Ratings based on 500 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They hotel closed three months ago.....

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: The staff was really friendly at the Riu hotel
Cons: Cleanliness .
Location: Playas del Coco are near by, Hard Rock cafe is there , many nice stores and supermarkets like Automercado with ,anything you can find in USA.... g
When we arrived to the hotel the security personel informed us it was closed! Our reservation moved to another hotel part of the same family, almoust two hrs driving later.... they did have our reservation but.... they dont accept children, so our 8 months old was not welcome, they had already booked us a room in another all inclusive resort near by.... another hour driving to get there... the place was ok, but the beach was horrible, nothing like what we had in mind, the hotel staff said expedia knew about the change and they were supposed to let us know! But nobody did. the bathroom had mold, the bed was not confortable a super small tv, only in spanish, the pool did not have enough chairs so people was fighting for them, the food was ok, but nothing special
1 out of 5
by Danielle from Victoria BC

Don't book this! It's closed

Posted Dec 4, 2015 on Hotels
We showed up to find out it is closed! Hotels.com how is that possible?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Closed Upon Arrival

Posted Nov 20, 2015 on Hotels
When we arrived we were told that the hotel had been closed for three weeks!! And were then sent an hour and a half south to a hotel that certainly appeared below the standards we had initially booked at the Allegro.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Closed

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Pros: Didnt stay so nothing
Cons: Communication prior to departure about hotel closure to be provided with options.
Location: unsure as did not stay in the location i selected for very specific reasons.
I arrived at the hotel to find it closed. I received no notification. Expedia told me that since they moved me to another hotel and since I didnt call them to complain right away but waited to do so when I arrived home, which was the hotels advice, I was not entitled to anything. Apparently there is a collect call number I should have been aware of an quote "the average customer does". Not impressed with Allegro but much less impressed with expedia.
4 out of 5
by Erica from san jose

Buen Trip

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
Mi pareja y yo la pasamos de lo mejor, la vd si disfrutamos bastante!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Memphis, TN

2 Resort stay

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Stay in 2 resorts due to Allegro closing for remodeling, so moved to Occidental by resorts management, transportation provided. Great job, made event easy. Allegro & Occidental room views were great. Allegro bed hard, Occidental much more comfortable. Allegro more for family. Beaches we enjoyed both. Food both had buffet style. Disco/clubnot real much both. Biting bugs bring bug-spray! Excursions good selection we enjoy 1 all-day to rainforest while at Occidental. Not good for walking to local towns.
4 out of 5
by Johnny from San jose, Costa Rica

paseo familiar

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
fue un paseo familiar ,que disfrutamos mucho todos ,excelente servicio y las comidas muy buenas,,el hotel precioso con vistas exquisitas
4 out of 5
by Mario

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by FABRICIO from Guapiles

buen hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
La pasamos muy bien en familia, muy m}buen servicio y buena alimentación.
4 out of 5
by Jorge R.

Hotel Familiar

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Orbitz
La estancia estuvo bien, nosotros fuimos en fin de semana y había muchas personas hospedadas lo cual generaba un poco de saturación a la hora de ir al Bufet, pero el personal daba la talla para tener todo en optimas condiciones. La habitación estaba bien, la comida estaba bien para el precio, el área de postres no tanto, tristemente solo pude estar en el restaurante Italiano porque el Mexicano estaba cerrado. Algo que no me gusto fue que ambos restaurante estaban cerrados el día Domingo. El área de Snacks debería estar abierto hasta mas tarde tipo 10 pm. Agradezco a la chica del staff Candy por la animación con el Volleyball de Playa. Recomiedo este hotel para familias con Niños, para parejas recomendaría otro hotel de la cadena.