Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views of the ocean from the sitting area.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The view and the fire pit.
Location: There are several restaurants within walking distance.
The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Loved the fire pit on the deck where you could enjoy the view. The breakfast was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Most accommodating staff, from check in to check o

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, convenience, amenities
Very comfortable. Morning repast was great..........................................................................................................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Great location! The Inn's managers were wonderful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rohnert Park,Ca

Nice hotel everything is close by beach,food&gas

Posted Mar 27, 2017
We had a great time,it's right next to the beach.They have a really good breakfast on weekends.Very good hospitality,I plan on coming back for sure! Very pleasant stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surf Inn /Motel

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Breakfast. Good home cooked cakes and pastries.
Cons: Pretty much everything in the rooms.
Location: Beach is close
If you drive in from the north it is the Surf Motel but coming from the south it is the Surf Inn. Very confusing if you miss it first time round. Very disappointed with the rooms, they are like a time warp going back 30 years. The bed had seen better days. Initially, I thought that the room although being dated was clean, there were no carpets and walking from the bed to the bathroom you could feel lots of grit on the floor. So it wasn't as clean as I thought. Had to wipe your feet on a towel before putting socks/shoes on. Had an electric fire in, like a one bar fire with fake flames done with a light bulb. The only saving grace was breakfast in the morning. Very tasty, home cooked and baked fresh.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did the trick

Posted Feb 27, 2017
The motel has a wonderful location right on the ocean and was happy to have a place for myself and my dog. Breakfast in the morning was great too. Although the room was cute it was very dated. I had troubles just turning on the water in the washroom with the old taps and neither the room door or window in the bathroom locked either. Wasn't a big issue, but they cranked up the rate on the Saturday night for when I needed it and would have been happier if I paid the mid week price as that was what the motel was worth. Only real negative thing was keeping the room warm. It was either freezing cold (the floors were like ice) or crazy hot so I woke up quite a bit adjusting the heater. Great location though, just needs an update and then the weekend price would have been fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern Idaho

Wonderful experience

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: The friendliness, close to the ocean
Cons: ?
Location: Surf Inn - on the river and beach - watched the seals - listened to the surf
We felt welcome from the minute we walked in the door. We came to refresh and we definitely were refreshed. The managers were interested in us and making our stay pleasant. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near to the beach.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Loved the areas set up with chairs and tables and fire pit in groups for people to gather and enjoy the views of the beach.
Very nice managers, very accommodating and provide not only a great breakfast but extra like wine glasses and fresh baked cookies as we were leaving. The room was on the small side and bathroom sink did not have much in the way of counters or shelves, however lots of room in closet including a refrigerator and ice box. Also, the bed was very comfortable, though firm, it seemed to have some kind of like a feather bed layer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stop in Gualala!

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Went on a solo fishing trip to perhaps my favorite river. The staff at the hotel was very welcoming. The room was small but cozy. The view outside the room is amazing. If you are looking for a place to stay as you drive up or down the coast you can't go wrong with the Surf Inn. Oh, and a nice little market next door with organics and specialty items.
4 out of 5
by David

Great hotel, highly recommended

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent all around stay. Karen was very friendly and made check in and out a breeze. Hotel is in a great location, could hear the waves breaking all night. Room was clean and comfy. Deducted one star for the shower head being chin level (I'm 6'), which is a bit of a pet peeve of mine. Breakfast was great, the waffles were awesome and the other food was good too. I'll definitely be back at some point!