Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First Wedding Anniversary Trip!!

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Cons: Can't really think of anything.
Location: Witches Rock Canopy Tour. Coco Beach is 1 hour away near Liberia but this is where the local restaurants and salsa clubs are located.
My husband and I were married at the Four Seasons at Disney in Orlando April 2015 so we had high expectations for the Four Seasons Costa Rica and we were not disappointed!! I mentioned on our reservation through Expedia that this was our first wedding anniversary trip and we received champagne and chocolate covered roses in our room upon arrival, champagne at lunch when our waiter just so happened to ask if we were there for a special occasion and champagne at dinner later that night as it was our actual wedding anniversary date. The food in all restaurants that we tried was excellente and delicioso!! Service was impeccable and it was the same feeling like we had in Orlando with the reply being " it was my pleasure" from anyone that assisted us. I was able to work on my Spanish while there. The scenery is beautiful and sitting on the high peninsula provided extraordinary views throughout our stay. Paddleboarding, kayaking and snorkeling are all available. There are plenty of free activities included. We tried to do the kayak at sunset but it got to be too windy and the waves were too high so we could not go as it was not safe. We signed up for others but found that we were enjoying relaxing too much to even get up. We also did the canopy tour which was frightening at the beginning but once I calmed down I really enjoyed the views of the ocean and forrest. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and really hated to leave.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Truly lives up to reputation

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Pros: Great service......
Cons: Nothing really
Location: The resort is somewhat isolated, so need a car or day trip to get off property
Spent a week there, in one of the standard rooms, which was quite nice. Most overlook beaches. I appreciated that the resort is not overly crowded, and is probably planned that way. Beautiful beaches, excellent food. I'm a golfer, and the course was excellent. Everything at resort is pricey...
5 out of 5

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by John G.

Wonderful first time in Costa Rica!

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on CheapTickets
Of course we had high expectations for a Four Seasons Hotel, but several in the staff made us feel quite at home. Adolfo (food & bev director) introduced himself to us and greeted us days later at poolside by name (!). Giovanna was always there, providing the best in concierge service. The location was great giving us the choice of ocean, bayside (with free kayaks, paddleboards & snorkel equipment), or poolside (with/without children). It was just what we needed for a getaway from our normal stressful lives.....
2 out of 5
by Clive from costa rica

Failed to impress

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
We booked the hotel for my birthday as a special romantic getaway. 2 years prior we came for my girlfriends birthday when we liked the restaurants and the location and the over the top service. On booking there was nothing reduced services. In fact exactly the opposite with the app promoting the restaurants. Plan was 1st night caracol + 2nd night beach sunset for birthday. When we arrived we were told caracol closed and beach dining fully booked.(both nights saw only one table). . So agreed dinner Italian day 1, in-room day 2. We went for our 8pm booking to find the restaurant was closed! only choice was Latin restaurant (café). Food good but not Italian. In-room was not a good fit. Fortunately Italian reopened day 2 so we had a good night and staff were very apologetic . Food was good although chefs special lasagna (grandmas recipe) was burnt black at edges. So green season with less guests then less staff and so reduced facilities and services but not reduced prices. When you come here you know prices are crazy high but you accept in return for service and facilities but not this time. Final straw was asking for late checkout was told not possible although resort was half empty. The service was much less than last time. So still had a good time as location and room excellent and champagne solves many issues. But value for money- no. Met expectations -no. would I recommend- no. Would I come again- probably not.
5 out of 5
by Shannon from Austin, Texas


Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
This is an amazing facility.
5 out of 5
by Larissa B.

Awesome Experience

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Orbitz
Fully worth the money paid, lots of things to do on the premises, nice and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A wonderful oasis!

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
Overall, a fabulous stay! Every member of the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Participated in many activities on site, including kayaking along the bay, and a hike through a mangrove in which we even saw white faced monkeys close up! The concierge was always very knowledgable and able to arrange local excursions. The resort is quite remote which is nice if you are looking for an oasis away from it all. However, it is quite far from any non-hotel restaurant (at least 30 minutes) or main excursion so use of a car can come in handy. On site restaurants are however excellent. Being right next to Witches Canyon allows for easy access to zip line and ATV.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the ocean and to all activities

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Great hotel, dorectly on the ocean, offers all types of indoor activities and close to all outdoor activities
5 out of 5
by Kenneth from Houston

One of the best resorts on the planet!

Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Hotels
We had high expectations and they were surpassed. One of the best resorts on the planet!