Ratings based on 302 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best breakfast and ocean views from deck

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Hosts Larry and Karen were wonderful, and offered up the best breakfast I've ever had, including B&B stays! Larry kept the fire pit on the deck going, both at night and in the morning. The room was OK - a bit cramped, but clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Rooms are very small (tiny) for the price but located well, on the ocean bluff trail while still in town. Excellent breakfast served.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Ever

Posted Jun 1, 2017
This was hands down the best experience we've had on our road trip. My wife and I are driving down the coast for her birthday and had the pleasure of staying at the Surf Inn. Nice, quaint town, and amazing stay. Caron and Larry were amazing hosts and truly went above and beyond to make sure we had a wonderful stay. The fire by the bluff at the end of the night (provided by the awesome managers) was just a perfect ending to a great day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy Hotel next to beach bluffs with great service

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Next to bluffs, customer service, breakfast, firepit, wifi, TV
Host made fire in pits early in morning. Don't forget your binoculars. Eagle just sitting on beach. Otters cavorting in estuary. You can't walk down to beach from this area in Gualala. But you can certainly enjoy ocean sounds and sights from fire pit and walk. And, you have to wait til 8:30 for breakfast, but boy is it worth it. Best breakfast I've had at a motel in a long time. Home made goodies, scrambled eggs, bacon, waffles. Good coffee. (For early birds, walk over to the full size market next door, grab yourself a latte, sit round the fire until breakfast is ready). Are rooms a little dated? yes, but comfy and clean. I'd definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views of the ocean from the sitting area.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The view and the fire pit.
Location: There are several restaurants within walking distance.
The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Loved the fire pit on the deck where you could enjoy the view. The breakfast was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Most accommodating staff, from check in to check o

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, convenience, amenities
Very comfortable. Morning repast was great..........................................................................................................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Great location! The Inn's managers were wonderful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rohnert Park,Ca

Nice hotel everything is close by beach,food&gas

Posted Mar 27, 2017
We had a great time,it's right next to the beach.They have a really good breakfast on weekends.Very good hospitality,I plan on coming back for sure! Very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
by Scott P

Solo surfer

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
It's a beautiful little motel that is very well taken care of. Really nice view right out the door. Really cool little electric fireplace in the room. Fridge,microwave and coffee and you have everything you need! A few restaurants within walking distance and also a gym across the street. The couple that owns the place are super nice and very helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surf Inn /Motel

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Breakfast. Good home cooked cakes and pastries.
Cons: Pretty much everything in the rooms.
Location: Beach is close
If you drive in from the north it is the Surf Motel but coming from the south it is the Surf Inn. Very confusing if you miss it first time round. Very disappointed with the rooms, they are like a time warp going back 30 years. The bed had seen better days. Initially, I thought that the room although being dated was clean, there were no carpets and walking from the bed to the bathroom you could feel lots of grit on the floor. So it wasn't as clean as I thought. Had to wipe your feet on a towel before putting socks/shoes on. Had an electric fire in, like a one bar fire with fake flames done with a light bulb. The only saving grace was breakfast in the morning. Very tasty, home cooked and baked fresh.