Ratings based on 782 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Very nice, friendly, approachable staff.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
We stayed a total of 5 nights. Staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating when we had a little hiccup in our plans. Very big Thank you to Johnny and Omar for all the help and services. First 4 nights our room overlooked the pool area which was fun to listen to music and the hosts of pool games. (LOL) Our last night (accommodation) they moved us to 5th floor and our room overlooked the entire hotel and ocean (❤️❤️) very beautiful !! Wished that was our room from the beginning. Food was okay. Probably the only improvement they can do. Wished there was more actual Costa Rican food since we are staying in the Country. But I guess the unlimited drinks made up for it. Beach was nice. Less then 5 min walk. There aren't any warning signs of Jellyfish and blow fish. My boyfriend and I got stung by a jellyfish ☹️ Nothing major thank goodness. So just be aware. We mentioned it to staff and they replied with, "oh ya, it's because of the waves". On a brighter note we were able to experience jet skiing and horse back riding there. Jet skiing was amazing !!!! Took us to a few different beaches and we got to see dolphins on our way back. Horse back riding we went through the mountains. It was perfect timing because on our way back we got to watch the sunset as we were riding. Overall, experience was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Paradise

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Everything was absolutely great, already planning to return. Perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel to Relax

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Staff were very nice and were eager to share their country facts and lifestyles with us
Cons: Hotel could offer more entertainment options during the days and transportation to and from airport
Location: There was nothing in walking distance, every activity you needed to take transportation and that was an additional cost
We spent 7 days at this hotel. We were able to book tours to experience activities that we are unable to do at home. * Pool- Very Nice pool with many lounge chairs * note if you want to lounge around the pool then I would recommend that you get there early to place your towel on a chair. Swim up bar is busy and has a smell, however we determined it to be their cleaning solution. There is afternoon entertainment by the pool that is enjoyable. * Beach- Beach is rocky, however when the tide is low you can mange the beach well. However you can access the beach to the left which is has less rocks. Staff are really good at bringing loungers to your desired location. *Rooms- Clean and spacious for the time you actually spend in them. Towel are absorbent and supplies ( soaps and shampoo/ conditioner are adequate). If your looking for high quality towels and supplies then bring your own. refrigerator that is stocked and kept stocked. *Food- Wonderful buffet with many options, It is a must to try things you never have. We only visited one restaurant (Italian) and it was excellent. Staff are wonderful and will go out of their way to satisfy you. Sports Bar provides /wraps, popcorn, hotdogs and nachos with cheese 24/7. Tours- There are all kinds of options to choose from, we were very pleased with the all day tour that included zip lining, waterfall, hot springs, mud bath, animal rescue center, authentic meal and shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Upland, CA

We stayed Dec 18th to Jan 3rd. Hotel was great !

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Buffet and staff.
Cons: Room restrooms.
Location: Zip lining 5 minutes away was ok 5 out of 10. Liberia small city 2 out of 1. Coco beach and tamarindo beach are go to places if you're single.
Cons: Restaurants were ok (I'm comparing the restaurants to the buffet food which suppose to be outstanding but just mediocre). Drinks and staff were great. Our room towels and restrooms didn't smell so pleasant and AC could have been colder given it was a very hot and humid december month. But overall, buffet food was great, grounds taken care of well, staff was great and very helpful, and buffet foods were good. Note: if you win too much in their casino ($200), they will close you out! haha.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: The interior and exterior of the hotel was pleasing and the landscape was well kept.
Cons: The Wifi service was a little confusing to log into.
Location: Location is ideal, close enough to the airport and nearby towns such as Tamarindo.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool was expansive and the nearby beach very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Louis, MO

Nice hotel, need better Wi-Fi service

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: Room facility and friendly staff
Cons: Better Wi-Fi service, for sure. The food quality in specialty restaurants, especially the Asian/Japanese Restaurant, can be improved.
We stayed at Riu Guanacaste Hotel between Dec 24 to Dec 30, 2016. The room was very nice, they have nice pool and walking distance to beach. The hotel staff were very friendly. Wi-Fi service was poor, only available in the lobby. We could get connection in one end of the cafeteria, but nothing when we sat in the other end. We purchased the in-room Wi-Fi, but it even couldn't find the server (I guess our room was too far from it). The best way from airport to hotel is taking taxi. The hotel offers shuttle service from hotel to the airport, but not from the airport to hotel. Driving by yourself could be a challenge especially if you arrive in the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice hotel on a beautiful beach

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Food was great at all restaurants, especially liked the Gourmet Tucan
Cons: WiFi was hit and miss and needs to be improved to support the large number of guests at the hotel.
Nice rooms, delicious food, great tours available. Zip lines and ATVing was awesome!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

A poorly manged hotel but an awesome location

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: The location was good and the nature was beautiful.
Cons: Management, quality of food.
Location: many fun things to do, including zip-lining, white water rafting, boating, fishing.
Loved Costa Rica...it is simply amazing. Hotel was poorly run, poorly staffed, food was really bad....and worst of all, they seem to not care.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Hotel is aged, needs maintenance work. Elevators were regularly broken during my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

An all-inclusive trip from start to finish

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: The staff was excellent, the food was good to excellent, and the hotel facilities are first rate. The restaurant staff are truly excellent. It made
Cons: The wine selection could be improved. I would gladly pay extra for a top selection of wines in the specialty restaurants.
Location: Although it is a little remote, the location is superb. The beach is fabulous and the hotel grounds are beautifully maintained.
The hotel was beautifully decorated for the Christmas holiday. The staff is well-trained and very professional - from check-in to check-out. Considering the scale of the hotel and the number of guests, RIU really knows how to run a smooth and enjoyable operation. It is truly impressive how well run the hotel facilities and operations are.