Ratings based on 249 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Close to the ocean

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: Close to the ocean Decent breakfast. Good Wifi.
Cons: Serve breakfast earlier. Space heater would make the rooms more comfortable.
Location: Beach cannot be accessed directly. However there are a few nice free access beaches within 3 miles. The drive on Highway 1 is unforgettable.
Check in was reasonable. Room was tiny. Wood floors, tiny bed (definitely seemed smaller than a queen). Refrigerator and Microwave were in the bathroom. Ample parking and proximity to stores. Morning breakfast is served in the tiny front office. Included breakfast is basic but decent (but not served till 8.30am) Wifi was consistently good. Heat was not sufficient, parts of the room were very cold.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Petaluma, CA

Affordable stay with great location

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Cannot beat the price for ocean front property. Room was clean, bedding comfortable and included kichen/dining with dishes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saginaw, MI

Great stay!

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Best hotel we had during our entire California vacation. The room was clean and the bed was super comfy. We could hear the ocean from our room. Beautiful view. The staff was very friendly and easy going. I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel they fixed it up nice

Posted Oct 31, 2015
You can see the beach but its quite a walk to it because there is a river beyween the beavh and the town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Temecula, CA

close to event, beach, market, restaurant,wnery

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: none
Location: winerys, hiking, store cool twisted roads
Lovely accomadating friendly and clean-hiking, the beach sounds were soothing
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2015
This older motel was a disappointment. The rooms were very small and walls thin so sound travelled between rooms The floors and beds were updated and clean. Too expensive for the quality of the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Need brighter lights in the rooms. What more can I say.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mark from Gualala, California

Surf Inn

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Nice, clean, friendly, reasonably priced and close to a dear friend! We'll be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not the Four Seasons so get over it

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
You cannot approach this stay like you will be at a typical 5 star hotel. This is a small, clean Motel room in a beautiful place with friendly staff offering sitting patios throughout to picnic and hang out. We thought this place was perfectly wonderful. The rooms are small so do not expect to be hanging out there but hang outside overlooking the ocean. There were neighboring visitors that wanted the room to be their party place opening and shutting their doors all night/ early morning. This is NOT the Surf Inn's fault at all and they make amends for the small rooms. Please take advantage of their beautiful tables and chairs overlooking the ocean! We were pleasantly surprised by breakfast included (not gourmet but nice chow to get started for the day). The rooms have Keurig individual coffee so even the in-room coffee was delicious.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Joel from Concord, CA

Breakfast too late!

Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful view.....fair to good accommodations......small room but it had the basic amenities. Floating manufactured flooring was newer but you could tell the cleaning crew had only hit the main traffic area in the room as the corners were dusty as was the window sill. We stayed two nights and both mornings they served breakfast at 8:30......way too late in the morning. I must say I have stayed at many Motels/Hotels/bed & breakfast places and I have never been served breakfast so late. Laziness is what I chock it up to. Its not acceptable for people to have to wait for 2 hours or more plain and simple. Will not stay here again for that reason.