel.
Checked in in the evening - gentleman wouldn't stop talking long enough for us to ask any questions. Beds very soft, but "sleepable"...no rolling to the middle. Lighting definitely needs improvement in our upstairs room (201). Lamps are old and hard to turn on/stay on. Low light in the middle of the bathroom - nothing over the mirror. Impossible to put on makeup except to stand with a hand mirror in front of the open window! "Breakfast" consisted of Costco muffins, yogurt, a couple of other muffins and bagels on a plate, and bananas, coffee and tea...possibly orange juice (none of my family had any). I had to go to the front desk to call to the back room to let the lady on duty know that they were out of bagels and yogurt...that was after 15 minutes of people coming in and out - she didn't check. Definitely more seating for breakfast is needed - 3 small tables and a sofa with coffee table wasn't enough...several people came in for breakfast and headed back out the door. I would only stay there again if nothing else was available. Sorry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Low Key Inn Near the Sea

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Location great. Was clean and the staff responsive and pleasant. Location great and dog-friendly!
Cons: It would help to fix the small inexpensive things like the bathroom hook, use rustoleum and paint rusty hinges, etc.
Location: Walk the short, flat Gualala Bluff Trail - great views. Pick up local organic goods at the supermarket. Get a massage, shop quirky cool boutiques.
This is the second time I've stayed at the Gualala Country Inn and it was as low key and pleasant as before. The location is ideal -- literally a few yards off hwy one and across the street from the ocean. It is definitely the best option in the Mendocino area for the price, particularly for holiday/summer weekends -- high demand times, and particularly if you are bringing your dog and don't want to pay a fortune for it. The hotel is older, and needs some renovations and minor room fixes (missing hook on the bathroom door, etc.) but they do the best with what they have -- it is very clean and the front desk staff pleasant. Light breakfast has decent quality muffins, bagels, etc. though we wish the coffee were better, and that they used environmentally friendly cups (paper) instead of styrofoam -- we used our own mugs. The Gualala Bluff Trail, shops, restaurants, great supermarket for local goods, all within easy walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Reasonable motel with ocean views

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: The view from the room.
Cons: No real problems. Minor query over the bill which was easily resolved.
Location: This is a one strip town with everything within approx. 1/2 mile. There are two gas stations, a good supermarket and several restaurants.
Check in was a bit chaotic but room was fine with view of both river and ocean. The room also overlooked highway 1 but traffic stopped quite early and did not restart until a reasonable hour in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean friendly place

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Pros: Nice clean room, friendly people, close to the beach, easy access to everything.
Location: Beautiful location, across the street from the ocean.
Hotel is in a beautiful place, and it fits right in. Perfect place to stay on the Mendocino coast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fremont, CA

Nice river and ocean views

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Great location, close to parks, beaches, as well as restaurants. DOES NOT have tennis court or fitness facility on site, and not all the rooms have jetted tubs (misinformation on Expedia) Nice continental breakfast, room/hall decor leave "homey" feeling. A little noisy because all the rooms look on Hwy 1
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vacaville

Sweet Retreat at the coast.

Posted Nov 25, 2015
This was such a pleasant getaway. The staff was gracious and congenial. The decor was warm and welcoming, like coming home. We had a nice view and a comfortable bed. We can't wait to go back, and we'll be staying longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockton Ca

Beautiful Inn with river and ocean views

Posted Nov 14, 2015
Pros: The Gualala Country Inn is what I would say "Not your ordinary resting stop"! Excellent 5 star quality and comfort!
Cons: Absolutely nothing!!
Location: The Inn is located at the end on the south-east side of Gualala. Many choices for meals, and shopping , even two malls !!!
The Gualala Country Inn was our first choice! It had spacious, comfortable rooms with "inside" entrances and a staircase leading down to the living room for our scrumptous , complimentry breakfast. The hosts have made the Inn a beautuful and unique stop with their flowered landscapes and country -antique decor.