Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice quiet small hotel close to beach

Posted Dec 29, 2016
We've spent a wonderful time during our stay in Pasatiempo; personnel was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was tasty and fulfilling, nice swimming pool and a lot of greens around, rooms are large and clean. We would definitely stay here again next time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pendleton, Oregon

Oasis with access to everything

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: The grounds, the quiet, the privacy, the music, the staff, etc., etc...
Cons: Beds are pretty hard, eitther softer mattresses, or the ability to get a mattress topper, that would soften the existing mattress.
Location: Close to town, great restaurants within walking distance. The beach is like a 5-10 minute walk through the always interesting downtown.
We can not say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay here. The grounds are covered with beautiful vegetation and provide an incredible amount of privacy. Only 1 1/2 blocks from the main street, you would never know it. The vegetation creates quiet bliss acting as sound insulation from downtown, except for the occasional welcome howler monkey call, that reminds you that your in Costa Rica. The included breakfast was much appreciated as it defrayed some of the costs of eating in Tamarindo which consists of typical tourist prices at most restaurants. We enjoyed the Gallo Pinto, and banana pancakes and fresh tropical fruit. The palapa bar next to the pool is always playing great chill music hat makes hanging by the pool totally relaxing. The transfer from Liberia was waiting for us and was only $30 per person each way, and was well ahead of schedule and the drivers were super warm and friendly. It is rare for us to return to a place, but Tamarindo and Pasatiempo won our hearts and we already plan to return :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, fantastic staff.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Staff friendliness.
Cons: All good
Location: Great location. 5 minutes to beach, close to supermarket and many restaurants.
Really nice convenient hotel. Pool area was great but the staff was what made it special. They were all very helpful, accommodating and very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Staff was pleasant and caring. Ricky the parrot was cute.
Cons: Street noise at times...A pool would be nice. Good for the price.
Location: Loved the white water rafting.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Mold, mold, mold everywhere!

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: OK location, nice pool.
Cons: Rooms are in bad shape, mold covered wall and furniture.
Location: good location, close to beach and shops
The location is good and the staff at check-in was ok but the room was terrible. The room was quite small but as soon you open the door you get smacked in the face with a strong musty, moldy odor. When you get in the room you see why, mold everywhere! The wall was completely covered in mold, they had this nasty old chair in the room that was completely covered in mold. We tried to suck it up and stay but lasted only about 10 minutes before we started feeling headaches and discomfort in the room. We went to the front desk, told the lady about our room and asked to check-out immediately. I insisted she come see the room and she did and agreed that the room was unacceptable and apologized. But after speaking with her manager they refused to offer us a refund. We decided to check out anyway and booked another hotel on the spot. We contacted Expedia who then contacted Hotel Pasatiempo and although they acknowledged the problem again refused to refund us. Luckily we booked through Expedia as they refunded us anyway. Horrible experience overall, I am not very picky with hotels and rarely review hotels but I just had to share this experience. I was just surprised how bad Hotel Pasatiempo was given the overwhelmingly positive reviews online. I've included pictures of the mold in the room in my review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Very nice hotel within walking distance to the beach and on a quitter road. The pool area is nice and lush and the room was very nice and comfortable. Definitely would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2016 by Helene, Hotel Management
Thanks a lot for your feedback. We will be happy to have back at Hotel Pasatiempo. Cheers. Helene.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Great staff and we enjoyed the breakfast (ours was included). Location is nice for walking to beach or downtown. You can hear the discotech at night but, that was only on the weekends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Randy, Hotel Management
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write a comment, Pura Vida.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, Nv

Small hotel property with villa-like rooms.

Posted May 14, 2016
I had a very nice 4 night stay at this property. It is in town but yet it feels secluded and remote. The tropical landscaping of the property is real good. The restaurant and bar has good food and alcoholic drinks. Just outside the hotel property is: grocery store, bank with EZ to use ATMs, other restaurants, and great shopping. Very short walk to the beach. I have made reservations to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Helene Owner, Hotel Management
Thanks Mike, we will see you soon. Cheers. Helene
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Affordable Experience Close to the Beach

Posted May 13, 2016
I stayed at this hotel for 4 days. It was awesome affordable option. The owner is exceptional and he goes above and beyond to ensure his guest are comfortable. The hotel is a 5-10 min walk from the beach. It is walking distance to all of the restaurants and bars yet slightly off the main strip so you can find quiet at night with minimal foot traffic. There is a supermarket less than five minute walk. The rooms were cleaned daily and it provides the basic essentials. Nothing spectacular but given the price point we were not disappointed. The food was decent and slightly cheaper than other restaurants on the strip. I encourage you to try locally prepared dishes from a soda. It was AMAZING. Overall this is an exceptional lost cost option for Tamarindo and I would absolutely recommend staying here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Helene, Hotel Management
Thank you Regina for your visit at Hotel Pasatiempo, we are a classic Bed and Breakfast, you can sleep in a comfy bed with good A/C and hotel water for an average of $95/night for 2 people. Our bar/snack is open everyday from 11:30 am to 10 pm with a non stop service around the pool, all day long. Pura Vida.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boise

clerk stole my credit card

Posted May 1, 2016
Cons: Fire the thief
clerk stole my credit card and when it was discovered and I called the CC company there were already 2 purchases totaling almost $1500.