Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Illinois

Hotel in general. Marriott should get feedback.

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Mediocre restaurants!! Don't mind paying extra for quality food. At least 75% of the dishes that we ordered were of lesser quality than most restaurants we have eaten before! Many of them less pricey. We tried 3 of them; the only 4/5 meals were breakfast. Guest from States or cities where food is known to be generally just ok thought that the food was "good to very good" of course. Several tables were always empty, but you had to wait to be seated because the table wasn't ready....what? Are they lacking staff? All the restaurants in Tamarindo were better! More than one person didn't know how to get you to a certain place in the hotel. In general it seems that the staff hasn't been trained well. The hotel is nice, but with the issues I mentioned above the place is most definitely a non-starter. We will most definitely go back to CR, but will avoid your hotel. Will pass the message along to our friends and associates for sure. Surprised that Marriott doesn't seem to mind the above. For the price, the place is a looser.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Perfect place to relax

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Just about everything
Cons: Entertainment at night only played for one hour.
One of the friendliest staff anywhere. Facilities were very nice but the staff made my stay a five star experience. The only suggestion was a understaffed concierge department. Often long waits to meet with the one concierge on duty. Still, one of the best run hotels I have stayed in the world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Great place, confortable and clean room, excellent atention, huge pool...................................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Awesome hotel , immaculate grounds, huge pools, rooms were spacious and cleaning staff 5 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego CA

JW Marriott Hacienda Piniella

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: I liked everything, the facilities, the people, and the location - Close to the towns of Tamarindo, a tourist town where you can find souvenirs.
Cons: I can’t think of anything for the price we paid for us stay at the hotel.
Location: If you want to hangout where the local do, visit the towns of Villa Real, Santa Cruz and Nicoya. In Villa real you can find great food at good prices.
Hotel Facilities: Excellent restaurants, great pool, right on the beach, walking trails, and more. One suggestion to other guests; when making your reservation thru Expedia, include the breakfast as part of your package. For three of us, the breakfast buffet thru Expedia costs us less than $7 per person. However if you have to pay separate once in the restaurant, the cost is $31 per person (plus 13% tax). Personal Service: From the time we arrive to the time we left, the service and attention was EXTRAORDINARY from every single individual we interfaced with. Every single individual was very courteous, and made everything possible to make us feel at home. The concierges are very knowledgeable and gave us information about the areas we wanted to visit, and directions how the get there. The person, who helped us, is a young lady named Marianne. She went out of her way to help us find our way thru the area, as well as helping us getting are airline passes before we left the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Incredible hospitality! Staff was best we've ever experienced. Spa staff just needs to make sure sauna and steam room stay on and hot! Pool was absolutely gorgeous! Another family mentioned that they brought in drinks and snacks and kept them in the mini fridge. Smart idea especially for those with kids!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Wonderful resort and spa

Posted Dec 21, 2016
So beautiful resort and spa, rooms are clean and very comfortable, swimming poor is big also beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016
The hotel was so quiet! Loved it! The pool is very large with tons of seating. The beach was fantastic with some many shells. Staff were so very nice and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Anonymous, Hotel Management
thanks so much for you rcomments, we look forward to your next visit Sincerely Anthony Ramirez/ Revenue Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel, lovely staff

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Our room was delightful, staff was very helpful, pool is fantastic. We enjoyed every moment of our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by Irene Catherine, Hotel Management
It is great to hear that you had an amazing experience, please visit us again soon. Sincerely Anthony Ramirez /Revenue Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice resort, beach is dirty

Posted Nov 19, 2016
The JW Marriott in Guanacaste is a beautiful place in an amazing location. I was there with my husband for a conference, and had never visited Costa Rica before. The staff was wonderful, room was clean and well appointed, and spa was very nice as well. The only reason I didn't give this place a completely 5 star review is the beach. We were highly disappointed to find an enormous amount of debris and trash all over the beach. There is no effort by the staff to clean up the beach there. The first day we walked out on the beach, my bare foot nearly missed a huge shard of glass. Needless to say, I was leery of taking my shoes off on the beach after that. We walked from the Marriott to Lola's - about a mile down the beach, and trash is everywhere. While I understand the Marriott cannot be responsible for that entire stretch of sand, it would be nice to feel safe walking around the pool and beach without shoes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback as it helps us improve , I hope that you can visit us again in the near future. Sincerely Anthony Ramirez / Revenue Manager