Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to the beach and Playa Conchel

Posted Dec 18, 2016
We had a wonderful stay. We stayed in a beachfront room. This room was very clean, comfortable with a king size bed. We enjoyed the front porch where we could lay in the hammock and see and hear the ocean. The French family who own this Hotel are very friendly and accommodating. The help is fabulous! The food is very good. I would recommend their fish and chips and the seared tuna. We liked the fact that we could walk to Playa Conchel, which was less than 1/8 mile away. This is a beautiful beach with lots of shade trees to sit under. We will return to stay here in the future! Debby and Joe from Montana, USA
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Bernadette, Hotel Management
Hi Debby, So glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will visit us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Tucker, GA

Quaint hotel right next to the beach

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: The location, setting, and the very pleasant staff.
Cons: Better parking protection. More food diversity at hotel restaurant.
Location: As mentioned in experiences, the beach, numerous shops, sodas, bars, supermarket. Hotel will help arrange more distant adventures.
At first I was a little disappointed with my room. For 3 years I had rented a room for a similar price at another facility not too far away. My room there had TV, a wardrobe (closet), shelves, a room safe, and a mini-fridge. My room at Hotel Brasilito did not have a closet of any sort, no room safe, and worst of all, no mini-fridge. I like to buy fresh fruits and bottled water which I keep cold in the fridge. The management apologized for the absence of these items and tried their best to accommodate me, but explained that only one room had a mini-fridge (already spoken for). They were willing to move me to a room with a closet, but I had by this time managed to organize my belongings on shelving, so not enough of a reason to move. On the positive side, the visual setting was very pleasant and I had only to walk across the hotel's open air restaurant and patio, and cross a sand road to be on the beach. Many shops and restaurants (Sodas) within walking distance. My room had good air-conditioning and a balcony overlooking the street and a grassy square beyond. Shower had plenty of hot water. The hotel bar has two-for-one Happy Hour from 4-6pm every day except Monday (bar and restaurant are closed). The staff was very pleasant and even fun to engage. The area is very lively and noisy. Not a place for those desiring peace and quiet. Parking (free) is not well protected so get full insurance when renting a car (my rental was side-swiped; primarily a paint scrape).
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Bernadette, Hotel Management
Hi John, Thank you for staying with us. Glad you were able to enjoy your trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from San Diego

very comfortable room.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: proximity to the beach, cleanliness of room, comfort of bed, the hotel staff was very polite and helpful.
Cons: hot water in the shower was intermittent. i don't have any other complaints, but expedia won't let me post until i use more characters or something
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Bernadette, Hotel Management
Hi James, Glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking into the hot water in the room you stayed in. Please come again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

A great vibe

Posted Aug 29, 2016
We stayed for 6 nights and loved this hotel. It's not super fancy but it's clean and comfortable, with everything we needed. The staff is helpful and kind, the food at the restaurant is great. The location is convenient and awesome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by Hotel Brasilito, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We work hard to make every stay enjoyable. Hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Excellent location with a great staff. The beach and restaurants next to the hotel make for an even better experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Bernadette, Hotel Management
Hi Sam, We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please come again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great little hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: I loved the small hotel feel. It is very cute and homey, the staff were nice and helpful and spoke English which was super helpful!
Cons: Some amenities in the room (i.e. fridge) would have been nice, but we managed a week without it.
Location: The location is perfect! It is right in front of Playa Brasilito, and only a 10-15 min walk to Playa Conchal (my absolute favourite beach).
We had a great stay. The hotel is small and simple, but it is perfect for the price you pay. The restaurant attached is a bit pricey, but delicious! The waves are a bit loud at night, which we eventually got used to it. I have to say, however, there is a house next door that has roosters and dogs and they kept us up at night.... quite often. It was super irritating, but again, we got used to it. We loved sitting at the restaurant at the hotel - cute little patio with a hammock and a great view of the beach. Lots of restaurants in the area and some little supermarkets. The bus stop is at the end of the road which was super convenient. The only downfall of the neighbourhood is everything closes super early. By 9pm, the shops are closed and most of the restaurants start closing as well. If you are looking for a party place, this is not it. Tamarindo is close by (30 min drive - $25 USD), but nothing really in Brasilito/Conchal. There's one bar, Indira Bar, across from Hotel Brasilito, but its generally empty - although the owner is super friendly! If you are looking for a relaxing stay and willing to travel a bit to explore the country, this hotel is highly recommended! We were there for 8 days, and visited 7 different beaches - no car rental, just took the bus and cabs. Great stay and great trip!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Hotel Brasilito, Hotel Management
Hi Chris, Thank you for your feedback. Glad you had a good time and made the most of your vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Great price for the location!

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Loved staying here, really my only complaint was the roosters next door were very noisy all night, both nights we stayed. Other than that, you can't beat the price for being right on the beach with a great little restaurant on site. Just a 10 minute walk to playa conchal!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 1, 2015
The bar across the street was so load at night it shook the windows and walls.. Other than that it was a great place.. JH
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frozen Midwest

Location is great, room was gross.

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Location. Plan to spend your time on Playa Conchal - makes your entire trip worthwhile. The Reserve on Conchal beach had monkeys steps from the beach!
Cons: Paint! Bleach! Bedding washed in hot water every day! More towels. Caulk around the windows & ant killer in the bathroom. New furniture.
Location: Playa Conchal is wonderful. They have lounge beach chairs for rent for $5 each per day and you will be surrounded by locals. Plan to BYOB.
It would be SOOOO EASY for this hotel to update these rooms and show a little pride in what they offer. The furniture was old, worn and gross. The bathroom was disgusting. Some tropical paint colors on the walls or even painting the furniture would do wonders. This kind of crash pad is fine for young college kids, but for adults, not so much. The location is wonderful but you won't know you're so close to the water from the rooms. And if you get stuck in a room on the first level, you better hope your upstairs neighbors are quiet or it will seem like they are going to fall through the floor into your bed. We made it a great trip and chalked it up to live-and-learn. We don't regret staying in this area of Costa Rica but would have tried to find someplace nicer that didn't make our skin crawl. Make all shuttle arrangements on your own on the internet prior. Ecotrans shuttle was cheap, reliable and a very comfy ride. We hired drivers at various times but they weren't safe and were more expensive. Plan ahead and make arrangements with shuttles before you arrive for whatever local tours you want to do. Adventure Tours in Monte Verde has new zip lines that will be the most exhilarating time of your life. Getting there is a very stressful and BUMPY drive up, up, up the mountain on a pothole filled dirt road, but you can do it as a day trip. Again, get tickets in advance if you can. Bring a cheap cooler bag & mugs to make your own cocktails after stopping at little stores.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

Disappointing to say the least

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: most everything
Location: Close to the beach, but the surroundings are pretty dismal
No hot water. No English spoken or understood by staff. Very noisy from adjacent rooms. the bathroom has a wall that does not reach the ceiling therefor the sound is not isolated from the rest of the room at all. Brasilito is not the most the most attractive either. The bar/restaurant was closed, no free breakfast as advertised. We read good reviews about this place, maybe we expected too much,or the place has fallen off the cliff in terms of its condition and convenience.