Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, fantastic staff.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Staff friendliness.
Cons: All good
Location: Great location. 5 minutes to beach, close to supermarket and many restaurants.
Really nice convenient hotel. Pool area was great but the staff was what made it special. They were all very helpful, accommodating and very friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Staff was pleasant and caring. Ricky the parrot was cute.
Cons: Street noise at times...A pool would be nice. Good for the price.
Location: Loved the white water rafting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

If you need good wifi, this is not your place.

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
The wi-fi did not work at the hotel the entire stay. The manager kept rebooting the internet but it continued to not work. The man at the restaurant was very nice. He showed us the monkeys that hang around the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Miss Kelly from Durham

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Room very comfortable. Cosy little hotel. Nice gardens and pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Lina from Houston, Texas

Hotel Pasatiempo

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was excellent! Super close to the beach,very friendly staff. Nothing negative! Glad we stayed here
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Mold, mold, mold everywhere!

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: OK location, nice pool.
Cons: Rooms are in bad shape, mold covered wall and furniture.
Location: good location, close to beach and shops
The location is good and the staff at check-in was ok but the room was terrible. The room was quite small but as soon you open the door you get smacked in the face with a strong musty, moldy odor. When you get in the room you see why, mold everywhere! The wall was completely covered in mold, they had this nasty old chair in the room that was completely covered in mold. We tried to suck it up and stay but lasted only about 10 minutes before we started feeling headaches and discomfort in the room. We went to the front desk, told the lady about our room and asked to check-out immediately. I insisted she come see the room and she did and agreed that the room was unacceptable and apologized. But after speaking with her manager they refused to offer us a refund. We decided to check out anyway and booked another hotel on the spot. We contacted Expedia who then contacted Hotel Pasatiempo and although they acknowledged the problem again refused to refund us. Luckily we booked through Expedia as they refunded us anyway. Horrible experience overall, I am not very picky with hotels and rarely review hotels but I just had to share this experience. I was just surprised how bad Hotel Pasatiempo was given the overwhelmingly positive reviews online. I've included pictures of the mold in the room in my review.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Tropical setting

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Orbitz
Cons: WIFI could be better
Location: It's a short walk to most everything.
Tropical setting, monkeys in the trees every day.Clean rooms friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2016 by Helene, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for this nice comment. Right now we have tens of monkeys with little babies. Pura Vida.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cela aurait pu être super, mais...

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Propreté des chambres, emplacement, confort du lit
Cons: Le service à la clientèle, tenter de mieux comprendre les clients au lieu de les challenger.
Location: Plage de Tamarindo, surf, restaurants, bars, etc..
Tout d'abord notre accueil s'est passé plutôt difficilement, nous sommes arrivé 30 minutes avant l'heure d'arrivée et nous comprenons que notre chambre n'était pas prête, cependant nous nous sommes sentis comme des numéros. On nous a invité à aller autour de la piscine et que nous allions venir nous voir lorsque ce serait prêt. Or, il ne sont jamais venu. D'autres gens arrivaient et nous avons perdu notre tour. Nous avons dû nous présenter par nous même. Suivant un courriel d'expedia, nous avons répondu que nous n'étions pas satisfait de l'accueil. Par la suite, nous avons eu droit à une discussion avec la gérante de l'hôtel qui ressemblait davantage à des reproches envers notre réponse. Ceci étant, le barman était très sympathique, le lit confortable et les femmes de ménages faisait un très bon travail chaque jour. Le site est également bien situé à quelques minutes de marche de la plage de Tamarindo et des restaurants. Malheureusement, le pire événement de notre séjour à cet hôtel s'est produit à notre retour au pays. Nous avons été victime tous les 2 d'une indigestion alimentaire lié au déjeuner que nous avons pris le matin à cet hôtel, probablement les oeufs que nous avons mangés. Il n'y a aucun doutee qu'il s'agit de ce repas car l'indigestion s'est produit pour moi 12 heures plus tard et ma conjointe 18 heures plus tard et nous n'avons rien mangé d'autres de la journée. Nous avons été sur le carreau pendant 2 jours à notre retour. Très décevant.