Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San José

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2015
We stayed at Sol Sámara for a night becuase the hotel we usually stay at was full. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The beach is about a block away. The small fridge in the room was a little old: we needed to store a few things and we were not sure it was working well (didn't contact staff, though). Breakfast was nice. Overall, an ok stay for a couple nights.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ronald

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 7, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Allison from USA

Good hotel for the location

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels
The room was clean and the staff were friendly. The surrounding neighborhood was run-down and the location was further from the main street of Samara then we realized when booking. But we had a pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel if you don't mind driving a few kilometers to the downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Diana Rom from Mexico

Good quality-price relation

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels
My boyfriend and I loved this hotel, it is small but cute and cozy. The room was small but perfect for us, it was clean and people were nice. The breakfastincluded was very good. The hotel is close to the beach but you need a car to go to the town
4 out of 5
Recommended
by L from USA

Good for beach not for the action

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent hotel on the beach. If the pool was in the front instead of hidden it would of been great. Walk on beach for 45 minutes or 5 dollar taxi before you reach town. If you want a very quiet hotel near the beach it is perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

sehr nettes Hotel in ruhiger Lage

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Service, Frühstück, Zimmer
Location: im östlichen Teil v. Samara unweit v. Strand. Der war allerdings recht schmuddelig an der Stelle. Wir hatten ein Auto und sind an den Corille-Beach.
wir waren angenehm überrascht v. diesem sehr geschmackvollem netten Hotel. Das Personal sehr nett und hilfsbereit. Die Zimmer bunt, geschmackvoll und süß dekoriert. Leider haben Sie bei der Bettenqualität gespart. Ruhige Umgebung mit großem Garten, aber nur sehr kleinem Pool. Das Frühstück ist sehr gut; alles frisch zubereitet und lecker. Absolut netter Service. Nach Samara-Dountown ist es mit dem Auto 5 Min.oder über den Strand p.P. 30 Min.
3 out of 5
by Saurav from Washington, DC

A nice enough hotel - but LOCATION is an issue

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Facilities - good
Cons: Location
Location: Beautiful beaches
This hotel is nice enough but it's "gimmick" is that it is in Samara and close to the beach. It is neither. The town of Samara is close by but you have to drive there. The beach that is 50 meters away (and therefore walking distance) from Sol Samara is not the nice part of Samara beach that people enjoy; it is a fishing area. You are very close to Playa carrillo as well, which is beautiful, but again you have to drive there (5 min). I'd say this is a bit misleading since they sell themselves as beach-adjacent. Otherwise, a fine hotel for a beach stay, but I'd choose something actually IN the town of Samara.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ryan from Calgary, Canada

Eclectic location in Tico neighborhood

Posted Mar 22, 2014 on Hotels
Located in a Tico neighborhood (we liked it but most would consider it too poor/run down) on the south side of Playa Samara. A block away from the beach itself but a very long walk (a mile or more) to the main part of town. Nice little place with pleasant staff and a decent breakfast. The pool is very small but the garden makes up for it. The defining moment was when my wife was stung by a scorpion which made for some tense moments until we were reassured by the staff and google that none of their scorpions were poisonous to humans (although VERY painful). This most likely got in the room prior to us arriving as they seem to leave all of the rooms open during housecleaning. The staff were extremely helpful in dealing with the drama and calming us down. We would stay there again but strongly recommend doing a sweep of the room (including mattresses) on check in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J Ho

Great spot

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Great spot off the beaten path. Fantastic service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by K from Houston

Cute for a beach vacation

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Great little hotel close to the beach. Super nice staff. Cold showers in the morning, were warm at night. I think they ou have a small water heater. TV and AC in the rooms and comfy beds. Beautiful grounds on the hotel to just sit out and relax. The town of Samara is about an hour from the next closest town (Nicoya). Don't recommend staying here if you want to tour all of Costa Rica, but it's great if you want to stay and relax on the beach. 3 hrs from Montverde, 4 hrs from Arenal Volcano ziplining.