Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Larry from Houston

Home in Tamarindo

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
This was our second stay at Luna Llena and we'll stay here every time we return to Tamarindo! Can't say enough good things about the hotel and staff! We really feel like welcome guests here! Atmosphere great, close to everything but secluded enough for peace and quiet. Perfect for our wants and needs!
5 out of 5
by peter from denver

A great, simple hotel. Friendly staff.

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was perfect for my 5 day trip to Tamarindo. It is a pretty basic hotel in a wonderful location being just a few hundred yards from the town center and beach. If you are expecting a 5 star experience you will be disappointed, but if you're looking for casual and friendly, it is hard to beat. My room was spacious and clean. The staff were fantastic. Pino really took care of me, offering advice on places to eat, drink and things to see. He willingly made calls and reservations for tours. Thoroughly recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty hotel, very nice people!

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Close to beautiful beaches and restaurants. Very nice people, includes breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Great hotel highly revommend environmentally friendly.
2 out of 5
by anna from ogden utah

Good location, but needs updating

Posted Mar 26, 2016 on Hotels
The room was good size but very dated. The beds were uncomfortable and the air conditioner did not work, safe did not work. Breakfast was good and the pool was nice.
4 out of 5
by Melita from St-Catharines

Good experience

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Luna was great. The owner are nice people but the bartender is another story. Asking for ice was pulling his teeths out. Breakfast is simple but good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Wonderful & convenient

Posted Mar 10, 2016
The hote is beautiful but the staff & management make it even better. Everyone was helpful and nice. The guys at Giovanni's restaurant were very sweet and fun. The hotel is about 10 minute walking distance from play Tamarindo. If you have any problems the management are always there to help. Would definitely stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

No hot water. Terrible wifi.

Posted Feb 7, 2016
There was no hot water at all during my stay. The wifi only works by the front desk, which is pathetic and not what you expect, considering the lowliest of Tamarindo hostels has wifk everywhere. The breakfast is a joke: a piece of toast and watered down juice. Also, the mattress could not be harder. It was more like sleeping on box spring. Additionally, there is no real member of hotel staff on duty after 7, only a disinterested security guard. Last but not least, upon bringing these issues up with the guy at the front desk, he argued and insulted me. This "hotel" is not really a hotel, and certainly not worth the 95 USD it cost me. This hotel has multiple placks up about conservation and ecology. That is great and all, but I suggest they focus more on being a hotel with basic amenitiea and practices than saving the forest. This place is a rip off.
3 out of 5
by Tracy from London ontario

Treehouse.

Posted Dec 24, 2015 on Hotels
Great small rustic hotel. Rooms were unique and fun with a tree house style loft. My kids loved it! The host and hostess of the hotel were very gracious. I would recommend this place. Nice and quiet and clean.