Ratings based on 434 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Better than expected

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: resturant reservatons
the staff sells the hotel-overly freindly and help at every step. I read may reveiws on this hotel before we went and I would like to know for people who rated this low had stayed at before. this was a short trip for us so we stayed mostly at the hotel. when we got there we were given a lower ocean view room-I asked for a different room and got a fourth floor center room-yes the music is loud till about 11-but this is a fun filled resort-where are they suppose to have the entertainment. food was great many venues to share from
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting and grounds

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Grounds and pools
Cons: Food
Location: We did a catamaran snorkeling/sunset cruise that was awesome. Lots of other packages available,but we couldn't take advantage due to illness
Beautiful place well manicured grounds. The pools were fabulous. Bar staff and wait staff were very attentive and professional. All inclusive is the way to go if the food is good. Unfortunately not the case at RIU PALACE. All four in our party were sick at some point. Lots of variety in the buffets, but not great quality. Too bad for such a great resort. Cannot recommend😟
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Feb 1, 2016
The staff is amazing always ready to serve you. Food was great. No complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phila, PA

Nice hotel on Pacific side of Costa Rica

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Very nice all inclusive. Ask questions get right answers. Wanted to take water taxi to Playa Coco and asked the person at the Thrifty desk and was told to talk to the people at the Watersports center, but was also told about the land route there. Took the water taxi. A bargain at $15 per person round trip. Have café at reception desk and a 24/7 snack bar for those coming late and leaving early. Very nice touch. Also a sort of bar in each room with make your own mixers. Never saw this before at an all inclusive as the drinks are included anywhere you go. Room was a chilly 64 F when entered but thermostat was adjustable. Bed was comfortable. Beach was lovely and visiting the Capuchin Monkeys in the morning was a highlight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Charles, MO

Beautiful hotel and a wonderful variety of food!

Posted Jan 25, 2016
This was me and my hubby's first time visiting Costa Rica with our friends (six of us) and we had a wonderful time. Everything the Riu Palace offers is top notch. With the four swimming pools (one has a bar, which was the most popular), the one-hour noon time pool side barbecue, the many restaurants, (the Italian Restaurant off the lobby and Papagayo's Steak House - our favorite), the beach and so much more, we are planning our next trip there! The excursions we did (zipline, waterfall and volcanic hotsprings) was so much fun. You will not be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel with a great selection of food

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Loved the location and friendly staff, plus incredible food options (and a lot of them) and top shelf liquor bars. Rooms are nice and the cleaning people do an awesome job creating a welcoming environment (I used to look forward to what animal they create each day with towels in the room, pretty cool). They have a different live show every evening and we liked the ones we saw. After the show sometimes they would play live music and the hotel staff would pull people out to the dance floor and dance with them. Really fun. Only caveat was getting a reservation at the 3 formal dining restaurants which only take reservations during the day while most of the people are out having fun (maybe we missed something). Bring a lot of dollar bills for tipping and enjoy the free water activities they provide. Pura Vida!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

diamond on the ocean

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Food, drinks, entertainment the best we have had.
Cons: Stay longer
Location: Plenty of excursions, if you want, or just rest by the beach or pool.
Beautiful, restful, fun stay. Probably go back next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Beautiful beach, calm, clean water.l Excellent hotel , shows at night very good. Delicious food. No complaints we had excellent vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia, MO

Great Resort

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Beautiful facility. The food was mostly excellent. The Michael Jackson show. Attentive staff. Casino. Outdoor area at Riu next door.
Cons: Wifi was inconsistent. Coffee shop opens at 10:00 am (should be earlier). Female housekeepers would come in to occupied men's room to clean.
Location: We only took one excursion all week. Loved the beach and resort too much to leave.
We had a great time at the Riu. A very relaxing vacation and the resort staff were very attentive. They make middle class folks feel like royalty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

More than expected

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Everything you need for a very relaxing vacation. Food variety was superb and nightly show was very entertaining.First time at this hotel but not last.