Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Mold, mold, mold everywhere!

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: OK location, nice pool.
Cons: Rooms are in bad shape, mold covered wall and furniture.
Location: good location, close to beach and shops
The location is good and the staff at check-in was ok but the room was terrible. The room was quite small but as soon you open the door you get smacked in the face with a strong musty, moldy odor. When you get in the room you see why, mold everywhere! The wall was completely covered in mold, they had this nasty old chair in the room that was completely covered in mold. We tried to suck it up and stay but lasted only about 10 minutes before we started feeling headaches and discomfort in the room. We went to the front desk, told the lady about our room and asked to check-out immediately. I insisted she come see the room and she did and agreed that the room was unacceptable and apologized. But after speaking with her manager they refused to offer us a refund. We decided to check out anyway and booked another hotel on the spot. We contacted Expedia who then contacted Hotel Pasatiempo and although they acknowledged the problem again refused to refund us. Luckily we booked through Expedia as they refunded us anyway. Horrible experience overall, I am not very picky with hotels and rarely review hotels but I just had to share this experience. I was just surprised how bad Hotel Pasatiempo was given the overwhelmingly positive reviews online. I've included pictures of the mold in the room in my review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cela aurait pu être super, mais...

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Propreté des chambres, emplacement, confort du lit
Cons: Le service à la clientèle, tenter de mieux comprendre les clients au lieu de les challenger.
Location: Plage de Tamarindo, surf, restaurants, bars, etc..
Tout d'abord notre accueil s'est passé plutôt difficilement, nous sommes arrivé 30 minutes avant l'heure d'arrivée et nous comprenons que notre chambre n'était pas prête, cependant nous nous sommes sentis comme des numéros. On nous a invité à aller autour de la piscine et que nous allions venir nous voir lorsque ce serait prêt. Or, il ne sont jamais venu. D'autres gens arrivaient et nous avons perdu notre tour. Nous avons dû nous présenter par nous même. Suivant un courriel d'expedia, nous avons répondu que nous n'étions pas satisfait de l'accueil. Par la suite, nous avons eu droit à une discussion avec la gérante de l'hôtel qui ressemblait davantage à des reproches envers notre réponse. Ceci étant, le barman était très sympathique, le lit confortable et les femmes de ménages faisait un très bon travail chaque jour. Le site est également bien situé à quelques minutes de marche de la plage de Tamarindo et des restaurants. Malheureusement, le pire événement de notre séjour à cet hôtel s'est produit à notre retour au pays. Nous avons été victime tous les 2 d'une indigestion alimentaire lié au déjeuner que nous avons pris le matin à cet hôtel, probablement les oeufs que nous avons mangés. Il n'y a aucun doutee qu'il s'agit de ce repas car l'indigestion s'est produit pour moi 12 heures plus tard et ma conjointe 18 heures plus tard et nous n'avons rien mangé d'autres de la journée. Nous avons été sur le carreau pendant 2 jours à notre retour. Très décevant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great little hotel away from the noise of downtown

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The atmosphere, comfortable rooms, value, bar, and proximity to the downtown and the beach.
Cons: Wi-Fi; sliding doors into the unit was a little tricky to close, but you get used to it.
Location: Short walk away from "downtown" Tamarindo and the beach. Everything is within walking distance.
This is a beautiful little hotel (only 23 units +/-) that surround a nice pool. The entire property is set in a very tropical motif. The rooms are very cozy. The have a nice bar/restaurant next to the pool that resembles a giant tiki hut. Very cool. The hotel is a short walk away from "downtown" Tamarindo and the beach. It's much closer to the action that many of the large hotels however it is far enough away you don't have to deal with the noise of tamarindo, which was much busier than I expected. The only negative I had were the Wi-Fi is very too good and there are some howler monkeys that hang around that can be loud in the morning and early evening. No big deal though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Helene Owner, Hotel Management
Thanks for your visit, we have change the lock of the sliding door, it is true it was a little hard to open or close it and it is much better. We just changed our WiFi system too and hopefully we will have a better signal. We love our howler monkeys but we hear you, yes they can be loud I am confident that you enjoyed to watch them with the babies monkeys. Pura Vida!!
5 out of 5
by Dan

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks Valerie for your rating. See again in Hotel Pasatiempo.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Very nice hotel within walking distance to the beach and on a quitter road. The pool area is nice and lush and the room was very nice and comfortable. Definitely would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2016 by Helene, Hotel Management
Thanks a lot for your feedback. We will be happy to have back at Hotel Pasatiempo. Cheers. Helene.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Great staff and we enjoyed the breakfast (ours was included). Location is nice for walking to beach or downtown. You can hear the discotech at night but, that was only on the weekends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Randy, Hotel Management
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write a comment, Pura Vida.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, Nv

Small hotel property with villa-like rooms.

Posted May 14, 2016
I had a very nice 4 night stay at this property. It is in town but yet it feels secluded and remote. The tropical landscaping of the property is real good. The restaurant and bar has good food and alcoholic drinks. Just outside the hotel property is: grocery store, bank with EZ to use ATMs, other restaurants, and great shopping. Very short walk to the beach. I have made reservations to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Helene Owner, Hotel Management
Thanks Mike, we will see you soon. Cheers. Helene
4 out of 5
by Lorrie from Plainville, CT

Pleasant stay @ Hotel Pasatiempo

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here for five nights with my two adult daughters. It was a small intimate hotel. Breakfast each day was a plus and we especially enjoyed the gallo pinto. Pool was nice as well. Location was walking distance to beach, restaurants and shopping. If you are looking for a relaxed no frills atmosphere you would enjoy it. Wifi was spotty in the bedrooms, but worked 75% of the time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Helene, Hotel Management
Gracias Lorrie for your stay. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed Pasatiempo hotel. Wi-Fi can be spotty in Tamarindo, we are working very hard to improve this service. We just installed a new system and are very optimistic about it. Pura Vida Lorrie, we hope to see you back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Affordable Experience Close to the Beach

Posted May 13, 2016
I stayed at this hotel for 4 days. It was awesome affordable option. The owner is exceptional and he goes above and beyond to ensure his guest are comfortable. The hotel is a 5-10 min walk from the beach. It is walking distance to all of the restaurants and bars yet slightly off the main strip so you can find quiet at night with minimal foot traffic. There is a supermarket less than five minute walk. The rooms were cleaned daily and it provides the basic essentials. Nothing spectacular but given the price point we were not disappointed. The food was decent and slightly cheaper than other restaurants on the strip. I encourage you to try locally prepared dishes from a soda. It was AMAZING. Overall this is an exceptional lost cost option for Tamarindo and I would absolutely recommend staying here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Helene, Hotel Management
Thank you Regina for your visit at Hotel Pasatiempo, we are a classic Bed and Breakfast, you can sleep in a comfy bed with good A/C and hotel water for an average of $95/night for 2 people. Our bar/snack is open everyday from 11:30 am to 10 pm with a non stop service around the pool, all day long. Pura Vida.