Ratings based on 346 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oroville, CA

Cute hotel. Great location, tasty breakfast.

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Right on the ocean. A couple of the rooms had ocean views. No beach access, but motel is on the bluff trail. Full breakfast 8:30 -10am. Comfortable and right next to a nice market.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Older facility with very friendly staff and a surprisingly robust breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Motel / Inn on cliff top at Gualala

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: No opulence but everything else was great !
Location: Not a lot its a small seaside village. Sun, sea, sand and...........
Lovely little Inn -motel style on cliff with great views over river and sea. Whales, big birds, hummingbirds and the other guests all visible from , chairs and firepit overlooking. A little weatherbeaten but lots of plants. Rooms well equipped and spotless although not huge. Karen and husband provide the personal and homely touch. Breakfasts to die for - fresh, cooked and with lots of quality,home made and daily baked pastries and scones. Evening before ate out in one of 4 / 5 places in Gualala available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

OVERALL GOOD EXPERIENCE - WILL RETURN

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: THE BED AND LOCATION
Cons: THE BATHROOM COULD USE UPDATING
Location: The beaches, hiking, nature preserve, restaurants, chatting with locals.
NICE out of the way location on our travels down the coast. Hiking and beach trails. The owner gave us the lowdown on restaurants and the food was good. Our room was tiny but clean and comfy bed! Would have liked to stay longer. The best part of our stay was meeting another couple at (motel hosted) breakfast who were there escaping the fires in Santa Rosa. They were the loveliest people ever and so positive and warm.My only regret is that I didn't get their contact information. Would definitely return to this location next trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Excellent breakfast, fresh homemade pastries.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Wonderful breakfast. The best I have had so far. The owners were very happy to give suggestions for local sights to visit. We stayed 2 nights, I wish it could have been longer. I would definitely stay there again if the opportunity came.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntley.IL

View of the ocean and nice sunset.

Posted Oct 6, 2017
The room was small for the money, The bathroom facuet needed repair. The room was clean and the breakfast was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Well-run, funky motel in Gualala CA

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: The charm, the management, the breakfast, the wood-fire
Location: Gualala is on the Mendocino Coast, near the Sonoma County border. Gualala county park borders the ocean; its nice visitor center may be closed.
This motel has more charm than any other in this little town. The manager supervises a very good, home-cooked breakfast and makes the waffles himself. Rooms are old-fashioned but well furnished (though the mattresses are getting a bit old). On cool evenings there is a lovely wood fire with circular seating, overlooking the cliffs above the Gualala River, with an ocean view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Foprt Bragg. CA.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
very nice location. Firepit at night was a nice touch. Friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Great Location / Great Breakfast

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Location, breakfast and staff
Cons: Modernize/update rooms. Get range extender for internet.
Location: Store and shops across street. Beware, everything shuts down by about 8pm
Staff is outstanding. Location Great. Home cooked breakfast. Rooms outdated and in need of updating. No internet access from water front rooms. VERY weak signal. Signal will keep dropping. (my room as well as our friends room. If you need internet access ask for a room without a view of the water. Less expensive anyway.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tracy, CA

Surf Inn

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: The beds were WONDERFUL! The female proprietor Karen!
Cons: The rooms need refurbishing and the raccoon infestation needs to be resolved immediately,
Location: The grocery store next door - I believe the Surf Market - was excellent! You could get hot food, sandwiches and the Huckleberry donuts were delicious!
The female proprietor was wonderful, made dog treats for guests dogs. Per the reviews were expecting the room to be out dated, which it was, however the beds were WONDERFUL and we could overlook the bathroom mirror that needed to be replaced. Then the 2nd night happened! There had to be several raccoons running throughout the attic above us all night long! They were loud and at several points we thought that they would breakthrough the ceiling drywall! I have lived in the country, so I know that they had access and that this was more than likely not the first time. Why hadn't the owners taken care of this problem? Also, the breakfast was mediocre and made worse by the male proprietor's OCD behavior during breakfast - it was a very uncomfortable environment.