Ratings based on 1,230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara CA

Great stay

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: everything.
Cons: do something about the bees that are in the pool area and also keep the pool area (alcohol) open past 6 pm. People enjoy being there late.
Location: a lot to do and is offered there at the lobby;
it was awesome! the people were great and everyone was super friendly. The beach was nice, very clean just tides a bit strong but overall had a great experience. The rooms were cleaned and restocked daily and there is always something to do at the resort and in close proximity of it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Horrible experience overall

Posted Apr 27, 2016
After my experience at this Riu , I am over all Riu . DO NOT EVEN LOOK AT THIS HOTEL . IT IS HORRIBLE . Start off with the HORRIBLE FOOD .. THE FOOD WAS NOT GREAT . I am used to good food on vacation but this place was the only place that makes me tired of eating there food . All restaurants that needs reservations food is tasteless . Not even one tastes good . All of them was horrible . The buffet generally had the same food each day and they all tastes the same . Breakfast was not appealing , I couldn't even get a proper omelette . The drinks was the worst . I know everybody look for good drinks on vacation but literally every drink tastes like nothing . Wifi is advertised as free on Expedia but we had to pay for it because it's only available in the lobby . It would had been nice to specify that . I paid $70 for wifi with an employee named ESTOBAR who lied and told me they only take cash after asking if I can pay with a card . When checking out on the day of departure , I was told I owe money for wifi and that it was added to my room . How do you add something to my room without telling me and the most important question , why am I even being charged for wifi again .So I am guessing this employee stole my money and what makes things worse is the look on the employees , like I am lying about paying already . The manager literally made it seem like he was doing me a favor . HOW RUDE !!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Key West, FL

Really beautiful property

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: Beautiful property and beautiful location.
Cons: Free Wifi in the rooms. Better food in the main ( cafeteria ) restaurant.
Location: There is nothing but the resort in the immediate area. You have to have/use transportation to do anything not resort sponsored.
Generally good experience. This was my first experience at an all inclusive resort. I must admit that I am not a big fan and probably would not do it again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Okay, wouldn't return

Posted Apr 26, 2016
The rui is over commercialized. The first day we arrived we found a huge roach in our room on the fourth floor. The chain in our toilet broke and it took maintenance 3.5 hours to come and replace. Overall the hotel looked clean, it did have a garbage smell every where you walked. Great pool it never seemed croweded. The food was good, basically the same food on the buffet. The beach is a long walk from the room, and rocky. We had an okay time here but if we go back we would stay somewhere else.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Very nice facility

Posted Apr 25, 2016
This was perfect for a group trip. The drinks and food were great. The staff was friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Hotel with nice pool(s) and bar(s)

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Resort like amenities
Cons: Rooms - double beds not big enough for family of 4. Flickering lights in the rooms. No wifi in room (Working wifi only in lobby).
We had 3 full days of April Sun to enjoy the hotel pools and multiple bars. The resort was always busy catering to tourists all day along. The location of resort is away from city and close to ocean and mountains.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice All inclusive resort

Posted Apr 25, 2016
The resort is very nice and clean. The food was delicious and fresh. The sand is nasty and needs to be cleaned from debris. Other than that, this very well kept resort. The staff was very friendly, the night shows was amazing, and the monkeys on the monkey trail was AMAZING! The resort needs better wifi connection. This was by far, one of the best family vacations we had.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Beautiful grounds, very friendly staff. Food wasn't bad, but I was expecting better from a claimed 5 star hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Wish they had a better wine selection! Only one choice that tasted horrible! Room bedding was cheap and bed hard. Otherwise, grounds were beautiful and pool was spacious. Don't ask for 2 pool towels--God forbid!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: everyone was friendly and helpful my experience was great
Cons: a few ants in room
Location: everything was nearby and lots to do
this was a great place to stay I recommend highly