Ratings based on 1,156 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2016
The staff was excellent. We really enjoyed the food. Our bed was too hard but acceptable. You have to pay for internet if you want it in your room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2016
I have stayed at better RIU Hotels, the beds were so hard it was like sleeping on the floor. The food was not good, the restaurants you signed up to for each night were awful, you do not expect to have buffet good, if I would have known that I would have not made reservations and just stayed with the main food set up. The service was not at it's best, we are at the pool and no waiters to bring you drinks, if you want to make tips have a waiter go around the pool area several times all day and they will get tips, I was at another RIU resort in Cabo and I gave our waiter 20 to 40 dollars a day and had drinks coming to me all day, and I was there for a week. I know these people want our money but they sure do not want to work for it. If I have to come up to the bar to get my drink no tip. The elevator was broken most of the time during our stay,and we were on the 5th floor. Room was not clean when we asked to have it serviced. If I went back I would not stay at a RIU resort. Are luggage was lost for a couple of days not real good service on trying to get it from the airport, they kept saying it is between you and United Airlines, listen I am how many miles away from the US and the # they gave us to check on it was international so could not call it so the hotel had to help and they kept saying it was busy, finally two days later we get our luggage but by no efforts of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nephew's Destination Wedding

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: The room was very spacious, clean. Lots of food variety, staff very accommodating. Relaxation made warm and easy.
Cons: My bed was way too hard. But I was only there for 3 nights so toughed it out.
Location: Short stay so didn't venture off much, but we did go Zip-lining with Congo Trails - what fun! Guides were great and made us feel very safe!
Wonderful room - clean and very pretty, nice balcony with towel bars for swimsuits and beach towels. Outstanding pools and close beach. Loved the lounge chairs built in the pool! Wedding was beautiful and dinners were very nice. Lots of options for food. Nightly entertainment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Random Lake Wi.

Remember it's s 4 star...not 5, but close

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Like other reviews I've read, there was a odor in our room the first 3 days but gone after that. The odor was at the swim up bar every day... kinda nauseating at times. The pool is awesome though!! Very friendly staff everywhere. Some rude costomers in the buffet line, but not the resorts fault. Food in the buffet is outstanding, no matter if it was breakfast lunch or dinner. I would suggest only making dinner reservations on Thursday and Friday, because the dinner buffet was kinda blah on those days. I'd suggest the Italian and steakhouse, not excellent but better than the buffet. If you can't decide what to order, order two entries, you paid for it. View from the ocean side room is very nice. Woke up every morning and stood on the balcony admiring the view. Well worth the extra couple bucks. Bring extra sunscreen, I mean even more than you think you'll need! We ran out and had to pay up the you know what for decent size spray bottle. Entertainment on the main stage was great, couple nights a little corny but something to do. Nightlife is pretty much none existent. The sport bar is hot and uncomfortable. Too lite up, cocktails are fine, and if you get the munchies you can choose from nachos with all the fixens or cold cut sandwiches and wraps. I was fine with that, some ppl may not be. Would I go back? You bet, but I'll take my chances at other tropical areas for a couple years before I do. Just remember, this is a 4star, don't expect better. They do very well though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Nice all inclusive close to the beach

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach, nice swimming area on the beach that was roped off, good food and drinks, bartenders were all very nice, large room for 2 people
Cons: Free paddle boats and wind surfing was available but they denied us because we had never tried it before. This was a huge let down.
Location: Coco Beach was really close by water taxi, we went there two different days
Nice place to hang out with a group of friends, as stated in the dislikes, we were very excited to try wind surfing and paddle boats but they were reluctant because we weren't experienced. Also even when we left tips to stock our mini bar and fridge, they put the bare minimum, but did take our tip. The Riu is a bit off in the boonies. Took a water taxi to Coco Beach (twice) and this is a must for shopping, food, and drinks. The massages on the beach were also amazing, if you have never, try it! All in all we would stay there again but probably try the Palace just for something different. Plan on trying some other Riu resorts around the world.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Disappointed when i checked in the Brutto family (2adults and child) i had to pay an extra $600 for the child. Expedia told me no charge for the child
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gurnee, Il

Unbelievable, it was everything the said.

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Best vacation. Weather, food staff, rooms and hotel were wonderful. The beach is rocky but do able. Aqui shoes would be advise able. Did not want to come home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

2nd trip with RIU

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: The entertainment staff and location
Cons: Casino and dinner reservation structure.
Location: There are plenty of excursion dealers both on the beach and in the lobby to help you book excursions. One of our favorites was sunset cruise.
We stayed at RIU Aruba for our honeymoon last year and absolutely loved it. One of our friends had stayed in the Guanacaste area before and recommended it for it's beautiful weather and close proximity to fun and adventurous excursions. We took our trip the first week in December and the weather was perfect. Beautiful sun and nice warm humid weather to beat the cold of the midwest. I like the old style feel of this RIU compared to the uber modern feel of the Palace. Just not as much our style. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The shows put on in the evenings were funny and spectacular. The only downside was making dinner reservations. When we had stayed at RIU previously, we made our dinner reservations for each night that morning. However, at this RIU they allowed groups to make reservations for all week on Sunday. We took an excursion that left early Sunday morning so were not able to book a reservation at their "gourmet" restaurant Tucan for the entire week we were down there. This was the only disappointment. The buffet and other specialty restaurants were both delicious. The only other slight downside was that the casino was very small and lackluster- but, that meant we didn't waste much money there. One of my favorite parts of this resort is that you feel absolutely secluded when you're their. On the beach, you can see no other restaraunts, resorts, houses, nothing. You felt hidden away from the rest of the world surrounded by green mountains.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from seattle

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: Layout and pool
Cons: food
Location: For our group we enjoyed Cocoa Beach area for food, bars, and souvenirs, just a short cab ride or take the RIU shuttle. We also rented a private van
Other than New Years Eve the Buffett meals were sub par. We chose the standard rooms with two beds in each, we had 2 rooms with two people, one room with three people. The rooms were fairly small, not bad for two however for parents traveling with one or two children it would be tight. The resort itself, layout and pool area, beach access were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Value Resort

Posted Dec 31, 2015
2 ocean view rooms, courteous and accommodating staff, beautiful landscaping, great pool Inconvenient restaurant reservation system, mild sewer gas smell in bathrooms, internet available only in lobby