Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Nice hotel and great restaurant.

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Staff and owner were great and it was reasonably priced
The hotel, staff,owner,and grounds were great. The only negative is when you walk to the beach you have about a quarter mile of dusty street to contend with. It is farther from the beach than I envisioned, its realistically a 15 min walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

A hotel that knows what hospitality means

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Hotel Arco Iris is located near the beach and "downtown area" of Tamarindo enough so that when it comes to convenience, it's above average
Disclaimer: technically I've never spent a full night at Arco Iris. I've booked a room for me and my girlfriend for 2 nights via Expedia, but due to an error (mostly likely mine), the hotel reservation indicated only 1 person could stay. We landed late that night and with the language barrier, all we could bargain for with the night shift personnel was a quick shower for two before we took off to stay somewhere else for the night; thinking that we would come back in the morning to sort things out. For me, that was a fair deal. But our new place is comfortable enough for us to decide not to waste any more of our time coming back for another uncertain bargaining. So, unlike the first night, we wrote the second night off as a total loss. We had a great pura vida time in Costa Rica and it got better when while boarding my plane back to California, I received an email from the hotel owner Richard. The gentleman reasonably offered to refund my second night. And I gratefully accepted it. So this review of mine is based on the 30+ minutes of showering and my experience with the hotel staff (from bottom to top). Although it did not go smoothly for us this first time, with Richard's hospitality attitude in mind, we're likely coming back to Hotel Arco Iris should we return to Tamarindo again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Elegant simplicity

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Stayed here for 5 days to go to the beach, pura Vida take us back please. Hotel was beautiful, room was cozy, shower was fantastic, pool is nice, staff hospitable and it's a short walk from anywhere in Tamarindo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and staff

Posted May 2, 2016
Arco Iris is a short walk to the beach and great value. The room, staff and breakfast made Tamarindo a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location close to restaurants and the beach.

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Staff were extremely nice and always helpful. Quiet and a nice place to relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RSM, Ca

Tamarindo beach hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Our stay was wonderful. The staff was excellent and the owner can out to greet us. The breakfast buffet was very good. The rooms were charming and clean. They had a beachy theme with some Costa Rican colors and culture.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from minnesota

nice niche hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: cost, privacy, cozy, nice shower
Cons: subscribe to TV service that provides English speaking channels. since we are seniors and aren't out all night clubbing, we did watch TV at night.
Location: Tamarindo has no limit when it comes to things to do. it has become very popular over the years and they cater to almost anything you want or need.
within walking distance to stores and restaurants although you have to walk in the streets and dodge traffic to get anywhere. the bungalow units are quite small. we upgraded to a room which was about twice the size for an additional $25 per day. pool is small but since it is rarely used it is sufficient. the owner has taken an old hotel and fixed it up very nicely. Richard, the owner, is a US expat and Francisco, the desk clerk, is a Tamarindo native and between the two of them they will provide a level of service much more then you would expect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice hotel and restaurant

Posted Jan 22, 2016
The room was clean and the shower was hot and had plenty of pressure. The restaurant had great food and drinks. Great value all around
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Nice small boutique hotel!!!!!

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: The room and the pool
Cons: parking lot very small
Location: close to the best nightlife spots in tamarindo
Everything you need in a small boutique hotel!!!! Breakfast included, very confy room, room mini bar & very nice pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Lovely grounds, comfortable rooms. Staff very pleasant and accommodating. Wish every room had a hammock!