Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plano, Texas

A Magical Place!

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Couldn't find anything
Location: Beautiful beach with warm water and breathtaking sunsets. Good fishing vessels right off the beach. A cute little town to roam. Great people watching.
We just got back yesterday from a 10 day stay. We're already planning our next trip back. Our expectations were exceeded at every level. The location, the facilities, the staff, the food, the weather and on and on. It was like living in the middle of tropical garden with beautiful foliage and exotic animals. If you can get a bungalow I HIGHLY recommend Number 4. It has the best view on the entire property (right on the beach) yet close enough to the pool and the restaurant/bar. You will not be disappointed!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston Texas

Great boutique hotel in Tamarindo

Posted Jul 19, 2016
This hotel allowed us to have an awesome Costa Rican experience. Hotel staff were wonderful and very helpful. Great food and drinks at the hotel restaurant. Grounds are very nicely kept. The beach is beautiful and swimmable. Rent a car to explore other beautiful beaches in the area. Monkeys, raccoons, iguanas, squirrels, birds, and hotel cats to look at. Very close to town with lots of shops and restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Perfect place, great staff, great food and drinks

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Orbitz
From the moment we checked in to even after we checked out the staff was pleasant and accommodating. Our flight wasn't until 10 pm and of course check out is at 12pm, but they kept our bags for us while we went out one last time around town. And even offered us the spa shower to get ready for our trip home. They even helped us with booking transportation when we needed it. Food was delicious. We didn't have a bad meal or drink the entire trip. The staff was very personable and took time to get to know you. Hands down, we recommend Capitán Suizo to anyone and will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Great, quiet, getaway. Short walk to town. We loved it.
5 out of 5
by Virgil from San Diego

We can't wait to go back and stay again!

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
This is an amazing beachfront resort! We wish we had more than three days to stay there. The staff was great, the beach was great, the pool was great, the food was great and there were monkeys in the trees near the pool and iguanas and beautify birds all around.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Posted May 19, 2016
Staff were excellent, very quiet and relaxing place. Exactly what we were looking for.
5 out of 5
by Rusty

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice location and quaint.

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: Great location, friendly staff, quaint and unique.
Cons: Not a big deal but air conditioning was functional and moderately adequate for the room.
Location: Great location. Seasons Restaurant is very close and is a great food and economical. Great beach. Close to downtown activities.
close to Tamarindo and excellent beach. Center green space very nice and bar and pool in center space. Staff friendly and room clean and comfortable. Howler monkeys come into the green space. Very cool experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aspen, CO

Wish we had more time there!

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: The grounds, the room, the staff, the pool, the beach, the restaurants.
Cons: restaurant service a little quicker, but that is def the norm in tamarindo
Location: It's just the right distance from the hustle and bustle.
We had a bonus day in tamarindo due to flight cancellations, had to give up our rental house as we only had for a week. After doing some quick research on Expedia, came across Capitan Suizo… from the pictures, I remember walking by the hotel on a walk (it's the furthest resort on the southern part of beach). I recalled thinking how nice/beachy/private it looked. We reserved a bungalow which could easily have a family of 3 comfortably. Almost a $100 cheaper on Expedia. We only had the afternoon and evening at hotel, as we had a 6:50 am flight. Soo wish we could've stayed longer! The staff brought us complimentary boxed breakfast. The restaurant was the best meal we had eaten (lunch especially!). The grounds are so lush and beautiful. The beach is the best, the loungers have plush cushions. Ping pong and pool on shady part the beach. Cute kitties, raccoons, monkeys roam. We will definitely stay here when we come back. Wish someone would get married here!
2 out of 5
by Elsa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels