Ratings based on 1,157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Value Resort

Posted Dec 31, 2015
2 ocean view rooms, courteous and accommodating staff, beautiful landscaping, great pool Inconvenient restaurant reservation system, mild sewer gas smell in bathrooms, internet available only in lobby
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R.

Excellent service!

Posted Dec 27, 2015
I have stayed at three different Riu locations and they've never disappointed me. The staff upholds a level of attention that is top notch. The food at this hotel was DELICIOUS! Breakfast was mine and my husband's favorite. The huevos rancheros with Gallo pinto...AMAZING!!! Dinner buffet was equally yummy but different every night. Steakhouse is also great. The service staff is so kind and truly make you feel so catered to. The location is great, the hotel has a beautiful private beach. We saw a few frogs and bats at night and that really gave us a Costa Rica experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn

Riu Guanacaste Hotel rocks

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Pros: The room was cleaned good every day. The food in the buffet was delicious and fresh. Ate a lot of passion fruit!
Cons: I was surprised not to see any shampoo or conditioner for hair in the room not that I ever use it because I always bring my own.
Location: I didn't do much around the hotel. Went on the beach couple of times, the water is so clean and beautiful. Also rode ATV, it was fun.
The hotel is located on the perfect spot, right on the beach. The pool is so big and clean. Excellent food and guest services. All hotel staff speak good English and were very friendly and helpful to us. I recommend taking a trip to Nicaragua. We went to the crater of the volcano, Masaya and visited the oldest city there, Granada. Very beautiful architecture. And it didn't cost much, $160 per person, which included breakfast, lunch and all the fees to cross the border as well as the whole trip itself. We also went to do zip lining and hot springs next to Arenal volcano. We got a lot of positive emotions there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Nice hotel. Friendly staff. Good food and drinks. Enjoyed our stayed. Will go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice resort

Posted Dec 23, 2015
The resort is really nice, it was a pleasant stay. The food was really good. The quality of WiFi was not so good, even paid internet $10.00 per day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Very nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Dec 22, 2015
We were 2 adults & 2 12 years old Girls. The hotel was full, however you never feel overcrowded. There is room enough in the swimming pools and restaurants. The staff has activities but if you dont want to participate, you can, without having the noise too close. The buffets in the morning for breakfast and in the evening for dinner were very very good. The quality and variety of foods is excellent. However the buffet for Lunch was bad quality and poor variety. WE visited the restaurant of Meat at night and the Japanese. They were very good, but the desserts were the usual in the other buffets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Staff was helpful and friendly. One seemed a bit self serving but oh well. Everything else was great, food, drinks and facility. All except the bed, not very comfortable at all. Overall satisfied with the trip though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Very tropical feel. Beautiful hotel.

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Very friendly staff but not overly helpful. Had to pay $70 for wifi in the room but totally worth it. No cell service only means of communication through FB or iMessage. Beautiful beach. Go to the monkey bar down the beach to see monkeys.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Pretty facility. Beautiful view of the ocean.

Posted Dec 11, 2015
Pros: Room and view. Well apportioned lobby.
Cons: Staff interaction and customer service.
Location: Nothing nearby. Had to purchase transportation and expensive excursions to enjoy the area.
Beautiful facility and was well maintained. Room was very comfortable with a great view of the ocean. Food was a bit bland but offered a lot of options. Specialty restaurants food items were not very good. The buffet option was the best. Didn't feel like a valued guests during stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pasadena, ca

Posted Dec 10, 2015
Very relaxing and enjoyable experience, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I would go back as soon as I have vacation time available. I highly recommend this resort to everyone.