Ratings based on 521 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Pretty hotel. Very clean

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Cons: Better air conditioning.
Location: Location on the beach. Very nice.
Beautiful but very modern. I liked the decor much better at the RIU next door. It was a nicer atmosphere , more open, more fun. I liked it better then the RIU PALACE where I stayed this time. All in all they a both beautiful resorts with very good food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Okay resort

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Food choices were the best thing going. Pool area was good and the adult beverages were adequate. Rooms were ok. I would possibly stay again, but would check the location of my room first.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great family vacation

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pools and rooms are clean, food is excellent and staff are friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin

Not sure about 5 stars, but a very good hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Great hotel, just too far from everything. The room design was weird, there was actually no bathroom in the room at all. Sinks and the bathtub are in the room with no chance to hide. The bathtub is just next to the door of the room, so when you enter the room the first thing you see is the bathtub and behind the small glass wall you can see both sinks. The same problem with the shower: no chance to leave the shower without everyone can see you. However, the room was big and clean, the bed was huge, good mini bar. big choice of restaurants, 3 of them are A la carte. A lot of bars, great swimming pool, green territory, every day a new show.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great Resort, Great Location, & Great Service

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Recommend to all...we will return.
Cons: Laundry rooms would have been nice. The service is available but, like all things, at a premium. Minor thing, not at all an issue.
Location: Beautiful forrest area neighboring other local beaches and attractions for those who choose to step out of the resort.
You may read other reviews that complain about the littlest details, but this place is a beautiful hotel/resort, with breathtaking views, an abundance of activities and services at your disposable all at an extraordinary value. We found the staff to be welcoming and polite, and the contacted and vetted vendors for services reasonably priced in comparison to visitor rates.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, not crazy about food

Posted Jul 17, 2016
The hotel itself and the grounds are beautiful. The staff was super friendly and the multiple pools were a treat. Also with the all inclusive package they were very generous in the rooms with the liquor and minibar. My only 2 complaints were that the food selections on the menu were limited and some of the buffet places the food was subpar. Also only having one station in English was tough to deal with for a week.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Texas

Great all-inclusive hotel.

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: The food was great. The pool bar was legit.
Cons: The reservation process for their upscale restaurants is deceiving. They don't take phone calls. You have to make reservations at the Tokyo restaura
Location: ATV, zip lining, playa ocotal, playa coco (nearby) has traditional souvenir shops
The refrigerator in room is restocked daily. The filet and lobster at the steakhouse is awesome (need a reservation). Very safe place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Very convienant location and great customer servic

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Enjoyed our time with a great experience of hospitality.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pomona, CA

What A/C

Posted Jul 15, 2016
The hotel nice and new. Great staff. Food was as good as any Riu Palace. BUT, THE A/C IN THE LOBBY AND A SOME OTHER PUBLIC AREAS, SUCKED. IT WAS AS HOT INSIDE AS IT WAS OUTSIDE. A/C in the room was not always that good either. Great view though.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Amazing resort, staff was beyond excellent

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Everything from arrival to leaving was excellent. Had some issues in the beginning due to being given incorrect information by an Expedia rep at the time of booking. Hotel staff was very patient and helpful in getting things rectified. Food at the main dinner area was fantastic every night. Also breakfast was great. Very clean every bring: room, shared areas, pool, etc. Kudos to Francisco (housekeeping), Anna (management), Monica (food service), Sabrina (front desk), and a host of others whose names I don't know. I will be staying at Riu whenever possible wherever I travel.