Ratings based on 365 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Wonderful Bed & Breakfast!

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: Bed, firepit, breakfast
Cons: bathroom upgrades
Location: Walk On Beach was a short drive, lovely walk and relaxing private beach area. We enjoyed the art galleries, shops, and the Cove Azul Bar & Grill!
The bed was extremely comfortable and the gas fireplace/heater was a lovely touch. We appreciated the other amenities such as the microwave and fridge. The bathroom could use some work though. The water pressure in the sink was bad when on hot and there was not plug in the sink. We also enjoyed the firepit and the delicious breakfast. Overall, we would definitely recommend this hotel. Thank you! Kim
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: The owner and the view
Cons: hot water and silencing the noisy machine, (perhaps a clothes washer or a pump) by moving it away from under the rooms, or lilmiting use hours
Location: The wonderful concert series and museum at the Gualala art Center. Gualala state park and museum
Lovely, helpful owner. But there was no hot water During the night there was a frequent thundering rumble, like an out of balance washing machine that then excited a sympathetic vibration in my room.. Breakfast is served very late(8:30 am) so of course since it was a weekday, I had to be on my way much earlier.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is close to the beach

Posted Nov 24, 2017
The stay was OK. Too many pets. The was not comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oroville, CA

Cute hotel. Great location, tasty breakfast.

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Right on the ocean. A couple of the rooms had ocean views. No beach access, but motel is on the bluff trail. Full breakfast 8:30 -10am. Comfortable and right next to a nice market.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Older facility with very friendly staff and a surprisingly robust breakfast.
1 out of 5
by Charlene

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
Hotels.com overbooked this hotel, either that or the front desk at the hotel did. The woman was cranky when we showed up but she did try to set us up in a different hotel. We left and got one ourselves. Really terrible service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Motel / Inn on cliff top at Gualala

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: No opulence but everything else was great !
Location: Not a lot its a small seaside village. Sun, sea, sand and...........
Lovely little Inn -motel style on cliff with great views over river and sea. Whales, big birds, hummingbirds and the other guests all visible from , chairs and firepit overlooking. A little weatherbeaten but lots of plants. Rooms well equipped and spotless although not huge. Karen and husband provide the personal and homely touch. Breakfasts to die for - fresh, cooked and with lots of quality,home made and daily baked pastries and scones. Evening before ate out in one of 4 / 5 places in Gualala available.
4 out of 5
by Arthur

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

OVERALL GOOD EXPERIENCE - WILL RETURN

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: THE BED AND LOCATION
Cons: THE BATHROOM COULD USE UPDATING
Location: The beaches, hiking, nature preserve, restaurants, chatting with locals.
NICE out of the way location on our travels down the coast. Hiking and beach trails. The owner gave us the lowdown on restaurants and the food was good. Our room was tiny but clean and comfy bed! Would have liked to stay longer. The best part of our stay was meeting another couple at (motel hosted) breakfast who were there escaping the fires in Santa Rosa. They were the loveliest people ever and so positive and warm.My only regret is that I didn't get their contact information. Would definitely return to this location next trip.
4 out of 5
by Martinus

Easy and relaxed.

Posted Oct 12, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff. No WIFI due to wildfires which is understandable. Larry was helpful. Suited our needs.