Ratings based on 417 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nothing special

Posted Feb 16, 2017
First trip to Costa Rica and high expectation for a well know Riu that we stayed in many times before in different countries. We were very pleased with hotel staff especially with those who work in the dining areas. However this was the worst around experience ever. Room was superficially clean: just clean on the surface. Bathroom had black mold and needed a good scrub. Beautiful and big pools need good cleaning; you can see black mold in the grout in every pool. And the beach is not what we expected st all. Somehow far from the hotel and pool area and far from being clean. You would expect to have some service(drink and food) but it does not exist.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF, Ca

Warm vacation

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Food was good but meals were to regimented. The room design could of been better. The bathroom and bed room had no division. The bathroom also needed a fan. 98% of the tv channels were in Spanish with no options. Limited type of alcohol. Appears lower end.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

PLEASANT STAY WITH AN OCEAN VIEW

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Had a very pleasant stay at the RIU Palace Guanacaste with a wonderful view of the resort property. The ocean made for a spectacular backdrop. This is a fairly remote resort and the atmosphere is very relaxing. Enjoyed the nighly music & dance performances. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful with our needs. Though I'm spoiled by the quality of food served at American resorts the meals prepared at each of the restaurants on property here they were very good. Costa Rica is beautiful and there are plenty of adventures provided to soak it all in. Overall, it was a remarkable stay and I would recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from William

Nice hotel close to a beach 45 mins from everythin

Posted Feb 8, 2017
I stayed at this place for 5 nights and totally enjoyed it. Couple negatives are 24 hour room service sucks, there is really no turkey around, wifi only works in certain spots. Other than those it was great!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Good value for all inclusive. Staff were very friendly. Room style is a bit dated and unfortunately humidity will leave your clothes stinky.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mt.ayr

Wish hotel would have been closers to beach

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Great weather great staff always there very clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando Florida

Everything you could want

Posted Jan 26, 2017
This is a lavishly appointed, and thoughtfully designed facility. The nightly shows were all entertaining and fun. The live music was very professional. The food in the specialty restaurants was excellant. We had a great time and plan to return as soon as possible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Florida

First class resort with everything!

Posted Jan 22, 2017
We looked hard to find something negative but we couldn't find ANYTHING. the food, the staff, the facilities, and the location were all top notch. We will definately make the trip back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellevue

Great experience.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: location, comfort, service
Cons: Food is abundant, but not great. Often sitting on the buffet line too long.
We have stayed at RIU Palaces before in different locations. This one lived up to the standard. We will stay at Riu Palace again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

January Vacation

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Food was excellent and staff was great.
Cons: Internet service
Location: We went to Coco Beach on the hotel shuttle. The hotel offered many activities.
This was not our first experience with Riu Resorts. The food was excellent and the staff was wonderful. Our refrigerator was not working and that was replaced. Our chief complaint was the irregularity of the internet. It may have had something to do with the location of our room. We kept getting kicked off and had to go back and reconnect. This was not once in a while, but every 2 or 3 minutes at times.