Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by GK23 from Venezuela

espectacular

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
super
4 out of 5
by Linda from Tijuana

Amazing!

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
The place and food/drinks are amazing! Beautiful view and calmed beach. If you want to visit other beaches I suggest you hire a local boat (the tours at the hotel are super pricey). If you go there probably you will not need to go anywhere else. Three days is more than enough to to enjoy the place. Bring a lot of $ to Costa Rica! It is an expensive place, beers and drinks cost around 5-10dlls or more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great Hotel at a Great Price

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The food and the staff
Cons: The pool is great and our 8 and 10 year old boys enjoyed it but for younger children, the pool may not have kept them entertained.
This is a wonderful hotel to stay in. The food was fabulous and the staff were more than accommodating. We spent most of our days out on private excursions so we didn't spend a whole lot of time at the hotel during the day. If I were going to spend more time at the hotel and not do some much touring, I may have wanted a little bit more in the way of pools and space. Also, we arrived on a Wednesday and it was not very crowded, which we loved. When we returned from our fishing trip Saturday afternoon, the pool and poolside restaurant was packed. Certainly glad they were busy, but we were certainly glad that we got to enjoy the hotel with fewer guests as well.
4 out of 5
by Joan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cali

Surprising bill toward the end of our stay

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: The food was wonderful for a $58 salad it better be right?
Cons: The restaurant staff as far as the host.
Location: i like the Congo Trail and the Arenal Volcano, ATV's and Horse back riding. The best scene in Costa Rica was the Water falls for Tenorio Nat'l park.
overall i was very disappointed with the room we stayed at El Mangroove. The room was a jr. suite and had no bathtub. We've always stayed in a four star hotel and this is the only one that i ever seen with no bathtub. So out of style the room was too small even though they made it look so huge in picture. Sorry guys there is no comparison to the picture that you put up in your website. Another thing the staff as far as the room service were not friendly at all. Everything was a fail to me i almost wanted to stay to a different hotel but because i have my son with me i didn't want to complain and have to explain to him. We asked for laundry service and were fast to come picked up but no one explained us how much it was going to be. $8 a piece. More for dry cleaning. The last major problem that we had was when we were at the second last day of our stay, we got this surprising bill almost $2000.00 for resort fee. OMG!! We had already paid our hotel & flight before we checked in and they had us scared for charging us more and so we had to settle our bill and they said it was a mistake that they didn't know that we had already taken care of it. Duh!! when we checked in wouldn't they know? I almost got depressed when i found out of my bill. Sorry Mangroove need to notify your future guest what you guys are all about.
5 out of 5
by Josh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Marco from Santo Domingo, Heredia, Costa Rica

Honors the concept of "autograph" hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
extremely friendly personnel, wonderful facilities, unique architecture, great location. WIFI not very reliable outside of room. Great for a peaceful family vacation.
5 out of 5
by Jason

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: Hotel food tasty but expensive. We wanted pop and snacks- a vending machine would be nice.
Location: It would be nice to get to a nearby village more easily. Bus is difficult, taxi is $20 each way. Hotel is relaxing but there is nothing nearby.
Beautiful hotel, great food, amazing beach- WARM water, no kelp, no shells or rocks, sandy bottom' gorgeous scenery, friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2016 by Thank you, Hotel Management
Dear Nancy: Thank you for sharing your experience at the El Mangroove, Autograph Collection. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service, we will revise your comments on the snacks offering and the transportation.Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon! Sincerely, Andrea Arroyo Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
Un endroit où on peut se reposer tout en profitant d'un cadre magnifique.