Ratings based on 309 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sedona

Best motel breakfasts ever, all homemade. G

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Great views and wonderful places to sit outside overlooking the ocean
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient location in Gualala

Posted Jul 9, 2017
When we first checked in I was pretty disappointed with our room which was small, dark, and had no window view of the ocean. When I went back to the office to discuss this, I was offered the executive suite, at $50 more per night. We took that room, which had a really nice view of the ocean, and a lot more space. However there is a lot of differed maintenance that needs to be done on this whole property. The sheer drapes in our room had tears, and the shelf in the bathroom really needed to be refinished. It was little things like that that made me think that the rate that we were paying for this room was a bit high. They did have complementary breakfast with waffles. That was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Petaluma

Beautiful View

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Great Location, Great Ocean View, The Fire Pit, The Walk along the Bluff Trail. Larry and Karen are wonderful Hosts.
Cons: The rooms are small, not a big deal because you should be out enjoying all that gorgeous nature; but they could use a little updating, better beds.
Location: Great Location, walking distance to restaurants, groceries, pretty much everything you need. cute little flee market on the weekend, Hiking and nature
The Town of Gualala is a perfect place for a weekend get-away. Best of both worlds for hiking along the coast or among the trees. Great access to restaurants, groceries and all you need. We enjoyed Larry and Karen at the Surf Inn they are the perfect hosts. A relaxed and fun experience meeting new people by the fire pit drinking wine and enjoying that fantastic Ocean View. The breakfast was Great! Best waffles I ever had!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel close to the edge

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Great hosts, incredible location overlooking ocean, and fantastic bfasts with home baked goodies. What more can one ask for?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best breakfast and ocean views from deck

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Hosts Larry and Karen were wonderful, and offered up the best breakfast I've ever had, including B&B stays! Larry kept the fire pit on the deck going, both at night and in the morning. The room was OK - a bit cramped, but clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Rooms are very small (tiny) for the price but located well, on the ocean bluff trail while still in town. Excellent breakfast served.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Ever

Posted Jun 1, 2017
This was hands down the best experience we've had on our road trip. My wife and I are driving down the coast for her birthday and had the pleasure of staying at the Surf Inn. Nice, quaint town, and amazing stay. Caron and Larry were amazing hosts and truly went above and beyond to make sure we had a wonderful stay. The fire by the bluff at the end of the night (provided by the awesome managers) was just a perfect ending to a great day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy Hotel next to beach bluffs with great service

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Next to bluffs, customer service, breakfast, firepit, wifi, TV
Host made fire in pits early in morning. Don't forget your binoculars. Eagle just sitting on beach. Otters cavorting in estuary. You can't walk down to beach from this area in Gualala. But you can certainly enjoy ocean sounds and sights from fire pit and walk. And, you have to wait til 8:30 for breakfast, but boy is it worth it. Best breakfast I've had at a motel in a long time. Home made goodies, scrambled eggs, bacon, waffles. Good coffee. (For early birds, walk over to the full size market next door, grab yourself a latte, sit round the fire until breakfast is ready). Are rooms a little dated? yes, but comfy and clean. I'd definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views of the ocean from the sitting area.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The view and the fire pit.
Location: There are several restaurants within walking distance.
The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Loved the fire pit on the deck where you could enjoy the view. The breakfast was very good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Super convenient. Market, gas station, pizzeria and cafe all within walking distance. BEAUTIFUL view of the ocean. Quite romantic overall.