Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Federico from Costa Rica

Espectacular lugar, pero con algunas fallas en la

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
El hotel está ubicado en una zona poco concurrida de la playa, lo que le da una gran tranquilidad. La piscina es espectacular y cuenta con un bar. Las instalaciones son muy agradables y muy bien mantenidas. Pero tuve dos problemas que hicieron que mi estadía no fuera perfecta, en primer lugar, el personal encargado de la recepción no sabe trabajar con hoteles.com y tando el proceso de registro como el de salida fueron bastante tediosos. Por otra parte, sin advertírmelo, me dieron una habitación acondicionada para minusválidos, que en algunos aspectos, principalmente en el baño, es poco acogedora.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Giovanna from New York

Bello fin de semana

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
El lugar tiene unas paisajes hermosos, la villa amplia y cómoda,la comida del restaurante bastante buena, la playa y piscina genial, la privacidad excelente. El personal de recepción regular.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jeffrey from San Carlos

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
El hotel es muy bueno, un lugar perfecto para disfrutar en familia, tranquilo, cómodo, seguro, excelente atención, solo le falta televisión en la villas para ser excelente.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Donald from Miami

Believe the Ratings

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful property on a beautiful beach. Nice villas, nice pool, nice grounds. No service, lousy restaurant. When I checked in I asked for help with luggage as it was approx 150 meters to the villa from the parking lot. No one available. No cart, no suggestion. Asked about room service. Said no, go ask restaurant. They took order and said they would deliver. An hour later I came back to find it sitting on the counter cold. No apology. This time they said they don't deliver, but asked if I wanted to reserve table for dinner. Yes, for a lousy buffet you have to reserve a place. And they wanted me to wear one of those wrist bands all weekend like they were an amusement park. Really a shame. Lots of potential. Obviously lousy management. All wasn't lost as I had a wonderful deep tissue massage from A_____. Believe the ratings not the pictures. Go to one of the many other hotels and some very good restaurants in Samara, but not here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Exellent distance from beach

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Employes are nice people and took care of all details.
Rooms were incredibly nicely maintain and room service was excellent. There is a short distance from pool to the beach, wich makes a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

On of the best weekends of my life.

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: The beach, the food, the pool.
Location: I totally recommend visiting Carrillo Beach. Is like 10 minutes from Samara.
I was planning a tour with my partner for a long time ago so we were very excited about this trip. The last time I went to Samara was almost like 3 years ago and I was shocked about how different is now. The hotel is super close to this nice and low-crowed beach. The pool was also great and don't get me started on the rooms. They were clean and met our criteria. The cozy restaurant, the tasty food and the lovely company really made our weekend one of the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in Samara guanacaste

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: THE POOL!!! We enjoyed staying hours in the pool and having drinks at the pool bar. Bartender knows how to do great drinks.
Location: Visit playa carrillo few minutes from the hotel
Great location, unique hotel with the beach a few steps away from the hotel. Rooms clean and really presentable, you can see the beach from your room. We recommend to take the all inclusive that is 3 times meals, breakfast, lunch & dinner, GREAT food!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kate from Bedminster NJ

Great Hotel in Samara

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
I brought 6 family members to this hotel for a few days and we all had a terrific time. The included breakfast was great, the air-conditioners (in the bedrooms only) worked, the beach was clean, water calm and about a 100 yards from our patio, large clean pool with a swim up bar. All in all, it was perfect for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wichita, Kansas

Great hotel and location

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: I really loved just lounging at the poolside bar all day.
Location: Downtown is very close to the hotel may be 5 minutes drive. There is a lot of restaurants and bars that make the night ife preatty entertaining.
I stayed at Villas Playa Samara a few days ago passing through Costa Rica, and it was great. The Hotel is right next to the water and its a beautifil place with great staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC Canada

Looks nice in photos... not so much

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Rooms were big, balconies had hammocks.
Cons: See list above...
Location: 5 minutes by car is Samara - great food there, zero nightlife.
Great location - terrible feeling place to stay. We paid ~$200 USD a night and we were surrounded by groups of people who were on Groupon tours, and even they were not impressed with the place after paying a fraction of what we paid. Calling the food was terrible would not be accurate, it was safe to eat - like a piece of dry toast during a hangover. Yes it is edible, but you won't enjoy anything about it. Having Samara so close with such incredible food choices, there is no reason to eat here except for the free breakfast. Try Gusto, Luv Burger, or Coco's Mexican - just 5 minutes by car away and all worth the trip. I know working out on a vacation is silly - but the Gym they advertise is in shambles. Only one of the machines worked and it was rusted to hell and screamed like a banshee if you tried to use it. I wish I would have taken photo's, it was funny how broken things were. The staff are robots - having a 10am checkout with zero possibility of extending is a joke. They could also not find our Expedia reservation (even though we had one printed out AND sent them the e-mail) and made us wait for 20 minutes upon checkout to verify that we had actually paid. Amature hour~