Ratings based on 1,298 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel but room for improvement.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Everything is clean and well kept - people are super friendly - and weather was great even during rain season. Food was good for the most
Cons: No free wi-fi. For the price wi-fi should be available and not only in the lobby. I have stayed at less costly hotels where wi-fi is included.
Location: Make sure you book tours with legit companies in the lobby. You will pay more, but the tours will be done right.
The hotel is nice overall. The grounds are beautiful and everything is clean. I was impressed at how clean they keep the restrooms in the public areas. The two buffets for breakfast and lunch are good and they offer a variety that can please any dietary need (vegan, vegetarians, gluten allergies etc.). The four restaurant for dinner were OK, but not great. The best one was the steak house and Italian. The Asian one is OK. It was buffet style, which for dinner it was a bit of a disappointment and the food was not bad but not great. The Gourmet was not good. The ceviche was the only thing good as a starter, but the main courses were all super bad, especially the GIANT piece of steak that no one could eat. We ended up going to buffet after the Gourmet because we were unable to eat. We also noticed other tables leaving the food as well since we were assuming they were experiencing the same disappointment. The bartenders by the pool are all so friendly and great. However, you need to try a few before you can find someone who makes the drinks good. Yordi and David were my favorite. The entertainment team needs to drink some Redbull or something to get the crowd going. They were super friendly, just need some variety and some energy. The music by the wet bar is non-exisiting at times. Sometimes they will have some old music on and sometimes nothing at all. There are areas where you can go relax if you desire to have no music. They need to keep up with the times.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Crowded not the best of Costa Rican beaches

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Water sports, all-inclusive drinks, location
Location: Many adventure activities nearby such as atv's, zip lining, day trips, hiking, etc. the hotel does a nice job of having tour companies on site.
Everything about the resort was just ok. Nothing special, even though it is a pretty place. Unless you are there to drink in the pool by the bar, there are better places to stay right on the beach versus the 5 minute trek across the property from our room to the sand. They do have water sports for free but even then, they restricted where you could go. Not a terrible experience but we wouldn't go back knowing there are better options.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Buyer Beware!!!! So not worth it

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Nothing Rooms are ugly
Cons: Everything
Location: Everything fa away about two to three hours.
This place was such a disappointment. Maintenance people coming to room at all times to fix things. The same food every night being served. Best of all, when it was time for me to leave, I went to help desk and asked them to cll bus to make sure I got picked up the next day, she said I had to go back to my room and call from there. I was being asked to pay to make this call. I've never heard of such a thing. I waited two hours for a beach towel. Need I say anything further??? TV did not work. No coffee machine in room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great hotel, great staff, amazing experiences

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: I loved every moment of staying at this hotel. The food was amazing (especially taco night). I was there for 5 days and never got bored of it. The variety was excellent. Definitely try the steakhouse and the Asian restaurant. The drinks are really good and the bartenders are great at what they do. I especially liked the Sports bar. Go there and ask Coghi for his special. You won't regret it! The alcohal at the hotel is smooth and doesn't have the strong alcohol bite like it does in the US (which I loved). I was able to try all the different drinks on the menu, and some that weren't. But don't let the smooth taste fool you. After 4 or 5 drinks, the feeling creeps up when you least expect. But even though I drank everyday for 5 days, I never had a hangover :) There is a club (Discotec) on the resort. It's pretty fun. The DJ mainly played Latin music, but if you have a specific request, he'll definitely play it for you. There is also a daily show. Depending on your preferences, it could be hit or miss, but I really like all the shows I saw. Con: There are bees everywhere near the pool bar. They are attracted to all the sweet fruit by the bar. I never got stung, but the buzzing is pretty annoying. Just grab your drink and move to the other side of the pool to avoid them and you'll be fine. Overall the experience was amazing and it was really hard to leave.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Really BIG hotel; so-so beach

Posted Jul 23, 2016
The hotel and grounds are clean and well maintained. We found it too big for the type of vacation we wanted. We were on the 4th floor and it took about 3-5 minutes to walk to the pool/beach area. The pool is large but not relaxing. There is music and activities all day so sitting quietly reading is definately out. The beach is pretty rocky making swim shoes a really good idea. The water is murky at best but warm and provides more quiet than the pool area-at least until hawkers and fellow hotel guests start using their phones to play music. There isn't a lot of shade on the beach so get there early and be prepared to huddle next to strangers for the few trees. The wifi is unreliable and not available everywhere on the property. You have to pay extra to get it in your room and you're only allowed a certain number of devices and time-limited on free system. There are always a lot of people hanging out in the lobby using wifi but because it's so large it doesn't feel crowded. The food is abundant but average. No dairy alternatives were apparent. Spa is very nice. Clean, spacious, serene and staff are great at their craft. Our room was spacious. Pillows suck. Good water pressure and minibar is free! Tv only has 2 English channels-CNN and Fox. We wouldn't stay here again mostly because of the size and no "local" atmosphere within walking distance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst resort I've ever stay at!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Staff aren't friendly! The food is terrible! You have to make 3 days in advice reservation too eat in there restaurants if not you would have to eat in there buffet and they cook the same thing all the time! Hotel is not clean they have rats, rooms aren't clean! Pool area stink
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cali

It's ok

Posted Jul 22, 2016
My title says it all. No top self alcohol (they are hiding the Smirnoff behind the counter), only wifi in the lobby, I got a superior room. I didn't see any difference than any other room. you have to pay for your drinks at the nightclub that's on site. But the food was really good and the service in the restaurants was awesome.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OKC

Paradise by the Pacific

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: décor and comfortable beds
Cons: music might of been a little bit loud at night, but we got used to it.
Location: Feeding wild monkeys right by the hotel, The Diamante Zip Line is a MUST ! Snorkeling tour was pretty top notch.
Great rooms with a great view. Had a slight problem with adjoining rooms at check in but the manager fixed us right up. Good food, music, and activities. Loved having our own beach that was shared with other hotel guests. Can't wait to go back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

First time in Costa Rica

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The staff was great, food very good and atmosphere very relaxing.
Cons: There was not much to do after 10 pm. There is a small disco and a casino- did not win anything there in 6 nights. There should be Karaoke/ live music
Location: There was a zipline place called Diamante that picks you up for free. I did zip-lining for the 1st time and loved it !!! !
We loved the location and staff at the Riu Guanacaste. We did excursion to Nicaragua which was wonderful!!! The food was very good with a variety at the buffet. Staff was always available with drinks and quick clean up of tables- plates cups etc. Always smiling and pleasnt
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF

Posted Jul 18, 2016
The food was the best for me, very clean friendly and excellent coustomer service.