Ratings based on 322 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Foprt Bragg. CA.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
very nice location. Firepit at night was a nice touch. Friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Great Location / Great Breakfast

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Location, breakfast and staff
Cons: Modernize/update rooms. Get range extender for internet.
Location: Store and shops across street. Beware, everything shuts down by about 8pm
Staff is outstanding. Location Great. Home cooked breakfast. Rooms outdated and in need of updating. No internet access from water front rooms. VERY weak signal. Signal will keep dropping. (my room as well as our friends room. If you need internet access ask for a room without a view of the water. Less expensive anyway.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tracy, CA

Surf Inn

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: The beds were WONDERFUL! The female proprietor Karen!
Cons: The rooms need refurbishing and the raccoon infestation needs to be resolved immediately,
Location: The grocery store next door - I believe the Surf Market - was excellent! You could get hot food, sandwiches and the Huckleberry donuts were delicious!
The female proprietor was wonderful, made dog treats for guests dogs. Per the reviews were expecting the room to be out dated, which it was, however the beds were WONDERFUL and we could overlook the bathroom mirror that needed to be replaced. Then the 2nd night happened! There had to be several raccoons running throughout the attic above us all night long! They were loud and at several points we thought that they would breakthrough the ceiling drywall! I have lived in the country, so I know that they had access and that this was more than likely not the first time. Why hadn't the owners taken care of this problem? Also, the breakfast was mediocre and made worse by the male proprietor's OCD behavior during breakfast - it was a very uncomfortable environment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Quaint and beautiful.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Absolutely loved this hotel! The hosts were extremely kind and made us feel "at home". Karen and Larry welcomed us with open arms. We especially loved sitting around the fire each night and meeting people from all over- Germany, Canada, local workers. Karen woke up early the morning we were leaving to make my husband her homemade Baklava. The breakfasts were also amazing. We will definitely return to this beautiful place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Nice and economical hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: The quietness of it. I loved that there was a walking trail (which wasn't too long). I was able to take a walk every morning and evening.
Cons: The rooms were a little small but we managed. It would be nice to have rooms with a king size bed. The faucet in our bathroom needs to be improved.
Location: The location was ideal. The markets and shops were all within walking distance. The restaurants nearby served good quality food.
The hotel was nice and quiet just what I was after. The outside was set up with plenty of sitting spaces for privacy or visiting with neighbors. A fire pit was lit up in the morning and evening which was quite nice. It was great watching the sunset going down into the water. The managers Karen and Larry were fantastic!! They had the answers to all my inquiries. Oh my gosh and the breakfast that was served was so good!! The pastries and breads were all homemade by Karen. I'm ready to return just so that I can have more pastries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa CA

Close to bluff trail

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: There's a lovely walk on the bluff trail, and a great fire pit to sit and look at the ocean. The breakfast buffet was terrific; eggs cooked just right
Cons: If there was a minor issue, the room was not ready when we arrived at check-in time, and we had to go do something till it was.
Location: Gualala Point Regional park and the Bluff Trail in Sea Ranch are great walks. The beach in Gualala Point Park is also lovely.
We had a really good time in Gualala. The hotel had a great breakfast and a lovely setting, and was near what we wanted to do. Perhaps the housekeepers could be encouraged somehow to get their work done before checkin time. But the room was very nice and clean, and the fridge and microwave worked well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sedona

Best motel breakfasts ever, all homemade. G

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Great views and wonderful places to sit outside overlooking the ocean
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient location in Gualala

Posted Jul 9, 2017
When we first checked in I was pretty disappointed with our room which was small, dark, and had no window view of the ocean. When I went back to the office to discuss this, I was offered the executive suite, at $50 more per night. We took that room, which had a really nice view of the ocean, and a lot more space. However there is a lot of differed maintenance that needs to be done on this whole property. The sheer drapes in our room had tears, and the shelf in the bathroom really needed to be refinished. It was little things like that that made me think that the rate that we were paying for this room was a bit high. They did have complementary breakfast with waffles. That was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Petaluma

Beautiful View

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Great Location, Great Ocean View, The Fire Pit, The Walk along the Bluff Trail. Larry and Karen are wonderful Hosts.
Cons: The rooms are small, not a big deal because you should be out enjoying all that gorgeous nature; but they could use a little updating, better beds.
Location: Great Location, walking distance to restaurants, groceries, pretty much everything you need. cute little flee market on the weekend, Hiking and nature
The Town of Gualala is a perfect place for a weekend get-away. Best of both worlds for hiking along the coast or among the trees. Great access to restaurants, groceries and all you need. We enjoyed Larry and Karen at the Surf Inn they are the perfect hosts. A relaxed and fun experience meeting new people by the fire pit drinking wine and enjoying that fantastic Ocean View. The breakfast was Great! Best waffles I ever had!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel close to the edge

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Great hosts, incredible location overlooking ocean, and fantastic bfasts with home baked goodies. What more can one ask for?