Ratings based on 877 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SJO, CR

Great view

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Very good location in front of the beach the room is a bit small and the cleaning could be better, the staff service is regular, I am happy but not to much
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from salt lake city

great location

Posted Jul 27, 2016
This hotel is perfectly placed right in the middle of tamarindo, and right by the beach. It was a nice stay overall, but the location was the highlight. A very friendly staff was readily available to serve. The rooms could use a few upgrades to make the experience better. But overall, very nice
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upper Marlboro, Maryland

GREAT 1st stay in Tamarindo!!! Diria!!!

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Someone to attend to the public printer/computer quickly. When a guest is trying to print out their tickets it would greatly help to have ink in the
Location: Town is close by and trip are close
This hotel was a GREAT stay. I cannot say anything negative regarding my stay. The room and view was BEAUTIFUL. ALL service that I needed was provided, and the personnel were very friendly and helpful. Yes, at times the water pressure is challenged, but you are on an island!!! smh The front desk were, the tour desk people were very friendly and helpful, and even the pool towel people very nice. I had a each front view room and yes I did have a slight, and I have to say SLGHT odor that came up within the shower, but NOTHING that would detract from my room. You could only smell it if you put your face own to the drain!!! If ANYONE is that PERFECT..... they need to stay home. The location to the town/shop/sodas is REAL close!!! Going on excursions are not really that far. The beach is beautiful. WHAT ELSE do you want!!!??? Enjoy.... be happy.... Puna Vida
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Liked everything other. Than the bed. It was too. Hard. Got too.much on my back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Walk out of room and onto the beach.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Close proximity to beach and town.
Cons: Train and replace front desk staff.
Location: Right on the beach and in Tamrindo, close to restaurants, shopping.
Front desk staff is inept, not welcoming and not helpful. From check in to check out, the front desk staff was very poor and displayed characteristics seen at a 1 star motel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2016
The Diria owns many of the local restaurants where service and food is not good (Flying Bull, Venezia, Gallo Fino). "Patagonia" was a great little Argentine steakhouse with service to match. Breakfast at the hotel was good. Pools and grounds are well maintained. The rooms could use some upgrades. Overall good experience although the hotel looks to nickel and dime for everything.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to beach

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Proximity to beach. Great pool. Food at outdoor restaurant was excellent.
Cons: Parking was a little tricky.
In the middle of town and shopping. Beachfront. Great hotel, easy check in, nice staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beautiful view.

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: The staff was always cheerful and smiling. Couldn't get enough of the view.
Cons: Showers only is a problem for those wishing to soak in a tub. Only two pillows on a king bed? Spend a little more on the mattresses.
Location: Right in the middle of Tamarindo. Couldn't be more in the center of all that goes on in town. Restaurants and shopping all a few steps away.
Beautiful beachfront hotel. Plenty of lounge chairs, fresh towel service and a priceless Pacific ocean view. Breakfast buffet was extensive and service, if a bit slow at times, was always delivered with a smile. The A/C was cold in the rooms, WI-FI worked throughout the property so those in need of "being connected" could accomplish those goals. Difficulty with credit card acceptance at front desk took too much time and strained smiles all around. At checkout, the first time in a long time, I've not had to argue or discuss an inaccurate charge or error. All was correct. Hotel staff always returned hellos or smiles. Food and drink were above average. The affiliated seafood restaurant was excellent. The affiliated pizza restaurant was also very good. Maybe just an "American thing" but getting anything with ice in it seemed a chore. Not just at this resort but anywhere we went in Costa Rica. Our first trip to Costa Rica. This resort made it enjoyable enough we will return and probably to this property.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bleh..I wont be returning

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Close to the beach, centralized location, food is bland, rooms are mediocre. Noisy hallways and pool areas. I never got a full night sleep because of the thin walls and noisy guests in the hallway areas. I booked it for the cheap price and beach front location which made sense but would not be returning given my experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel for the price

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Upon arrival we could tell this was one of the nicer hotels in Tamarindo. The grounds were beautiful and clean. The pools were great and never too crowded and the complimentary breakfast was delicious and had great variety. The only complaints I had were very minor: 1. The housekeepers could have improved their service. Towels that were clearly dirty were sometimes reused, garbage was left, and toilet paper was not replaced. The floors in the room were always constantly dirty. We had to wear flip flops at all times. 2. The hotel could have more control over the solicitors that were on the grounds. We could never step onto beach without being harassed about surf lessons or cross the street to the other pools with out people yelling "taxi?" to you trying to sell you these incredibly annoying whistling toys. 3. Water was not easily accessible even at the free breakfast. I understand that some people are hesitant about water in foreign countries but Costa Rica has great water and when I did drink it I had no problems. Overall the experience at this hotel was great and I would definitely stay here again.