Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, ON CANADA

Nice quaint hotel - close to beach

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: close to the main strip and beach - with restaurants and shops etc
Cons: breakfast was very basic - more options would have been nice. No one seemed to eat dinner there so we didn't either and went out.
Location: CLOSE to beach - and town - TAMARINDO beach - and surfing
Nice hotel - quaint - not a 5 star - but comfortable and clean - pool was nice. Breakfast included - had 2 daily choices. Restaurant/bar was very quite when we were there - they seemed to have stop the mid week entertainment - so it was pretty dead in our hotel - nice if you want quiet - but there are plenty of restaurants and bars just outside the hotel. I think most people headed out to the main strip for the action -- TAMARINDO is a very happening place and is active - nice town if you like bars and restaurants. Close to beach - about a 10 min walk. I would come back . but maybe would try also some other places too.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Contact Hotel After Booking Reservation

Posted Feb 15, 2017
We booked 2 nights here but they never received the reservation and were fully booked. Make sure to contact the hotel yourself after booking! The hotel was very helpful with finding us a place to stay that had vacancy but it was definitely not as nice as this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice quiet small hotel close to beach

Posted Dec 29, 2016
We've spent a wonderful time during our stay in Pasatiempo; personnel was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was tasty and fulfilling, nice swimming pool and a lot of greens around, rooms are large and clean. We would definitely stay here again next time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pendleton, Oregon

Oasis with access to everything

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: The grounds, the quiet, the privacy, the music, the staff, etc., etc...
Cons: Beds are pretty hard, eitther softer mattresses, or the ability to get a mattress topper, that would soften the existing mattress.
Location: Close to town, great restaurants within walking distance. The beach is like a 5-10 minute walk through the always interesting downtown.
We can not say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay here. The grounds are covered with beautiful vegetation and provide an incredible amount of privacy. Only 1 1/2 blocks from the main street, you would never know it. The vegetation creates quiet bliss acting as sound insulation from downtown, except for the occasional welcome howler monkey call, that reminds you that your in Costa Rica. The included breakfast was much appreciated as it defrayed some of the costs of eating in Tamarindo which consists of typical tourist prices at most restaurants. We enjoyed the Gallo Pinto, and banana pancakes and fresh tropical fruit. The palapa bar next to the pool is always playing great chill music hat makes hanging by the pool totally relaxing. The transfer from Liberia was waiting for us and was only $30 per person each way, and was well ahead of schedule and the drivers were super warm and friendly. It is rare for us to return to a place, but Tamarindo and Pasatiempo won our hearts and we already plan to return :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful gardens around the property

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
We loved the kickback atmosphere. The landscaping was beautiful. Very relaxing. The staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, fantastic staff.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Staff friendliness.
Cons: All good
Location: Great location. 5 minutes to beach, close to supermarket and many restaurants.
Really nice convenient hotel. Pool area was great but the staff was what made it special. They were all very helpful, accommodating and very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Staff was pleasant and caring. Ricky the parrot was cute.
Cons: Street noise at times...A pool would be nice. Good for the price.
Location: Loved the white water rafting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Regular

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Orbitz
I was dissatisfied with the reception area I found cats and dogs all over the place giving with this bad odor, was dirty. No parking, no cable TV & the WiFi poor. Generally is too expensive for what they offer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

If you need good wifi, this is not your place.

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
The wi-fi did not work at the hotel the entire stay. The manager kept rebooting the internet but it continued to not work. The man at the restaurant was very nice. He showed us the monkeys that hang around the hotel.