Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cali

Surprising bill toward the end of our stay

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: The food was wonderful for a $58 salad it better be right?
Cons: The restaurant staff as far as the host.
Location: i like the Congo Trail and the Arenal Volcano, ATV's and Horse back riding. The best scene in Costa Rica was the Water falls for Tenorio Nat'l park.
overall i was very disappointed with the room we stayed at El Mangroove. The room was a jr. suite and had no bathtub. We've always stayed in a four star hotel and this is the only one that i ever seen with no bathtub. So out of style the room was too small even though they made it look so huge in picture. Sorry guys there is no comparison to the picture that you put up in your website. Another thing the staff as far as the room service were not friendly at all. Everything was a fail to me i almost wanted to stay to a different hotel but because i have my son with me i didn't want to complain and have to explain to him. We asked for laundry service and were fast to come picked up but no one explained us how much it was going to be. $8 a piece. More for dry cleaning. The last major problem that we had was when we were at the second last day of our stay, we got this surprising bill almost $2000.00 for resort fee. OMG!! We had already paid our hotel & flight before we checked in and they had us scared for charging us more and so we had to settle our bill and they said it was a mistake that they didn't know that we had already taken care of it. Duh!! when we checked in wouldn't they know? I almost got depressed when i found out of my bill. Sorry Mangroove need to notify your future guest what you guys are all about.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: Hotel food tasty but expensive. We wanted pop and snacks- a vending machine would be nice.
Location: It would be nice to get to a nearby village more easily. Bus is difficult, taxi is $20 each way. Hotel is relaxing but there is nothing nearby.
Beautiful hotel, great food, amazing beach- WARM water, no kelp, no shells or rocks, sandy bottom' gorgeous scenery, friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2016 by Thank you, Hotel Management
Dear Nancy: Thank you for sharing your experience at the El Mangroove, Autograph Collection. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service, we will revise your comments on the snacks offering and the transportation.Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon! Sincerely, Andrea Arroyo Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
by beth from Seattle

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
I loved this hotel. Chic and beautiful, super nice, but totally chill. My only complaint is that the pool is not cooled. It is too hot to not cool the pool.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Peaceful stay on calm bay

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Location: The pool and beach are all in close proximity to the rooms.
El Mangroove is a modern, beautiful property located on a very calm bay with great sunset views. The area is very peaceful - a perfect place to relax and unwind. The staff could not be nicer or more attentive. They went out of their way to entertain our kids, make sure we were comfortable and taken care of, etc. Food was delicious. I wish we could have stayed longer. It's only about 20 minutes to Liberia airport.
4 out of 5
by Terry from Texas

El Mangroove

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was nice and quaint. It was great for our purpose as we were only staying one day before going to a vacation home in the area. I would not want to stay for longer than a day or so because there it not much to do at the actual hotel. The hotel is really nice and modern, but the wait staff is average and not as attentive as I'm used too.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Leonardo from SJO

Volver

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
Super, pensando en volver en un corto tiempo
5 out of 5
by Carlos from San Jose

Un hotel para ir con familia

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
Fantástico hotel para ir con niños. El personal del hotel es muy amable y están siempre dispuestos a ayudar en lo que se necesite. Excepcional hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brussels

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: architecture
Cons: Service in restaurant can improve
Very nice hotel on the beach Suprising , very nice architecture. Very good confort Very nice spa
5 out of 5
by Peter from Adelaide SA

great hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was lovely but the wifi was bad